We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEEDS UPDATED AIR CONDITIONING!!!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23541 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“NEEDS UPDATED AIR CONDITIONING!!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel seems to have no air conditioning in the hallways and the rooms on the upper floors get extremely hot and humid. (and we stayed in APRIL)The picture with this review shows an example of how they solved the problem. (notice the cord to the box fan is hanging in the sink area, that is a safety issue) We have been return customer for years but this year(2013)ends that. The ocean view is nice if you can stand the heat and the staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are hot and humid. Lower levels would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    138
    38
    18
    20
See reviews for
154
106
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, WV
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our second time staying at Surfside this year. The staff are very friendly. The room was clean and provided a fridge and microwave. Our room was on the 8th floor and provided a gorgeous view, the pier is within walking distance. Indoor pool is heated. Breakfast includes a waffle maker & toppings of strawberries in strawberry syrup were provided in addition to waffle syrup. Fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, etc. were all provided. There is a complimentary juice and coffee bar in the lobby, available 24hrs which was great! I would recomend this hotel!

Room Tip: 8th floor had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff at this hotel was extremely friendly and greeted us pleasantly everytime we met one whether it be at check-in, breakfast, or in the hall. Kudos to the staff! This is a somewhat older hotel but with some upgrading having been done - fresh paint, upgraded bed linens, good furniture. There were 2 things that made the hotel feel "older" - the carpeting and the heater. I was disappointed that there was no A/C. We were there in early April and while the weekend was unseasonably cold, being in a closed room, we really needed a little cool air to sleep well at night. The only way to get it was to prop open the heavy door with a chair. I'm not sure if the heater converts to cool in the warmer months. The kids loved the indoor pool (since it was such a cold weekend) but I found the area needed some maintenance (windowsills were goopy). All in all, as far as beach hotels go, this was a clean hotel but needs some more upgrades. Would suggest some protein offered at breakfast. Decent price, though, and excellent staff.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor during "wrestler" weekend. It was a bit loud but bearable. I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our family decided to visit VA Beach for spring break this year. I have two children 14 & 7. We drove three hours late at night and it was so nice to see someone so pleasant at the front desk. I love it when people enjoy their job and that energy rubs off onto the guests. Everytime we left our room and we saw a member of the staff, they would always speak and tell us to enjoy our day. How often does this happen anymore? Each day we left the hotel the front desk person would always speek. The entire hotel and rooms were very clean and that is important to me with my OCD. Our family will be staying here every visit to VA Beach from this point on. Thanks Surfside staff for being so GREAT!!!

Room Tip: Everyroom has a great view! You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Vincent, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great location, very nice to have all oceanfront rooms with balconies. The staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating to our large group. The rooms were clean with updated furniture and carpets which made it much more comfortable even though the hotel itself is older.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Loved the room. It was very clean!! The location is awesome close and convenient to some great resturants and bars. I loved the private balcony and the beautiful ocean view!! The price was a great deal! The staff was very friendly and helpful and always had a smile on their face. I only wish they were pet friendly.... I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, PA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Recently spent 3 day weekend in Virginia Beach for sports competition. Hotel was very accomodating to our large group. Staff extremely helpful. Facility updated and clean. Free continential breakfast was adequate but could use some healthier choices. All room beach front with easy beach access. Centrally located to shops, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites

Address: 1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23541
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Oceanfront Inn And Suites
Surfside Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.