We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the evening....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach

Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach
189 Central Park Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23462 (Northwest Virginia Beach)
7574909463
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #172 of 1,272 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northwest Virginia Beach
Cross street: Virginia Beach Blvd.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the evening....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were 10 ladies and were seated in the private dining room for a special occasion. I had the Surf & Turf. The best part of my dish was the seared scallops. Everything else was a little bland to be honest. My friend on one side had the Almond Scallops & she didn't eat more than half of it. When the waitress asked if she wanted a to go box, I heard her say no, that the grilled bananas overpowered the dish. I didn't hear anyone say their meal was great, but I did hear some say good. Be careful as you walk through this restaurant. Several of us almost slipped because of water on the floor here & there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    11
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Several Great Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

A wonderful and fun spot. Wonderful atmosphere, excellent service....very friendly staff. Great place.....promise you will love.......

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“interesting & delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Excellent dinner place if it is a special occasion. You will not find plain steak and baked potatoes but rather delicious, unique selections. For $105 plus tip we enjoyed one appetizer (shrimp bruschetta $13), one salad with shrimp $15, one Budweiser $4, and two entrees (scallops $29 and flounder $30.) Flavor combinations were different and yummy. Incredible sauces. There are also pasta, steak, pork, and chicken options. Portions of the sides are smaller and the fish about 6 oz (four delicious scallops.) fresh baked bread included with meal. Our waiter was excellent and kept our water glasses full. We sat right by the front door surrounded by windows. We enjoyed people watching as we ate. A bit pricey but foodies will feel it is deserved.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I have had dinner twice and drinks and appetizers once and cannot say anything but excellent food and excellent service! I can't imagine anything coming from that kitchen that isn't superb. Can't wait to go back. So seldom do I find a gem like this. Go for an early dinner on Wednesday and you can catch the band and little farmers market in front of the Sandler Center.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very expensive for what you get; atmosphere is ok (if you can get past the rude hostess)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I went here for dinner with a friend and due to traffic we were 10 minutes late for our 5:15pm reservation. The hostess took a while to find our reservation and finally came up to us and rudely said that they had a 7:15pm reservation for that table and asked if that gave us enough time to eat. Really? I could understand if they were busy but the place had only 3 tables full at that early time. Also, if it takes us an 1 & 45 mins to eat there, that'd be the resturant's fault. After taking 30 mins to get our salads (the waitress explained a large party had just come in and our 2 salads were behind 10 others), I thought this is why we were being told we could be here only until 7:15 bc they knew the kitchen was slow. The Sonoma Pasta had no flavor and the noodles were on the hard to chewy side. My friend's pasta with tortalini, crispy ham, capers (I forgot the name of it) was amazing! I'd order that again but only as take out. The wine menu was extensive and we did enjoy that. Because it was 7pm by the time we got asked about dessert, we declined and went somewhere else since we'd been there way too long waiting for food and the hostess kept walking by eyeing our table since we had to leave before the 7:15 reservation came by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach also viewed

 

Been to Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.