We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New look, even better than before” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #17 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“New look, even better than before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Ive stayed here before its a nice place to stay. My family enjoyed the stay and The weather was perfect and the location is even better. The free breakfast every morning is amazing . The view from our private balcony was beautiful. Front desk workers were welcoming. Leanne and Danielle were extremely nice with our air conditioning problems but the maintenance guy took care of it quick. Over all the stay was fabulous

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    365
    147
    61
    51
See reviews for
540
306
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was very nice and absolutely loved the staff, very nice and gorgeous location, so much to do and really I loved the great food at the restaurant in the hotel. It was very easy finding the hotel , didn't appreciate pot holes in the streets getting there but over all loved everything about the hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have actually lost count of the number of stays at this hotel; including our most recent stay, I estimate it to be around 10. Over the years, my family and I have never had an issue with Sandcastle Hotel. Back in the latter 90's, the older of my 2 children (a then "teeny tot") and I had taken several day trips to the beach. I decided that when I did stay, I wanted to be near the pier (14th Street). Sandcastle was at an ideal location and very budget-friendly; especially during off-season. I do admit that for this year's Spring Break, I was a little apprehensive about staying there because Best Western had purchased "our hotel" and the pricing was a little more than what I had paid in the past. But after careful thought, it's the only place that we've ever stayed in VA Beach and it was a clear choice to return there. We were completely satisfied with our visit. The new lobby area is so beautiful. The room upgrades are nice and they strive to make everything neat and clean. The full, hot breakfast is also a plus (take a gratuity with you to breakfast as the restaurant that serves hotel guests is a separate establishment). It was also nice to have the feeling of familiarity with the gift shops, pool area, and even the parking garage. We just feel at home at Best Western Plus Sandcastle! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Management was also impressed to see that we were long time customers as I showed them a picture of my now teen as a toddler frolicking in their pool area. With my 2 children being 10 years apart in age, I plan to be visiting VA Beach for many more Spring Breaks and quick get-a-ways. I've already begin establishing new adventures with my younger child while we're at VA Beach! Sandcastles will always be our home-away-from-home in VA Beach!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was here for business staying only one night. Upon check-in the hotel lobby was clean top to bottom and the front desk staff were professional and courteous. The guest room was immaculate with quality sheets and pillows on a comfortable bed. Wi-Fi access and the LCD tv worked properly. The major bonus is waking up to beautiful ocean front views... I will stay here the next time I'm in town for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk.Va
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Staying just one night but the room was nice and clean, staff was nice at check in and check out, will stay here for Sand Soccer if they have rooms. The upgrades were good for the hotel, did not have breakfast were running behind...............................................

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Remodeling was a definite positive. Lobby and rooms are very nice. Door locks were very sensitive and difficult. Always had to swipe multiple times to get in. I noticed other guests with same problem. Indoor pool was nice but not very warm. Breakfast was very good and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice location. Great meeting rooms ocean front. Will stay again. Exercise room was small but had nice machines. Walking distance to many things. Great winter value.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel these past 2 years with our navy reunion. The upgrades that have been completed in that time has really made this hotel the best spot in Va Beach. What has not been changed in the last 2 years is the service. It has been outstanding, and has helped our military reunion in every single way. The sales mgr, pauline, the front desk staff, the hotel staff, have all been more than helpful. the price is outstanding, and with the updates, and location, you will not find a better deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia B...
#3 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#46 of 114 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#6 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
#9 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#4 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 114 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.