We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Bliss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #20 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beach Bliss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had such a wonderful stay at this hotel. They have an attached restaurant for your breakfast accommodations that is simply sweet and delicious. The staff was awesome, they met my every request along with providing a wonderful room on the top floor that had the perfect view of the beautiful ocean. I absolutely loved it! The only thing that could have made this stay better would have been an area brochure of things to do and coupons to do them! When you're not from a certain area and you go out on an adventure, every little piece of advice and assistance is imperative!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for such a great review! Our staff takes pride in their excellent customer service! We actually do have small coupon books/brochure books for our area that also include maps. They are near the Front Desk, I do apologize that we did not direct you over to that area. Come back and see us again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    205
    90
    40
    31
See reviews for
281
158
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our stay was very nice and uneventful. Breakfast was great and shampoo and soap dispensers were full and the lotion smelt great. Great view from our balcony. Was a quick trip for us but very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We are glad to hear you had a quick but great stay! Come back and see us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I along with about a hundred and fifty other members of my school's band program, stayed at the Sandcastle for a three-night four-day band trip. The hotel for the most part was a in decent location that was in close proximity to various amenities. The breakfast buffet was quite mediocre and I feel that it could easily be improved. The room itself was quite nice for what it was, a standard 2-bed room. The only issues I had were the fact that we were almost charged 2 bucks for a second room key that we decided to opt-out of, and your name has to be written down when taking extra towels. Overall, not a bad hotel, but would not be my first choice if I were to come back down to VA Beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We do appreciate you and the rest of the band students that stayed with us recently! We hope you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel as well as the beach itself! I do apologize for the inconvenience of the towels, we do take inventory on our hotel supplies. This ensures us that we are also not giving guest amenities to non hotel guests. As for the keys, we do only issue 2 per room. Anything other than the 2 keys issued is 2$ per room key. As these keys do have a special RFID chip in them so they're a bit different than the standard room key. We thank you for staying with us and we look forward to see you guys next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were very happy here. Girls at check in were very nice and helpful. Any staff that we ran into was very nice. Room was very clean. The best part was the view. Breakfast was in restaurant next door with a very nice staff. Could have some healthier options but that most hotels. Would return if in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for a great review about our property! Our staff goes above and beyond for our guests and we do like to exceed in great customer service and cleanliness! Come back and see us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay...the room was very clean. Very nice décor. The view in the morning with the sunrise and the Pier was so beautiful! The food in the restaurant was very good. The service was excellent... The beds were comfortable and so were the pillows. I would stay here again. And I am a pretty picky person about cleanliness so from me this is a huge compliment...!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for such awesome feedback about the hotel! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we have to offer! We recently went through a full renovation of the hotel so all those bright new colors and decor are a great addition to the renovations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I liked the amenities in the bathroom. The counter tops and shower stall was well appointed and the soap and shampoo dispensers were a nice touch. I liked that the remote control had been cleaned and was left in a sanitary bag. The bed was super comfortable and the refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave were appreciated. The beach front room was the best part of the trip. This was a very clean room and I was pleased beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Welcome back! We are happy to hear you chose to stay with the Best Western Brand again! Glad to hear you enjoyed our oceanfront property with all the guest amenities we had to offer! Come back and see us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We booked this hotel a year in advance and got an amazing deal on the 2 floor suite. Because the price was so good we didn't have the highest expectations for the hotel and room. We were pleasantly surprised and incredibly pleased with our stay. The room was perfect for our family of 6 with plenty of room when people needed a little time to themselves. The location was perfect for us and the oceanfront balcony was wonderful. We called a month before our trip to extend our stay and the representative was pleasant, helpful and quick to help. We experienced the same when we were there with smiles and Hello's every time we walked by the desk. The people working in the store were just as friendly and I can't even begin to tell you how pleased we were with the service in the restaurant. If we ever vacation in Virginia Beach again there is no other place we would stay. Thank you for helping to make our first family vacation as a blended family a huge success!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for recently staying with the Best Western Plus Sandcastle! We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your vacation in Virginia beach! The 3 Room Suite is quite the unique room and very popular as well, it is perfect for a family of 6! We hope you come back and see us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.