We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
The Oceanfront Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Bainbridge, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellent location and friendly staff! All rooms over look the ocean, and I recommend getting the package that includes breakfast from the Neptune located right in the Ocean Front Inn. It's not buffet style, it is fresh and made to order, I really enjoyed breakfast overlooking the beach, it was the perfect start to each day! I'll admit that rooms are a little outdated, but they are very clean. The maids make sure to re-stock the towels, vacuum, make the beds and clean the bathrooms each day while we were out enjoying the beach! I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a convenient, cheap and clean place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    124
    55
    18
    14
See reviews for
99
108
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

There was sticky dust everywhere in the rooms. My hair stuck to the headboard!! Gross. Bathroom had sand all over the floor, but it was just cleaned?? Room smelled when we first walked in. Just disgusting, the cleaning staff needs to actually clean instead of listen to their ipads in the hallway. The front desk didn't speak to us unless we stood there for a couple minutes, and I felt like we were imposing on all of them. The "free" wi-fi is in the lobby where everyone can watch you and the indoor pool was gross. The restaurant smelled so bad I gagged when I walked in and you couldn't understand the waiters because of their accents and mumbling of words. And the shower never had a consistent temperature. It was like any time someone else turned their water on I got a shot of ice cold water. It was terrible. The view was very nice of the beach, they picked a good location for that and it was in walking distance of almost everything to do at Virginia Beach. But I will never stay in that hotel again it was so gross!

Room Tip: Take cleaning supplies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have just returned from staying at the Oceanfront Inn in Virginia Beach, VA. The hotel staff were great but the room was dated (with rust evident in portions of the bathroom) but the worst part were the pillows. Overstuffed with foam cubes - great for sitting up in bed to watch TV (which we didn't do - we were at the beach!) but terrible to try to sleep on. My neck was bent 4 inches up from the bed. Our 2nd night, I took my sweatshirt and balled it up to make a "pillow". I slept much better.

Room Tip: all rooms are oceanfront which is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was very pleased with this hotel! The place was clean and easy to find, there was plenty of parking, the staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, the pool was nice, easy beach access, great view from the balcony.... it goes on and on. Plus all of the rooms had a recycle bin which I thought was really cool! There is an ocean side restaurant but we didn't have a chance to check it out. Wish we could've stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel needs some serious upgrades/tlc. I wore my shoes the entire time when walking inside the hotel room. Also the bathroom was disgusting, upon arriving there was someone else's long hairs on a washcloth. See pictures attached for crud, rust, paint chipping. This hotel is in desperate need of serious elbow grease for me to ever stay again.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here again for two nights during Spring Break. There was a surprise cold front, but we made the best of it. The price for the hotel is awesome for oceanfront at the beach. We asked for a room change from 2 double to a king. The desk attendant quickly took care of it for us. The pool could be a little bit warmer, but like I said, the cold front was a surprise. Bathrooms are a little bit cramped.

Room Tip: We always ask for the highest floor possible and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We've stayed here for like the past eight years and its always been great. Last year we made the mistake of trying something new, the Breakers, big mistake! Called The Oceanfront Inn after checking in to the mistake and asked for our "usual" room. It was available and cheaper than usual! Great place and nice staff! Tip: ask for the room on the top floor, there are only two but they are great, private sundeck, and awesome views!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.