We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ocean view and service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23541 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
“Great ocean view and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a pleasant stay. The staff were courteous. The service in overall was great. Most of the businesses and attractions were within a walking distance. The hotel even let us park for free after we checked out and went to the beach. Very economical stay!

Room Tip: Hint: The pool was located on the 5th floor and the odor of chlorine was strong on the hallway. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate the comments about our staff and service. I am glad we were able to accommodate your parking request. I hope you come to visit again if in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    140
    41
    18
    20
See reviews for
157
109
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a great time staying at surf side! Loved going right out to the beach from the hotel. The rooms were very clean and maids were great! Surely was not disappointed by the upkeep that was done while we were out. The front desk staff was very helpful with the exception of one female whose name was unusual, and didn't seem very experienced. She was not very helpful and was a tad rude.That issue was resolved by another gentleman behind the desk. It was still a great experience for the family and had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that your issue at the front desk was resolved. I am happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit when in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The employees there were amazing, all very friendly especially Devin, Derek, and Giovanni at the front desk, they were all very helpful and so kind, and Jordan was very helpful and kind at breakfast in the mornings, it was sad we had to leave, but we made sure we said goodbye to them all right before we left. The service was great! The view from the rooms was beautiful. The great thing about the location was that everyone was always out, and there's always stuff going on and plenty of places to walk around and shop! I would definitely come back next year!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your appreciation of our excellent service and wonderful staff. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We came in 3 day earlier before our rental house was ready and booked 2 rooms. We arrived in a box van that did not fit in any parking space allowed for large vehicles, but a short walk the next block was ample parking provided by the hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and the helpful. The maids were exceptional in providing extra towels and other necessary items. Only drawback was the slow elevators. Fortunately we were on the 3rd floor near the exit and only had to use the stairs instead of waiting. All in all, great location and clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I am pleased to hear that you found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating. Your satisfaction is very important to us and your constructive comments regarding the elevator speed will be used to help us continue to work on improvement in this area. Thank you for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda MD
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

When you first drive up to this place, and enter the lobby and the hallways you will be thinking that is is a typical overpriced, bad beach hotel. But once you open the door you will be pleasantly surprised. The rooms are all redone and are very nice inside. The staff is friendly as well and the location is great. The place was always clean as well. I only saw a few downsides that prevent this place from receiving an excellent review. The first and worst is the elevators. They are VERY slow and it is a huge hassle. When it would get there it would be full. I am fine to walk 7 floor but not without my luggage. The hallways are not air conditioned and it is brutally hot, particularly when you are waiting 20 minutes for the elevator and I wish there were an outside pool. The breakfast was great and free. There is a store int he bottom of the hotel if you need beach supplies too. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We value the opinion of our guest and we apologize that you had a problem with the elevators during your stay. I apologize that the hallways are not air conditioned and your feedback will help us improve our property. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our hotel with our guest and hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST VIRGINIA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here 6 nights 7/13 to 7/19. The staff at this hotel are the most friendly and hospitable people I have had the pleasure of meeting. We were we ever not greeted with a friendly word or hello by any of the staff either in the lobby, elevator, breakfast room, or room floor. The staff here work hard to keep this older hotel clean and in working order. Today our last day 7/19 there was a power outage that effected this hotel and a few others in the area around 3am when most people awoke they found the staff at this hotel occupying all of the floors or stairwells flashlights in hand offering assistance with bags down the stairs since the elevators were out or help explaining what was going on and where we were to go to get our continental breakfast since it could not be done at the hotel. To our surprise they made arrangements with a neighboring property for a full breakfast which was far more than we would have received at our hotel. While I did have the unfortunate opportunity during the power crisis to witness some grumpy people being rude to the staff the staff stood strong explaining the situation with the utmost professionalism ever. Kudos to them! With that said this hotel is older but impeccably clean, in a great location, and a good value for the money. We would definitely recommend this hotel as well as stay here in the future.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevators as people tend to be quite loud while waiting on them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about us at the Surfside Oceanfront Inn and Suites. We are very fortunate to have such exceptional staff. It was our pleasure to accommodate you while we experienced the power outage as our concerns are for the guest in the hotel. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Excellent customer service all around! Great location, reasonable price. My only complaint would be the pool area. It was so muggy due to the unnecessary heat lamps. It's really nasty. Even 90+ degree temps outside felt way cooler than the pool room, but we were there for the beach anyways. Overall it was great though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments and the feedback on the pool area. After receiving your comment, exhaust fans have been installed. We strive to achieve the “Best Customer Service” to our guest. We appreciate you recommending our hotel and hope to see you again when in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites

Address: 1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23541
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Oceanfront Inn And Suites
Surfside Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.