We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2604 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #54 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
“A Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just stayed at your hotel, 03/02/13-03/03/13 and enjoyed it very much. The room was in excellent condition, clean and I believe everything was thought out with the design and the way a room should be designed. From the two type of bed cover pillows, the hide a way refrigerator, spacious room, half wall and we actually had a couch along with our two double beds. Even the detail in the bathroom was impressive the the style of vanity, curved shower curtain rod and a curtain with a window for diffusing light, to the bath accessories.

The only bummer was there needs to be a light over the shower or simply replace the existing bathroom exhaust fan with a fan/light combo. in order to provide light in the shower area. The vanity light just doesn't get it done. Also I wasn't able to draw the curtains close in the main area, based on the design, but their was a white window sheer.

Room Tip: make sure the bed is one that your going to be able to get a good nights rest in. Nothing can repla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate that you see our staffs hard work and dedication to our guests. Our bathrooms are small and I am looking into alternative ways to add more shelving or some other solution to accomodate more toiletries. Our rooms though are huge. Parking is limited in the resort area of Virginia Beach. Our hotel does lease parking from March 15th thru Labor Day in order to give ample parking during high demand weekends. I think you caught us on an unexpected busy weekend :). We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    53
    21
    10
    17
See reviews for
70
39
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We drove in parked and went to the desk where we were checked in quickly and efficiently. I was directed to where I could get a luggage cart and loaded up and went to our room.

The room was a fairly large King Suite with flat screen TV, refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was somewhat small with a high vanity sink (42") that offered little surface. Both the room and bathroom were very clean and well maintained.

A hot breakfast was included and included waffles, eggs, bacon or sausage, grits, biscuits and the other things you would expect. The breakfast room was nice and clean.

The only problem I could see was that there is limited space in the parking area. The parking was free.

