We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fairly Good Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn

Save Saved
You added Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1705 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Fairly Good Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

When we first got there we didn't realize that the front desk was tiny. That didn't matter though. We got to stay on the 11th floor. It was a great view. In the room there was a room that had two double beds in it and a tv and dresser. Then there was a bathroom with the jacuzzi bath in it. The bath tub was nice. It wasn't old or gross like others was. The kitchenette contains a microwave, a sink, the provide plates and cups and silverware. Although we didn't use it. Then in the living room there is a desk, a pull out sofa and a tv dresser combo. Service was good. We really didn't need anything that they had to bring to us and the cleaner person came every day. The people that worked there always say hello and welcome you. The pool is kind of small but the ocean is about 40 steps away. All the shops around are very packed but they have some good stuff and if you go try the hawiian shaved ice. Thanks

  • Liked — It was right next to the beach
  • Disliked — the pool size
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you ask for a room on or above the eigth floor if possible. better view
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    55
    31
    44
    58
See reviews for
101
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

My husband and i got married on the 10th of September last year and we were going to the Dolphin Inn for our honeymoon. According to what we saw in the brochure and online, it seemed like it would be a romantic honeymoon. We drove almost 10hrs coming from up north to arrive at an absolute dump! first of all the brochure said it was an inn but when you arrive there the name said Dolphin Inn Motel. I don't know why they left off the motel part because there is no way i would stay at a motel especially for my honeymoon! Immediately entering the room we were disappointed. It's ok for a quick getway but not for a couple going on a honeymoon. The room was ok but not the best. The hot tub wasn't impressive either. What really turned me off was the kinds off people staying at this motel. After driving 10hrs and just being married we checked out the next day to drive another 10hours back up north. We ended up at Atlantic City in NJ and spending the remainder of our honeymoon at the Holiday Inn which was nice. Very misleading!!

  • Liked — The veiw of the beach.
  • Disliked — the kind of patrons stsying there, and the quality of the room was below average.
  • Tips/Secrets — The should be a last absolute last choice if you can't find better lodging.
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2006

my wife and i and kids wanted to have a nice vacation before the mad rush of summer which turned into the nightmare from >>>> First of all our room was not ready "which we booked months ahead" they stuck us in a smoking room which smelled like a cigar factory our son has asthma which set it off.then our toilet keep leaking on the poor people below us the tried to fix it 2 times which left us without ours on 2 seperate days "nothing like using the beach porta -john. you think they would move us or give us a refund so if you book a room on the 5th floor watch out bring you rain gear

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

I just got back from the dolphin inn... It would be better if I list the good and bad
Lets start with Good
1) Oceanfront view
2) Nice people that work there
3) request a room with internet got the top floor of the hotel - 11th and got to feed the seagulls out on the balcony
4) Parking was fine; they did maintenance on the parking deck and would call and tell me to move my car from one deck to the other deck about twice a day - but she let us check out late because of it
5) Right in the middle of the strip, lots of stores and people around
6) At night the hotel is pretty with the lights shinning on the hotel

OK the BAD
1) This is the first time that a suite room, I didn't use as a suite. I went to the beach to hear the ocean all night, to see the ocean and enjoy it. The small rooms where you would sleep is in the back you have no ocean view and it is kind of cold and lonely back there.. -- the way to fix this is we dragged the mattress from the back and put it by the sliding door/window in the front to see the ocean, slept like that for the next 3 nights.—It wasn’t too bad the carpet was fairly new
The pull out couch is a joke and it hurts pretty bad and it is not straight tried that the first night and felt like I was falling all night :o(
2) It was an old motel. Kill that mess about Jacuzzi in the room no one in their right mind would take a bath in that tub, it also functions as your shower. It also had frosted glass in the bathroom and on the other side was the living room (crazy).. I have a Jacuzzi tub in my home and my shower is separate, the way it should be
3) Motel is old, we were in a remodeled room but you can tell it is old.
4) This hotel has NO lobby and I mean NO lobby that struck me as weird.
5) Not a real kitchen just a small refrigerator and a microwave
6) I was mad the first night I had a choice between dolphin inn, ramada, and clarion and my stupid tail choose the dolphin.. I couldn't sleep the first night feeling like i made a big mistake

By the end I adjusted to all the bad things and just got comfortable by night two I was better. I wouldn't stay again.. I think I will try the Ramada next... or maybe the Hilton!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

I have been going to Virginia Beach my whole life so I have been to many of the local hotels. The Dolphin suited my group of 6 just fine. This group did include small children. The rooms were nice and clean and the beds and pillows were very soft and comfortable. I thought they would have a stove but they only had a microwave. The parking is horrible but I just didn't drive a lot. The staff was very nice and fixed our problems very quickly. Our toilet kept getting clogged but I didn't know if that was caused by one of our little ones. Great view, Great location and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

Off season, not a bad value, for beachfront access... But... parking is horrible! Leave the minivan or SUV at home, parking is tight! Beds are very comfortable and the living area of the suite is huge, but in need of more & better seating. The rooftop pool really sucks! Way too much cholrine, very small(12 max). but hey, it's the beach, it's spring and the air temps are in the 70's.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2006

Like some of the other posters, we were initially a little disappointed - the hotel looks a little "worn" (and our room was not one of those renovated yet). However, we quickly discovered that this is really quite a jewel of a place.
The staff were VERY nice and helpful - called to check on us, brought requested items quickly, etc.
The rooms are spacious and well-designed.
We discovered that we needed a cot and one was delivered very quickly.
Be aware that this is NOT a luxury hotel. On the other hand, it had everything that a luxury hotel would have (just not as flash or fancy). The price can't be beat.
Definitely worth the price - convenient, clean, and courteous.
We'll go back for our summer week this year.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: 1705 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Comfort Right on the Beach! This Virginia Beach, boutique hotel offers you and your family uncomplicated and uncompromised comfort and warm hospitality at a truly great value. Located at the very heart of the 3-mile long boardwalk, this all suite, all oceanfront property provides space and amenities at an unbeatable location. The Dolphin Inn is the perfect place to experience your special Virginia Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Virginia Beach
Dolphin Virginia Beach
Dolphin Inn Virginia Beach Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.