We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, small room, mostly carbs for breakfast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #16 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
“Old hotel, small room, mostly carbs for breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Got this room for an inexpensive rate on a third party website while I was in Virginia Beach for 2 days of business. It’s an old hotel in a good spot on the beach. Room was small with a mish mash of furniture, safe, mini-frig that did not match, and bed was not very comfortable. Breakfast resembled the mish mash room, with a lot of carbs and fruit that did not look edible. Staff was pleasant. Access to the beach is through a “mall” that resembles the mish mash room. Not recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our property! From the pictures that you've uploaded, I can tell that your stay with us was not as recent as your review - we've come a long way! We are now newly remodeled and have added amenities to increase the comfort and convenience we provide for our valued guests! Please come back and stay with us again soon! We've undergone QUITE the transformation, and can't wait to show the world our progress!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    180
    78
    34
    29
See reviews for
226
144
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our family has been staying at the Sandcastle for 5 years of our summer vacations. Very friendly staff with clean rooms. Love the new upgrades done in the recent year! The beach front is beautiful. Located at quieter end of the boardwalk, but still close enough to all entertainment. The new breakfast buffet in attached restuarant was amazing! We will continue to book our summer vacations there for a long time to come!

Room Tip: Beach front with private balcony a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for four days at the resort. Even though, hotel is being renovated, it was a great stay. It was so cold and we couldn't do allot of things with the family on the beach but resort location is so convenient to everything. We reserved a king room suite with two queen size sofas. One of the queen size sofa mattresses was worn out, we called and got new mattress. Front desk staff was so helpful and the manager Mr. V, was wonderful. We never met a manger who was so helpful who even called the owner of the beach store to open the store in the hotel so we can rent bikes. All the staff is wonderful. Free Breakfast buffet was so delicious. Overall, great stay and planning to go back next summer.

Room Tip: Ocean front and great location with excellent customer service: A++++
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A group reunited here for a few days and enjoyed and really appreciated the spacious hospitality room with a great view. The rooms were good, and all with a view of the ocean. The bathrooms had dinky countertops at the sink, but otherwise were clean with necessary appointments. Coffee in lobby was welcome. Exercise room was clean. There is still construction going on, but it did not interfere with noise or trappings. There are jets flying over from nearby air base during the day. The hallways are narrow and the carpet and tile are ugly, not nice like other areas. It is convenient to park on the same floor as your room, but clearance is low and the turn is a bit tight. Still nice to be off the street. The breakfast for guests at adjoining Ammos is fantastic. The food in the full breakfast buffet was plentiful, varied and absolutely delicious! The staff were all very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very convenient to anything you wish to do in VA Beach. All the rooms are on the ocean side with the parking ramp spiralling up the back side. Being able to park on the same floor as the room was very convenient. It was nice to have a balcony on the boardwalk. The room was a little dated, but the public spaces were very modern. Loved the lobby! ALso really liked the full breakfast included in the room rate. Very economical, comfy hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Been here many times before, but they've just undergone a total make-over -- new lobby, restaurant, public spaces and rooms, with a much more clean and contemporary look. Plus, they've partnered with the Ammos restaurant right next door (or through the lobby walkway) - to offer a FULL hot breakfast buffet - it changed just a bit each day, but nearly always included cooked eggs (scrambled and fritata styles, on the days we were there), cooked baby red bliss potatoes, corned beef hash, pancakes with real strawberries in the sauce (or syrup if you prefer), biscuits and gravy, usually some kind of cut fruits, puddings, cereal, fresh coffee --copiously poured by a friendly wait staff. (Also, the hotel offered, a 10% discount coupon on this same restaurant for lunch or dinner - it's Greek style food at those times - but we went elsewhere, as the free breakfast usually held us over till dinner!)

Guest services was great - one day I scraped a finger outside - and was dripping tiny drops of blood all over the place - Charles - the guy at the desk that afternoon insisted on getting water, rubbing alcohol and bandages - and cleaned me right up.

And, when you consider they're right next to the fishing pier; close to the kids' amusement rides; on the main avenue by all the shops; and directly on the oceanfront (with balcony and oceanfront views, I believe from all rooms); right on the boardwalk next to the bike rentals; and they also offer a large, clean and warm, indoor adult and baby swim pool - with access to a "rooftop" outdoor lounge a couple of steps away... how can you go wrong?

We go in mid- to end of September, so although they still get in groups, and it can be full at times, it's mostly not terribly busy. I mention this as they probably could do with a bigger and better parking deck - but we had no problems while we were there.

The only other minor negative is that in our room, the bathroom door opened right onto the sink area (which is in a little nook alcove, outside of the toilet/shower/tub room itself) - and if you don't watch it, you can open the door and smack right into whoever is standing in front of the sink. We caught on fast and it only happened once.

It's by no means a 5-star motel -- but the room also comes with great views of the ocean and boardwalk below, from the large windows and balcony. Plus, there's a mini-fridge, microwave oven, coffee maker (tho also juice and fresh coffee & tea in the lobby, 24/7). They offer loyalty discounts to repeat users, AAA, AARP and other discounts - and for the money, you can't beat the price. We've been 4-5 times so far, and I'm sure we'll be back again.

Oh - and if you've never been, VA Beach is a very kid-friendly place. But of course - if you haven't been - you should be aware that VA is noisy -- the naval jets fly training exercises over the beach on most days. Makes it hard to have a conversation when they pass by - but this will be true virtually wherever you stay in VA Beach... plus, we enjoy watching the jets fly - kind of makes you proud to be an American. Just a heads up...

Room Tip: The higher the rooms, the better the view. Of course, means waiting a bit longer for an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough and positive review of our property! We've certainly undergone many changes in the last year, and we're extremely proud of the result! Although we appreciate that we've had so much positive feedback from everyone, personally, feedback from our many times repeat guests like you means the most! Our guests who've stood by us throughout the years and been able to watch our growth and progress and enjoy our success along with us hold a special place in our hearts! We look forward to completing our renovations and our transition to a Best Western Plus later this year, but mostly we look forward to serving you and your family for years to come! Thank you again for your kind words, and we promise to keep raising the bar for service and accommodations in order to provide you - our valued guest - with the best possible stay at the best possible price!

PS: I've asked our engineers to look into the possibility of reversing the hinges on the bathroom doors for the rooms with external sinks! Thanks for bringing this to our attention! As hoteliers, there are sometimes fine details like this one that escape our attention! We'll let you know how it turns out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have stayed here several times and have been very pleased. This time I was a little disappointed at first when we arrived and were told we had to be on the first floor because we booked through a third party. Later that evening when the staff changed I asked why we had to have the first floor and they said that was not the case. They moved us up to the 7th Floor. Thanks Charles and Monique-very professional and pleasant staff to work with.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Best Western, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.