We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, decent room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited Virginia Beach as a last minute trip over labor day weekend. We wanted something on the beach (and this was a great location with a balcony overlooking the ocean), but all hotels had hiked up prices for the rock and roll marathon/holiday weekend. I didnt feel like the hotel was really worth over $300/night, but it was a great central location.

There was a breakfast buffet (great the first day, but no variety so it got old) and a pool (small, but there). The rooms were cleaned well.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room- location is what sets this hotel apart
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about the hotel. Unfortunately you did come on a busy holiday weekend, in which the rates are normally a little higher than a normal weekend. Come see us again so we can exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    276
    113
    49
    36
See reviews for
400
235
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Even through it rain 4 out of six days we had a great time at virginia Beach,this hotel and staff
were awesome. The staff was friendly and helpful, The hotel was clean and bright, smelled fresh. rooms were clean. housekeeping does an amazing job keeping things clean and fresh and looking after the guest needs. Thanks to the housekeeping staff. and thanks to the front desk staff who always had a smile and greeting, you guys are the best! Thank You for the wonderful stay!!
The Robertson's
Room 504:)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are so glad to hear you and your family had a great stay, Despite the rainy days! We appreciate the positive feedback about the cleanliness of our hotel and the great service your received! Hope to see you and your family again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 5 days the end of September and were very impressed by the hotel and the staff. I have a medical condition which requires me to be on oxygen and the staff (Joey, victor, Leann) we're great. They assisted us in everyway, from accommodations on the 2nd floor to extending our stay. I will be staying at this hotel every time I come to Virginia beach. Great job to all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review! We take pride in our superior customer service from our staff! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We could not have been more pleased with our experience in the hotel. Everything was very, very clean and the entire staff, from the hotel and the restaurant were very accommodating. The room was also very quiet and pleasant. The food was excellent. Our overall experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Come back and see us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Check in was smooth. Room was comfortable and clean. Bedding and pillows were excellent. Stayed on the 5th floor and parked on the 5th floor of deck - easy to get in and out. Great location next to the pier and short walk to anything else that makes Virginia Beach such a great place to visit. The breakfast bar was wonderful and well tended to so the food was always fresh. Used the computer in the lobby because I don't take my laptop on vacation and it worked very well. The lobby itself is very spacious with comfortable furniture, great television and coffee and juice 24/7. Room key required for entrance except main doors so we felt secure. The indoor heated pool and surrounding area is great. The only downer was discovering that the smaller adjacent pool is a kiddie pool and not a hot tub. Check out went smoothly and the lady at the front desk really seemed concerned with knowing that we enjoyed our stay. I will definitely stay here again and recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel was Awesome. The room and bathrooms were clean. The bathroom was a little small. The beds were extremely comfortable and the staff was nice. My daughter is a coffee drinker and the complimentary coffee/ juice machine 24/7 in the front longue was an added bonus for her. I was a little disappointed at the pool area. The pool was fine, there was a little kiddie pool connected to the pool which I thought was a hot tube. But found comfort in knowing I was not the only one who thought that. A couple came in while I was in the pool and the husband got in the kiddie pool thinking it was a hot tub and was so disappointed. A group of people swimming in the pool prior to my arrival discussed the mistaking the kiddie pool as well. The hot breakfast buffet at the attached restaurant Pier 14 was filling and good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This has been one of the best I have stayed in....... Staff is great deff the over night,,,,,,,, the renovations are great........ I would stay here again for sure!!!!!!!!!!!! Sorry for all the extra punctuation marks this must be 200 characters and i don't have anything else to add.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.