We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4453 Bonney Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23462   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #53 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Tappahannock, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband booked a room here as a surprise for me to see the fireworks at Mt. Trashmore. The room was really nice, but the bathroom was just a tad too small. The view of Mt. Trashmore was excellent and our son, daughter and two grandkids as well as my husband and I were able to see the fireworks from our eighth floor room. The king sized bed was very comfortable and the housekeeping staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    29
    17
    11
See reviews for
57
46
16
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Rude hotel manager who would not speak directly to us about the problems. Refrigerator made humming noise all night. Technician said "they all do" and they are unable to fix them. Hotel personnel said manager would call us, but she never did. Hotel is far from beach and not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I apologize. Please be assured we take all comments serious and want all guests to enjoy their stay with us... please feel free to contact me

Mark Smith Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Enjoyed our recent stay at the Crowne Plaza. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and so was lobby and pool area. Convenient location -- not close to beach, but close to shops, restaurants and Mt. Trashmore park. Beach was about a 10-15 min. drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel many times (because it's the hotel that the Virginia Beach Funny Bone uses for their comedians) and it's always been a great stay. They check me in early and the staff is super nice.

This time was just a little different.

Sean (the maintenance guy) was awesome and plugged my Chevy Volt into a wall socket that is not available to hotel patrons (unless they ask nicely and Sean helps them out). I was so stoked leaving to go to the show last night at 7:30pm that my car was almost fully charged. When I got back from the show at 10pm the charger and extension cord were gone. I figured someone from the hotel must've put it away so I'll just ask Sean about it in the morning.

I wake up today, go to the front desk, ask for Sean, Sean comes out, and I ask about my car charger's location. He comes back and says it's nowhere to be found. It must've been stolen. If someone had stolen it, they would've had to have climbed over a large wooden door and/or cinder block wall to have gotten the whole charger and extension cord. The hotel has no cameras that monitor the parking lots so therefore they are not liable for anything that happens out side of the building (unless it happens by a public exit - those have cameras). The Candlewood Suites (the hotel behind the Crowne Plaza) has no cameras on the shared parking lot either. Whatever. It looks like I'm hosed.

So then I go back to my room all sad and dejected because my charging cord has been stolen and I start googling the cost of a replacement cord. The cheapest replacement I found in the first 10 minutes of looking was for $370 so I decide to file a police report thinking I'm here till Sunday - might as well - just in case. As I'm googling a cheaper replacement charger, a really big, red, winged, carpenter ant (that's what Tom - the GM said it was) starts crawling up my wall. I catch it in a glass cup and take it to the front desk. That's where I met Tom - the General Manager.

He said they take bugs in rooms very seriously. This was a HUGE issue to him and the hotel. Personally, I didn't really care about the big, red, winged ant. I just wanted to let someone know that it was in my room so they were aware that they may have a bug issue.I told Tom that I had stayed here several times over the years and it's always been a wonderful experience. I also told him that this was the first time that it was not wonderful. I explained the situation with my cord being stolen last night and he was nice enough to take me to the area of the hotel where the cord had been plugged in yesterday and let me look around to see if I could find it. I couldn't. But it was really nice of him to let me go into the staff-only area and look for it. He didn't have to let me do that and I appreciate that he did.

The hotel is also moving me to the top floor (8th floor) so they can exterminate in my old ground floor room.

Room Tip: No cameras in the parking lots. If something happens to your car/belongings there - you have no reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank for your nice comments about our staff. Sorry you had to move room.s

Regarding your charger, My front office Manger informs me we moved it for safe keeping and it was returned you.

If this is not accurate please contact me.

