We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Save Saved
You added The Oceanfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oceanfront Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
UpstateNYer510
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights the last week of October. The room was clean, the balcony and view were great. Although it's an older hotel, the room is up-to-date with the exception of the bathroom floor. The older tile is dated and almost gives it the look of a dirty bathroom, but its not, it's clean, The water pressure on shower was fantastic! Bed was comfy. For the amount of money charged for an oceanfront room with balcony...you cannot do any better!

Housekeeping was ok. I did find that instead of giving me a new bathmat for the floor, they picked up and folded the one I had already used because it was still wet when I went to take a shower that night. If you want a fresh bathmat every day, make sure you put the used one in the pile of used towels.

I usually don't need the front desk help but I did call on them a couple of times during my stay. Recommendation for place for dinner/drinks (Murphy's Irish Pub was EXCELLENT), permission for a visiting friend to park in the lot, etc. Everyone I dealt with was professional and helpful. I couldn't ask for anything better.

I would absolutely recommend staying here. You can't beat the price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your feedback.We welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    98
    50
    17
    12
See reviews for
86
88
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After moving to this motel after 2 days of staying in one we were not happy with, this was a big improvement. The rooms are all oceanfront with a great view. They are clean and the staff was very nice. Even though Hurricane Sandy was moving in, we still had a great time. Compared to where we stayed the first 2 days, it was also a great value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Oceanfront Inn provided two of the things we most look for when we are traveling to Virginia Beach. A view of the ocean and an indoor pool. All of the rooms in the Oceanfront face the ocean. There is nothing like opening your door to the balcony and leaving it open for your entire stay. The cool breeze and the sound of the surf make it easy to sleep. The hotel itself is a little outdated but it is clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only slight problem we had was when we decided to eat at the Neptune Restaurant which was located in the hotel. They had a seafood buffet, which meant none of the regular menu was available. The staff did apologize for that but considering it was not their fault, it was much appreciated. This will be one of the places considered for the next trip to VA Beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean so there really is not a bad room to have. IF you are a frequent visito...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Front Office Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your feedback. Your comments are important to us as we continually strive to improve guest experiences. Our owner takes pride in The Oceanfront Inn and continues to renovate to enhance guest satisfaction. Our staff will continue to be motivated to possess a cheerful attitude and we welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

the hotel stay as great the room was clean and comfortable. The room was also sound proof we didn't hear any other guest and that was great. the oceanfront was very enjoyable. Adam at the front desk was really great we got the best customer service from him. The other people at the front desk we not so friendly. The hotel can use some new beds the mattresses seemed to be old and not so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have to start by saying that I'm annoyed to discover that the hotel jacked their prices up by about $40/night this weekend while there is a soccer tournament in town...especially since they are on the "preferred hotels" list from the tournament organizers. If we wanted to come back and stay in the same rooms next weekend, it would only be $84/night instead of $124/night!
Otherwise...pros are that the location is great, right on the ocean with easy access to the boardwalk and lots of nearby restaurants and shops. The room itself is reasonably clean - sheets and towels seem fresh, not too worn looking. Not a huge room, but we had enough space to set up a pack-n-play in addition to the 2 double beds. Biggest negative is the bathroom...in addition to being really small, it was kind of disgusting! Not from a housekeeping perspective so much - everything was as clean as it probably could be - but there was rust everywhere! The sprinkler in the ceiling was caked with rust, the edges of the door, the towel rack, pretty much everything with metal on it was rusty. There is also something weird going in with the shower...when I turned the water on and let it run for a minute while I got undressed, the flow from the faucet decreased to almost a trickle! Luckily it came back when I turned the handle more, but that's strange! The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, but I think we'll check out a different hotel next year when we come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your comments. Our management has taken this very seriously and has addressed your concerns as needed. We regret to hear of your dissatisfaction. If there is a serious concern with a room, a guest has the option of moving to a different room so management can take necessary action to correct the situation and if necessary take the room out of inventory until the room is suitable for occupancy. The Oceanfront Inn stays competitive with rates and you might find as a consumer that other hotels in the area have fluctuating rates on weekdays, weekends and holiday weekends, like the one mentioned. Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your constructive feedback. Your comments are important to us as we continually strive to improve guest experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barboursville, va
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was my 4th visit to Virginia Beach, and I have always stayed at the Oceanfront Inn. The room is large, comfortable, and clean. Bathroom a little small, but also very clean. Balcony looking out to the ocean great for a glass of wine, or a coffee in the am. Indoor pool is heated, and terrific for some lap swimming, but watch out for the chlorine...it's very strong.
Staff very friendly and helpful as usual!
Would recommend this hotel to anyone, as it is centrally located on Atlantic Ave., near the statue of Neptune.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your feedback. Your comments are important to us as we continually strive to improve guest experiences. Our owner takes pride in The Oceanfront Inn and continues to renovate to enhance guest satisfaction. Our staff will continue to be motivated to possess a cheerful attitude and we welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for one night (Sept. 2012) as we made our way south to OBX. The hotel was much better than I expected since the price was very reasonable. Our room smelled very clean and fresh and was very comfortable. The view of the ocean was terrific. It was nice that the ocean front balcony had two chairs so that we could sit out. We ate dinner at the Best Western next door and that was very good. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant which was also very good. We didn't have time to try out the pool, but it looked nice. The room had a small refrigerator, but a small microwave would be a nice addition. The bathroom is small, but upgraded with granite counter tops and the water pressure was great. The location of this hotel is perfect, right on the boardwalk. We would definitely stay here again. Great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your feedback. Your comments are important to us as we continually strive to improve guest experiences. Our owner takes pride in The Oceanfront Inn and continues to renovate to enhance guest satisfaction. Our staff will continue to be motivated to possess a cheerful attitude and we welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oceanfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.