We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Fees: safe chg, city tax, VB tax, State Tax ouch!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront to your Saves list
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #61 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
waynesboro, va
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Hidden Fees: safe chg, city tax, VB tax, State Tax ouch!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Decent place, nice views, comfortable bed. Needs some clean carpeting or replaced. Great restaurant down below. get there for happy hour

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    341
    321
    135
    77
See reviews for
484
381
35
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

after several trips to the beach with many small children in tow, i begged my husband to please not book this, he did and by far it was the best week we have ever spent on vacation. we are a average family with an average income and as i said many small children. alot of the sucess of this vacation was due to va beach in general. it was insane how much money we didnt have to spend because on beach days we could exit hotel and was not bombarded with trinkets foods rentals craziness, we enjoyed a very clean nice beach the children enjoyed the inside pool ,hotel was perfect, it was clean organized we personally had a pleasent series of staff that week it is quite and although there were children it wasnt a romper room expirence, it was nice enough that my husband and i felt we went away for the week but not so stuffy that we felt uncomfortable having the children there, there were several on beach playgrounds near by. the hotel was laid out in a way that we had access to the basic and could safely walk w children to other options...rebooked this yr and im excited for another beach vacation.

Room Tip: they are all basically good views, of course the closer you are to the bottom floor the more traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Very clean and updated room. Great view. Great beds. That's about all of the good things. The front desk staff wasn't very friendly. The valet parking is kind of annoying. If you want to park yourself, you have to walk a block to the parking deck. Just wasn't as good as I thought it would be.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobvone49, General Manager at Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for providing critical feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Guests like you are our biggest asset and your valuable comments are our most important tool as we strive to provide excellent service and a high-quality guest experience.

I was saddened to learn that we did not meet your expectations and am very sorry for the inconvenience. Parking can sometimes be a challenge here at the oceanfront and that is why we offer standard complimentary valet service or convenient dedicated self-parking. There are several lots from which to choose, one is located right across the street and others are within walking distance.

I sincerely apologize for your inconvenience and very much appreciate your notification. Please let us know if there is anything that we can do to improve your experience on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Let's see, where do I start....
Booking this hotel was very confusing. I called the hotel directly and got room/ hotel information and rates. I was transfered to reservations for booking. They gave conflicting information about everything. They knew nothing about the hotel, and repeatedly put me on hold to call them. I eventually ended booking the room directly with the hotel. My husband and I wanted a romatic weekend getaway, because we never had a honeymoon. We reserved a room with a jacuzzi tub. I felt that we got great rates.
Once we got to the hotel, check in was a breeze. It was as if are room was waiting for us, and they had free valet parking. We got up to the room opened the door, and it was the wrong room no jacuzzi. They gave us another room that maintenance had just walked out of. Red flag, somethings broken, and there was. The tub and phone were broken no one came to fix the problem and @ check out front advised they knew nothing about it. The tub being broken ruined our romantic weekend. One of the sheets on the bed that squeaks really loud was ripped and there was no fan in the bathroom. There was no hot water in the morning and Mahi mahi lied about having a breakfast buffet.
Overall, I wouldn't stay at this hotel again. The bed was comfy and the view was fantastic, but thats all this hotel is. A nice bed with a view. I got a discount on my last nights stay I guess for the trouble. Front desk gave me the managers number, for what? I'm the unhappy customer here with the ruined weekend. I shouldn't have to call anyone. The hotel making an attempt to correct the problem they gave me a key to would have been a lot better than having the tax taken off our room. Never again not worth it. We had to spend more money to do stuff outside the hotel we had planned to do there.

Room Tip: maybe try the country inn....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a very succesful special training session during the weekend of Feb. 17-19,2012 during President's weekend at the Ramada on the Beach in Virginia Beach, Va.
The special ocenfront setting of the guest rooms, resturant and ballrooms are very conducive to helping us have a great turnout and effective meeting.
The particpants raved about the views from each guestroom which have a private balcony and what a special treat we had during our breakout lunch in Mahi Mah's and having a pod of whales in viewing distance entertain us. Luckly the ballrooms have ocen views as well and it was not hard to gather everyone up for the after lunch sessions.
The strength of this location is not only the views but everything is under one roof. Once our participants arrived on site and parked their vehicles there was no need to leave the premise all weekend. The award winning local's favorite restaurant on site, Mahi Mah's, had everything we needed from a buffett breakfast, a quick lunch located down the hall from our meeting rooms to a special dinner with a Sushi bar right on the beach.
The Hotel staff was very accomadating to our presentation needs transforming the room from a workshop setting to leaturer format between meals.
Having everthing under one roof that is not only of excellent quality and reputation, kept our participants on site. The amount of networking and continued discussion that happened during the weekend is something that I as an organizer could not have made happen without the special setting and the desire of the participants to stay together and not seek outside enetrtainment.
This is the 8th year I have used this location and working with familar faces over the years make me very comfortable in booking next years event. I know we will get we contracted for and if there is a problem with a guest room we will have it taken care before the working session is over. Our particpants look forward to this training session each year even though it happend during a weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront and have private balconies so you can not go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobvone49, General Manager at Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
I’m so glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us; we look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, so was the breakfast staff. Our 5th floor room had a nice view of the beach and ocean.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms have an ocean view, but check. Higher floors may be quieter further away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Weather was good so we decided to go to the beach for New Years. Stayed at Ramada and got a good deal, after some negotiating over the phone. Rooms were clean, everything worked as expected. Really good beakfast buffet, also to be negotiated, at Mahi Mahs restaurant which is part of the property. Fun location with some of the hottest bars at the beach. Good staff.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to "barter" during the off season. We got three free days of breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 615 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach's hotel with the best view, come experience the calming ocean waters and cooling breezes of the Summer season at this seaside escape. Nationally ranked as the #1 Ramada in North America and now with brand new oceanfront rooms, we’re even better than before. Fully renovated with comfortable and contemporary accommodations, see why the Ramada is the best destination to experience seaside living in Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada On The Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Ramada Hotel Virginia Beach
Ramada Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.