We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23541 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
BOSTON, MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had a great time here. The staff is very friendly, i wish all hotels had front desk staff like this. Everything seemed clean to me. The breakfast was decent - waffles, bagels, cream cheese, cereals, bread, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee. I had a room on the 2nd floor, so I didn't have to use the elevators. The rooms are very quiet, I had a family with 3 kids staying next to me and I never heard a peep. I loved that the balconies have solid walls between them, so that you have total privacy. The balconies are a good size also, with 2 chairs and a table and you don't hear any A/C noise. The A/C control was on the wall, I couldn't find it at first, it just had a low or high control, but it kept my room cool. The beds were very comfortable as were the pillows. Internet access was wonderful, I could even pick it up on the boardwalk, there is no computer terminal for guests to use. The location is good, not too quiet, not too busy. A great restaurant/bar is the Calypso, a very short walk (2 buildings down?). There is a fridge and microwave in the room also. The ice machines are on the 6 -8th floor, I wish there was one on the 1st or 3rd. My room was ready when upon arrival around 1:30. I had problems often with the room key card, you have to slide it through slowly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    156
    45
    19
    21
See reviews for
166
124
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel staff is very friendly, kind and helpful. The parking deck has a lot of parking and was very clean. We had a 2 room suit/king, everything was very clean, it was very spacious and exceeded our expectations. The elevators are super fast. The breakfast was perfect. The pool area was also very clean, plenty of chairs, towels. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites.

Room Tip: The entire hotel was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great place to stay for the price. The rooms are very nice and the staff are amazing! We booked rooms with friends of ours and asked to be close to each other and we were one floor away from them! Made it very easy to communicate with our friends. We enjoyed the view from our balcony and the service was great! We didn't want to have our room cleaned but if we needed anything all we needed was to ask the cleaning staff in the hall!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent 4 nights during memorial day weekend. The staff were very nice. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hallways are a little rundown looking. The view of the ocean was beautiful. The hotel is located away from the center of the boardwalk so it was relatively quiet.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put near the pool unless you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

During our stay at Oceanfront Inn and Suites, the staff proved to be very helpful in making our vacation comfortable. There was a group of us (family and friends), who had rented a suite and 3 other rooms and wanted to be on the same floor. The hotel staff made it possible for all of us to have rooms on the same floor. During our stay, the A/C unit broke in our suite. The management and maintenance went above and beyond to get the unit fixed and they generously adjusted our nightly cost, due to the inconvenience. If you want a nice oceanfront suite, super friendly staff and free continental breakfast , you might want to choose to stay here. Otherwise, you can choose to stay at one of the higher, upper class hotels who charge a weeks salary (for the average person), for a one night stay. Surfside Oceanfront Inn and Suites has proven to be a nice, affordable place to stay. All staff (front desk, housekeeping, maintenance, and management), were great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I recently spent one night at the Surfside. My friends were booked at a much more expensive hotel nearby, but when I was able to see the rooms, their expensive one was not any nicer than mine at the Surfside. Check-in was great, even fun, the people working there were very good and helpful. My room was clean, modern and had a good view of the ocean. I will definitely keep this hotel in mind for next time we are in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel and the rooms are dirty. I had to call to request my room be cleaned as no one had come to do so for two days. When it was finally cleaned, the overflowing trash was left behind.
On my last morning, the cleaning person entered the room which had do not disturb signon the door without knocking.

When i checked in, I combined a 1 night stay reservation with previous reservation of 3 night stay for same room. I was called on the first morning to ask why I hadnt checked out. My day was disturbed as I had to wait for new key and parking pass to be delivered.

The "fitness center" consisted of 5 pieces of equipment, three of which were broken. This enclosed room had no AC. AC and toilet in my room fuinctioned sporadically.

There are so many choices in Virginia Beach. In fact, there are more reasonable choices that are far superior.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites

Address: 1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Oceanfront Inn And Suites
Surfside Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.