We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, though a little cramped.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #18 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, though a little cramped.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our stay was great, but the biggest bummer was the small beds & bathroom. We could have paid an extra $50/night for a bigger bed - in a bigger room, but we were already at our budget as it was. So we had 2 double beds, hardly big enough for a couple to sleep comfortably. (& we're not big; we actually slept in separate beds a couple nights) The bathroom door didn't open all the way because the towel rack was behind it, making it a little cramped in the bathroom. We had a room on the south end, giving us a half oceanview. The other half looked at the hotel next door. We were on the 3rd floor. I think it was a little noisy at times. A couple mornings we awoke to beeping (truck backing up) right outside. The breakfast buffet (included) was good, or at least until our 5th (& last) morning...just because it was the same thing every day. It would have been nice to at least have a rotating selection of fresh fruits. It was just cantaloupe or orange slices. If you don't go before 9am, it's REALLY crowded & quality of service goes down. Mainly because there aren't enough staff then to really take care of the full restaurant. And then it's hit & miss on what's out, but they were pretty good about refilling things. The naval base is close, so the jets are constantly going, all. day. long. But you hear them everywhere you are in VB, so that isn't specific to this hotel. The fair with rides is right across the street (but we didn't go). There are lots places to eat & shop within walking distance, but you can also get a bus pass (hop on/hop off) for $2/day that goes up & down Atlantic Ave. The hotel's location is a great one on the boardwalk. Pretty central. There's also a shop right in the hotel where you can buy/rent. We used it a bit for things to use on the beach, including renting a bike. Parking was easy (& included). Our maid was very nice & we had no problems at all with any staff. I would stay here again, but probably when I could invest in the extra money for a room with a bigger bed. For mexican food, I highly recommend Baja Cantina!

Room Tip: south end seems a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    227
    96
    44
    33
See reviews for
326
169
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great location right on the ocean in Virginia Beach, great breakfast buffet was included, easy parking, very hip/modern lobby and rooms, an outstanding stay. Loved the beach sunrise. Very convenient to nearby restaurants, Ben & Jerry's, all within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robersonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel was in great location, never had food taken from my room not 1 day but 2. We left to go on Beach to return to some of the items we brought to room gone on 2 seperate days, so if we had doubt after the 2nd day we knew it was real and true. Think i may go back to Marriott and the rate was high as well as charging 14% tax that was not explained to me in the beginning

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I apologize for the difficulties that you encountered during your stay. We are actively investigating this issue and hope that the compensation given for your missing food items was to your satisfaction. It is our sincerest hope that this incident does not keep you from returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Premium accommodations and service. Beautiful view, right on the beach. Within walking distance of most attractions. On site stores and rentals. Very helpful staff. Two onsite restaurants with excellent food and great drink values.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We appreciate your wonderful review! Our staff takes great pride in offering exceptional customer service to each and every one of our guests. Our on-site amenities are focused on giving our guests easy access to items they may need during their stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Building has 9 floors. Rooms are clean and the staff is very accomodating. Beds were comfortable although the pillows were a little soft. Free breakfast is a buffet and offered a lot. Only problem I had was that the bathroom door opened right onto the sink. We had a few "bumping" incidents. You have to coordinate opening the door with whoever is using the sink. Parking facility offers covered parking and 1 open floor. Overall, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Most all of the rooms are ocean front. There are 2 rooms on each floor that are ocean view and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Large room, great decor, CLEAN room, fabulous staff! The room was larger than another chain we had just stayed at for a week. The breakfast was an added bonus - full unlimited buffet! The oceanfront view was a must and this hotel deliverd. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel had a great location very close to the pier. The decor of the hotel was beautiful. The breakfast was great, you can't leave the table hungry. The only bad thing about my room was it was a little cramped.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.