We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service & Accomdations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23541 (Northeast Virginia Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
leonardtown
1 review
“Customer service & Accomdations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Kay Parker and her staff are highly recommended, customer service was outstanding second to none) Hospitality room was perfect and the staff were always helpful. I would highly recommend the Surfside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel. I will let the staff know how much their excellent customer service skills were appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the hotel met your expectations. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    139
    41
    18
    20
See reviews for
157
108
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I made reservations and had to cancel. There was a young guy who was very rude and threatened to make charges to my credit card because he stated that I did not cancel my reservation and that he was going to charge the first full night to my card. I tried to explain that I did in fact cancel and had two confirmation emails to prove it. He kept speaking over me and then refused to give me the managers name to contact. After being adamant that I wanted to know who the manager was to contact I finally got a name and called her the very next day and she informed me of the computer glitch and resolved the situation nicely. Whomever this young guy is needs to be terminated for making threats with a customers credit card. Very unprofessional!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I sincerely apologize that you were treated rudely by one of our staff members. We will have a meeting with the front desk staff regarding this situation. I am glad that a manager was able to correct the situation to your satisfaction. Hopefully, you will return to our hotel when traveling to Virginia Beach. We have always been noticed for our excellent customer service skills. Once again, I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Surfside. Room was nice, little on the small side, but clean. The AC unit in 703 wasn't the coolest. I'd hate to be in there in August. Nice balcony and great view of the ocean. Indoor pool was ok, could use a whirlpool though. Breakfast was standard motel fare. Couldn't beat the price and the staff was friendly. We would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay with us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our property. I will let the staff know that their friendliness was noticed by our guest. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at the Surfside Inn during the Neptune Festival. The location on the boardwalk was awesome. The room was rather plain, but comfortable. It is not the fanciest place on the beach, but I do feel it was a good value for the money. The staff was excellent and everyone we dealt with were extremely friendly. The breakfast was nothing fancy, but was sufficient to get the day started. I am definitely planning to use them again if I return to VA Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay. I will let the staff know that are being complimented on their excellent customer service skills. We look forward to your return if visiting Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintersville, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We reserved three rooms for one night on our way to the Outer Banks. I had found a coupon online for a substantial savings, but it said for walk-in only. Before making the reservations, I called Surfside and asked for the correct way to do it so as to be able to take advantage of the coupon rate. I was told to go ahead and make the reservations online, then to present the coupon when checking in and the rate would be applied then. When we did arrive, we were greeted by a smart mouth young guy who informed us that we were absolutely not going to get to use our coupons. What every happened to the customer is always right? Apparently they don't use that motto at the Surfside. This guy was extremely rude and would not listen to a word we said. I was promised the manager would call when she returned to work the next Tuesday; didn't happen. Other staff members besides that desk clerk were quite nice and friendly, though. As for the room, it was very clean, but do not go by the pictures on Surfside's website; couldn't be farther from the truth. The hallways are dingy with stained carpets, bad lighting and no air conditioning. Ice machines are inconveniently located only on the 6th and 7th floors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel. I apologize that you were not greeted with a warm welcome because our staff is always complimented on their friendly personality. As far as the coupon, it is a promotional discount on a walk-in basis only and I do apologize that you were misinformed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were looking for an affordable mini-vaca at the beach and the Surfside accommodated beautifully. Location is really nice, just south of the fishing pier so maybe a little less crowded than some other areas. Also nice to have a boardwalk right down to the beach. Have to agree that the staff totally rocks - here's looking at YOU, Erin! Unusual that the balcony access is a door, not sliders, and the windows don't open. We just propped open the door for our requisite waves-crashing sleep experience. Great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fabulous time while in the hotel and the south end of the beach. Also, glad you experienced the soothing sounds of the waves. I will be sure to let the staff know they "rock". Looking forward to your visit next time you are in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were a little cautious at first because of the low price, but this is one of the best places that we have ever stayed at in Virginia Beach! I personally think the best part was the nice staff. Every time I would pass or see a staff member, they would ALWAYS greet me, saying "Good morning" or "Hello, how are you?" I really can't think of anything to complain about! I will definitely be staying with Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites again!

Room Tip: The parking garage for this hotel seemed a little low, but I did see a couple SUV's parked. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay P, Director of Sales at Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the hotel met your expectations. I will let the hotel staff know how welcome they made you feel while in our hotel. We strive to achieve the “Best Customer Service” to our guest.
We look forward to your return visit while in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites

Address: 1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23541
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Oceanfront Inn And Suites
Surfside Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.