We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront, just south of the fishing pier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 115 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beachfront, just south of the fishing pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very convenient to anything you wish to do in VA Beach. All the rooms are on the ocean side with the parking ramp spiralling up the back side. Being able to park on the same floor as the room was very convenient. It was nice to have a balcony on the boardwalk. The room was a little dated, but the public spaces were very modern. Loved the lobby! ALso really liked the full breakfast included in the room rate. Very economical, comfy hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    245
    102
    46
    35
See reviews for
365
194
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rahway, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Been here many times before, but they've just undergone a total make-over -- new lobby, restaurant, public spaces and rooms, with a much more clean and contemporary look. Plus, they've partnered with the Ammos restaurant right next door (or through the lobby walkway) - to offer a FULL hot breakfast buffet - it changed just a bit each day, but nearly always included cooked eggs (scrambled and fritata styles, on the days we were there), cooked baby red bliss potatoes, corned beef hash, pancakes with real strawberries in the sauce (or syrup if you prefer), biscuits and gravy, usually some kind of cut fruits, puddings, cereal, fresh coffee --copiously poured by a friendly wait staff. (Also, the hotel offered, a 10% discount coupon on this same restaurant for lunch or dinner - it's Greek style food at those times - but we went elsewhere, as the free breakfast usually held us over till dinner!)

Guest services was great - one day I scraped a finger outside - and was dripping tiny drops of blood all over the place - Charles - the guy at the desk that afternoon insisted on getting water, rubbing alcohol and bandages - and cleaned me right up.

And, when you consider they're right next to the fishing pier; close to the kids' amusement rides; on the main avenue by all the shops; and directly on the oceanfront (with balcony and oceanfront views, I believe from all rooms); right on the boardwalk next to the bike rentals; and they also offer a large, clean and warm, indoor adult and baby swim pool - with access to a "rooftop" outdoor lounge a couple of steps away... how can you go wrong?

We go in mid- to end of September, so although they still get in groups, and it can be full at times, it's mostly not terribly busy. I mention this as they probably could do with a bigger and better parking deck - but we had no problems while we were there.

The only other minor negative is that in our room, the bathroom door opened right onto the sink area (which is in a little nook alcove, outside of the toilet/shower/tub room itself) - and if you don't watch it, you can open the door and smack right into whoever is standing in front of the sink. We caught on fast and it only happened once.

It's by no means a 5-star motel -- but the room also comes with great views of the ocean and boardwalk below, from the large windows and balcony. Plus, there's a mini-fridge, microwave oven, coffee maker (tho also juice and fresh coffee & tea in the lobby, 24/7). They offer loyalty discounts to repeat users, AAA, AARP and other discounts - and for the money, you can't beat the price. We've been 4-5 times so far, and I'm sure we'll be back again.

Oh - and if you've never been, VA Beach is a very kid-friendly place. But of course - if you haven't been - you should be aware that VA is noisy -- the naval jets fly training exercises over the beach on most days. Makes it hard to have a conversation when they pass by - but this will be true virtually wherever you stay in VA Beach... plus, we enjoy watching the jets fly - kind of makes you proud to be an American. Just a heads up...

Room Tip: The higher the rooms, the better the view. Of course, means waiting a bit longer for an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanelle W, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough and positive review of our property! We've certainly undergone many changes in the last year, and we're extremely proud of the result! Although we appreciate that we've had so much positive feedback from everyone, personally, feedback from our many times repeat guests like you means the most! Our guests who've stood by us throughout the years and been able to watch our growth and progress and enjoy our success along with us hold a special place in our hearts! We look forward to completing our renovations and our transition to a Best Western Plus later this year, but mostly we look forward to serving you and your family for years to come! Thank you again for your kind words, and we promise to keep raising the bar for service and accommodations in order to provide you - our valued guest - with the best possible stay at the best possible price!

