We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only VA Beach Hotel We Stay At!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
The Oceanfront Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Only VA Beach Hotel We Stay At!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have stayed at numerous hotels in VA Beach, but once we stayed at The Oceanfront Inn, that was it! We now book our room almost a year in advance; mostly because we are there during an event, but well worth it to know we have our room! Clinton and the staff make it well worth every return visit! Hotel has been updated just in the past two years since we started going there! Recommend it to everyone and now have other who stay there regularly as well. Plus, there is an indoor pool and in the off season, [in season as well], who doesn't want to be able to swim!

Room Tip: Because all rooms face the beach, there really isn't a bad room. Of course, we did have a corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    118
    55
    18
    14
See reviews for
97
105
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chilhowie, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is an older hotel. It's a little outdated. Location of this hotel is great! Pricing of this hotel compared to all the others is reasonable. Some things need to be replaced and updates made but it is over all a clean place. The beds are a little firm, but we slept great on them. The view from the room is amazing! As for the free WIFI we were not able to connect our laptops to it for the most part and when a connection was made, it dropped within 2 seconds (we were located on the 6th floor) so If you are going to be in need of internet access bring a hot spot/MiFi. We never heard a peep from any of the rooms around us, I dont know if the walls are sound proofed or if the others staying at the hotel are just quiet. We were not disturbed at all. Would we stay at this hotel again? Yes, we would. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant located in the hotel is very good. This is the best hotel you are going to get for a cheap price on the ocean front. I would recommend this hotel and we will be choosing this one again when we come back. Just would like to see some updates in the rooms, maybe even some thicker bed covers as we had to take the ones off the 2nd bed in our room and add them to the bed we slept in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest level so that you get the best ocean front view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I really had a hard time finding a decent hotel for a family gathering this summer. The decent hotels in Virginia Beach are extremely expensive. The Trip Advisor reviewers were spot on with this hotel. This hotel is a great location and well maintained but kind of dated. For the most part the rooms are clean and nicely appointed. The beds were double beds, not that comfortable. Also they were not too generous with towels. Considering the price of other hotels, this hotel was a good value. The one thing I didn't like is that they charge your credit card immediately after booking the reservation. In my case they had my money 2 months in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

An older hotel that's obviously been upgraded and refurbished, but I don't know when. The room was smallish but clean and reasonably appointed. Houskeeping staff were prompt and good. The hotel is located at 29th and Atlantic with shops and eating places and banks nearby. The hotel has a restaurant. The food and service are good but I thought pricey. They also have a heated pool, their own beachfront and all rooms face the Atlantic.

Cost is somewhat cheaper than other similar hotels in the area. It doesn't have the class of the Hilton but it costs about 40% less and they give a discount for AAA and AARP. Overall, its sufficient and convenient with a friendly staff.

Just two blocks away at 1065 Laskin Road is a nice cafe. La Bella Italia. It's a deli, bakery, and have delicious "build your own" salads and sandwiches. They also have home made pastries to die for. Reasonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland, West Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have had 2 years in a row of excellent hotel stays because of The Oceanfront Inn. We have nothing bad to say about our stay. The staff is friendly professional, and helpful. Hotel is clean. Thumbs up all the way! Thanks Oceanfront Inn! Can't wait to visit next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very clean and friendly place to stay. The view of the ocean from every room is amazing. Best of all you walk right out and onto the beach. Prices are usually significantly less that other places which are beach front which is my favorite part. We go every Christmas because they give you a free ticket to see the boardwalk lights. You can actually look right out your room and see the lights as well. The Patio is so nice to sit on and relax. The indoor pool is also a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place was awesome!!! Room was clean with a beautiful balcony beach view. Excellent location and affordable!! Front desk staff, maintenance and housekeeping were always available to meet our needs - they were friendly with exemplary customer service. Only thing I hoped for was complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby in the AM, hotel restaurant was a bit pricey. Will definitely book here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.