Checkout was every bit as easy as check-in with friendly staffers both times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Atlantic Ave. side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding the time you stayed at the Clarion Inn & Suites. We take pride in knowing that our staff was both friendly and courteous during the check-in and check-out process. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the hot breakfast that we provide for our guests complimentary each day. I apologize for the limited parking accommodations at our property. Due to the limited amount of space we have to park vehicles at the oceanfront area, our hotel only has the ability to allow one vehicle on property per rented room. I am pleased to hear that the amenities in the room were satisfying and look forward to the next time you stay at the Clarion Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Checkin was quick and girl at guest services was great. Hotel is not on the beach side of the strip but conveniently located to access the beach. Breakfast was hot and good. The only problem we had was that when we returned the second day that the power in part of the hotel was was out for about an hour after we returned. They did get the power back on and the internet back up shortly after that. So over all the stay was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. I am pleased to hear that our staff was accommodating to your needs during your trip. I apologize for the temporary power outage we experienced at the property, but I am glad we were able to restore the power without any great inconvenience to you. Please be sure to visit the Clarion Inn & Suites in the future when you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Beautiful room, comfy bed. Only spent 1 night but would definitely return. Justin at front desk made a point to call room approx 15 minutes after we checked in to make sure all was fine and to ask if we needed anything!! That never happens anymore. Yes bathrooms are small but it had everything we needed plus an exhaust fan. Not sure if all rooms are alike but calling ours a suite may be stretching it a bit. King bed, sleep sofa and coffee table, small frig. and microwave. Just 1TV. Not a 2 room suite like we have had at other motels. But still a first class operation. Free breakfast always a plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from doors that lead to breakfast room as people start slamming it pretty early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I am very pleased that you found our rooms to be comfortable. Here at the Clarion Inn & Suites, it is our goal to provide the utmost satisfying accomodations for all of our guests. Our hotel is an all-suites hotel, offering studio suites to all of our guests. Similarly to how a studio appartment is laid out, our suites have the bed on one side of the room and a couch with a sitting area on the other side of the suite. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast that we provide for our guests and our staff looks forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookston
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is clean, comfortable and accommodating. Stayed here on business for 3 weeks and the front desk staff are all really nice. During off season rates are very reasonable and you basically have the hotel to yourself, until the week-ends, which it appears to be booked full. Beds are extremely comfortable and rooms are very spacious. They had a problem with the hot water during my stay, but was on it immediately and let the guests know, by putting letters under our doors. Housekkeeping was more than accommodating, as I worked nights and had a "Do not Disturb", on my door the entire time. The housekeeping would see me in hall later on in the day and always ask if I needed anything or if they could come and clean. Didn't ever bother me with the usual 8:00 housekeeping knock, which was greatly appreciated. I sincerely appreciated the manager making sure my visit was undisturbed by not making me move from room to room, as I kept extending my stay. Again, a great place to stay, only wish it would have been warmer..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for chosing to stay at our hotel during your extended business trip. We always appreciate when we can provide a comfortable and accommodating home away from home for business travelers. I apologize for the brief hot water issue that you experienced during your time at the hotel. I am happy that we were promptly able to correct the issue. Please be sure to stop in and see us again once the weather warms up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, NC
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Virginia Beach for the weekend and after reading the reviews decided to stay at the Clarion. We got there at 1:00 and were told that the room wouldn't be ready until 4, so we walked the boardwalk to kill time. The desk clerk was nice enough to give us our parking pass ahead of time so we could leave the car at the hotel. We were in the room at 4 as promised. The motel does have good security features and it is in a good location. All we had to do was walk across the street to get to the boardwalk. It is also within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I agree with one reviewer that the bathroom was really small compared to the large size of the room but that wasn't a problem for us. We had originally planned to spend two nights but quite frankly were not impressed with the beach area there, so we checked out after one night and headed north. This was NOT because of the motel at all...after being used to going to the NC beaches where you can actually find some large open spaces between hotels, this just seemed like a wall of hotels all the way down. Also there was some kind of pipe laid out on the beach and there was another area that looked like there was some excavating going on. Granted, this is not the summer season but we found the beach itself to be unappealing. Nice boardwalk but not much to see. If you are headed to Virginia Beach, I would recommend the Clarion..it is nice and reasonably priced. (We didn't eat the breakfast there so I can't comment on that).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer our hotel feedback about your stay with us. As a new hotel we pride ourselves in providing top-of-the-line security features for all of our guests. We are happy that you found our convenient location across the street from the beach and the boardwalk to you liking. I apologize for the condition of the beach when you came into town. Due to recent storms that hit the area from the previous season, the city sometimes must resort to offshore dredging to replace the sand on the beach for summer. We look forward to your next stay with Clarion Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very nice hotel with breakfast included. Very clean and well maintained. All doors are locked and opened with electronic key card, which is a nice security feature. A available parking on site. It's a block from ocean, but we could sea the ocean from our room. Our room had a refrigerator , microwave, coffee maker and a nice folate screen tv. The bathroom was a little small but had no effect on us. The room was very spacious with two queen size beds. There was no balcony, but had a very large double paned window. Breakfast had a nice variety with two flat screen TVs.

Room Tip: If you can get ocean view. The only downside of ocean view is the breakfast area is on the other sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMeads, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay at our hotel. We are happy that you found all of the accomodations in the room as well as in our breakfast area to your liking. We look forward to you making a return trip in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach

Address: 2604 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach. Welcome to the newest all-suite Virginia Beach hotel with spacious suites at over 400 sq feet. (NEWLY OPENED FALL 2011) All rooms feature flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, sofas, and complementary high-speed wireless and wired internet access. A seasonal outdoor pool and poolside bar and grill is great to unwind and relax. Steps to the beach this property is centrally located right in the heart of Atlantic Ave and walking distance to many of the best Virginia Beach attractions. Top it off with a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. Why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites Virginia Beach
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Super 8 Motel Virginia Beach
Super 8 Virginia Beach
Super Eight Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.