PS: I've asked our engineers to look into the possibility of reversing the hinges on the bathroom doors for the rooms with external sinks! Thanks for bringing this to our attention! As hoteliers, there are sometimes fine details like this one that escape our attention! We'll let you know how it turns out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have stayed here several times and have been very pleased. This time I was a little disappointed at first when we arrived and were told we had to be on the first floor because we booked through a third party. Later that evening when the staff changed I asked why we had to have the first floor and they said that was not the case. They moved us up to the 7th Floor. Thanks Charles and Monique-very professional and pleasant staff to work with.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our first time to Virginia Beach. Our stay was from 9/18/12 - 9/20/12. The staff here was wonderful. I was traveling with my mother and shortly before arriving in VA Beach, she had fallen and was barely able to walk. When we arrived at the hotel I inquired about a wheelchair to get her in the hotel and up to our room. The hotel quickly brought out a wheelchair and told us that we could keep it for the duration of our trip. That wheelchair was a life saver! Even with the wheelchair her activities were very limited, but it enabled her to go down to breakfast and go outside on the boardwalk and the pier.

The hotel is undergoing renovation. The lobby has been renovated and decor is very modern. There is a free coffee and juice bar. Our room was on the 6th floor and there was some construction noise on the floor below us, but the noise stopped at 5:00 pm which I assume was quitting time. The room was beautiful with two queen beds, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron, hairdryer, flat screen tv, wifi, safe and a balcony facing the ocean. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and I loved the bright colors and decor. When the hotel is completely renovated it will be really beautiful. We did not use the pool, or the workout room, but they both looked great. The workout room had a view of the ocean.

The breakfast buffet was great. Many different options to choose from. No one will leave hungry that's for sure. The main restaurant had not been remodeled yet, so the decor was a little dated. We ate at the Greek restaurant downstairs and had gyros, which were really good.

If I ever make it back to Virginia Beach, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

we stayed here and had an awesome visit. the staff at the desk was very pleasant,we even got into our room early..the gentlemen was very helpful..the rooms were very big,lots of room.very clean, beds were awesome and comfortable, pillows were great...we had an awesome view, and very good service for time we were there..the cont. breakfast is absolutely awesome..i would recommend this hotel highly to anyone.....close to everything,quiet....we would love to go again...

Room Tip: we had a corner room no noise excellent view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our stay was 9/9/12-9/14/12. This is the first time I've gone to Va Beach and stayed on the Oceanfront. The Sandcastle is going through renovations, but from what I saw, it will be very mod after they're done. The Lobby is very spacious and offers a free coffee bar. The front desk employees were very helpful and friendly. LeAnn who checked us in was great! We had printed off a coupon for $79.99 a night for use during the off season which started in Sept. We were able to use it Sun-Fri check out. It's not good for the weekend Fri & Sat night. Included in the price was Garage Parking, Wifi and a Breakfast Buffet. We stayed on the 3rd floor, the view was great! Was told that floor 6 down had the best wifi reception, we had no problems. The Breakfast Buffet was great! They have it in the restaurant downstairs from 7am-10am. They offer pancakes, french toast, biscuits & gravy, eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes and many more items. Scot is the manager in the restaurant and is so personable. The room was also very nice. I really liked the decor. It had a working safe, ironing board/ iron, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer and flat screen tv. The beds were comfortable. The shower had shampoo & body wash and there was no problem getting hot water quickly. House keeping also folded the towels in a really cool way, something you would see on a cruise ship. The sink is outside the toilet/shower so everytime you use the bathroom you have to open the door to wash your hands. I both like and dislike the concept. They have a pool and a little gym, we didn't use either of them, but they looked ok to me. There are shops and restaurants all in walking distance (less than 1/2 mile). We rarely drove anywhere. The Aquarium is about 2 miles away. The boardwalk and pier are right outside. There is also a bike path and you can rent family bicycles from the shop downstairs. Overall we had a great experience and will stay here again! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here September 15th for a weekend getaway, it was our second time staying at this hotel. We were pleased with the price, location, the quick check-in/check-out, and cleanliness of this hotel. The room is on the small side but enough room for a small family. The room has a fridge, microwave, coffee maker; also iron/board and hair dryer. In addition, there is shampoo and body wash in the bathroom; the beds were comfortable. The view was nice, close to the pier and other activities. The hotel has an indoor pool, but we didn't use it. The complimentary breakfast buffet was very good, there was a large selection of breakfast items including fruit, the only thing is to get there early to avoid the crowd. The elevator is a little slow, but we used the stairs most of our stay just for some exercise. The hotel is under renovation, but it didn't affect our stay. Overall, it was a wonderful stay for us...no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.