Mark Smith GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Wonderful staff. Clean. We came in late and The bar tender kindly stayed open past closing time for us. He was friendly and funny! Comfortable beds. The shower had intense water pressure! We didn't eat at the restaurant - but the option was there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank You for your comments. We look forward to serving you again

Mark Smith GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A few of us decided to stay at the Crowne Plaza in Va. Beach during a girl’s weekend trip. We arrived on a Thursday afternoon and planned to leave on Sunday. The front desk staff was pleasant and answered all of our questions. We were checked in fairly quickly. The elevators are pretty close to the front desk, and the unloading area is covered. Our room was on the 5th floor, and it had a view of a summer carnival. The rooms were very clean, as well as the bathroom. The bathtub was a little rough on the bottom, from a previous mat that must have been glued. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were nice (since I left mine at home) but didn't need mine after all. The room felt kind of small for 3 female adults and lots of luggage. Parking lot area is nice, but could use some extra lighting. The hotel offers a shuttle service between 5 pm and 10 pm. You just call when you are ready to be picked up. He showed us around the Central Park area, showing us the different food options. Carlos the shuttle driver was very nice and very professional. It was nice having him just a phone call away to pick us up when we were ready!


On Friday we were going to concert and the front desk called our cab, and they arrived on time. The cab driver was even nice enough to come back to get us after the concert. Our room was cleaned earlier in the day while we were at the beach, and it looked as if we had just arrived. The only thing, they will not touch your belongings if they are on the bed, so your bed will not get made. Which I completely understand, and the staff were nice enough to leave a note explaining the situation.

We did venture to the pool area which was nice and cozy. The water was freezing, and it was the beginning of June. I felt that the pool water did look discolored, by my friends were assuring me it was the chemicals. The fitness room was excellent and the equipment operated without any issues. The hotel does have two Sauna's one in the female locker room, and one in the men's. We did hang out in the Sauna for a few minutes, and it did heat up fairly fast. The locker room itself did have a horrible sewer smell. There is a small laundry room that is available for guests but we didn't use this. There was a bar and a restaurant located in the lobby, but we didn't visit either one. There is a patio area located behind the pool area, with chairs and tables. This was nice area to sit and relax during the late hours. Could use a little more lighting in the area. There is a lounging area inside as well, and the chairs are comfortable.

I will say that we were surprised to have an extra $60.00 fee that was applied to our credit card after we checked in. This was for the third person that was with us. When we booked the hotel, we were not aware, but it must have been located in the small print!!

I would stay at the Crowne Plaza again if I needed to. Only downfall to the hotel, it's so far away from the actual beach. If you don't mind the drive, having to pay for parking each time you visit the beach, then I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in room thats away from 264, or the motorcycles and loud cars will drive you crazy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I had a conference in Virginia Beach so I brought my wife along and we stayed at the Crown Plaza. We had a great stay! We were on the 8th floor which is set up as a quiet floor. We had an awesome room, very clean and modern, and the amenities were great. There is complimentary coffee in the foyer by the elevators every morning so you don't have to ride the elevator down and don't want to brew your own in the room. The free breakfast in the hotel restaurant is really nice. We didn't use the pool or exercise room but they looked great too. If your spending the night in the Virginia Beach area, treat yourself to the Crown Plaza!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center

Address: 4453 Bonney Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach is located in the heart of the Town Center Business District, allowing corporate and leisure travelers easy access to Va. Beach, Norfolk and Chesapeake. We are just minutes from restaurants, shopping, attractions, military bases and the beach (8 miles) with convenient access to Interstates 264 and 64. The Crowne Plaza is within easy reach of Historic Jamestown and Colonial Williamsburg. The hotel offers 12,000 feet of flexible meeting and banquet space. Each guest room offers free wireless high speed Internet voice mail, coffee makers, make up mirrors, the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program which includes upgraded bedding, sleep amenities and more. Tines Restaurant & Aqua Bar features a wide range of food and beverage with, free wireless high speed Internet and wired high speed connections in the lobby. Additional amenities include an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, saunas, free business center with HSIA, 24 hour fitness center , gift shop and FREE shutle nightly to and from the Town Center entertainment area. Attractions: the Va. Science Museum, Verizon Amphitheater, and the Va. Sportsplex. The nearby Town Center features restaurants such as the Cheesecake factory, PF Chang, Ruth's Chris, Max & Erma s, and many more. Companies: Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Keane Inc., BB&T, SAIC, Amsec, Best Buy, Circuit City, Ford, EDS, and Ecolochem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Virginia Beach
Crowne Plaza Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.