We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Dolphin Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1705 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
PHL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spent 3 nights here. Right in the middle of the Boardwalk. Nice little suites, double jacuzzi in bath. Small covered pool on the roof. Easy walk to everything. Staff was very friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    58
    36
    48
    67
See reviews for
112
39
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We've vacationed in Virginia Beach every year for the last 18 years. This is the first time we stayed at the Dolphin Inn, but it certainly won't be our last! Let me start with the staff....everyone has been so helpful and cheerful. The front desk, housekeeping, and maintenance are very pleasant, and go the extra mile to make your stay the best! And the room is very comfortable and clean. If you're looking for luxury accomodations, then by all means, go to the HIlton! But, if you want a relaxing, enjoyable stay at a great price, then the Dolphin Inn should be at the top of your list. We love it here, and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We return to Virginia Beach every October and stay at the Dolphin Inn. It is a good deal for the price. We have the suite with a bedroom, Fridge - Microwave - sink - and dishes. All the rooms look over the ocean with a balcony. Ask for a higher floor so you can see over the lights on the boardwalk. The hotel is just about in the heart of everything. We look forward to our trip every year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The sofas are dirty, have torn worn places on them, our bathroom was ok except for peeling paint on the door, our bedroom ceiling had a huge black mold/dirt on it the hallways had filthy carpet, there is trash all around the exit door to the beach, dirty socks, liquor bottles, the overall impression is very disgusting. Went for a soccer tourney...wil never ever return. Gross!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, VA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before it's been a few years but we were excited to go back. It was a lot like we remembered there are some cosmetic things but it looked like previous guest had a party of something we did not expect the hotel to buy all new furniture though. Our room was clean and that is the most important thing to us. We have stayed in pretty much all the hotels between 9-16 streets minus the boardwalk of course and this is a nice properly. The pool is small we did forget that part but the kids still had fun. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Dolphin Hotel again this year for my sister's birthday. We requested a corner room which has a front and back balcony. This gives you the luxury of looking at the water or the main street. The staff were very friendly as usual but we were unable to use the front balcony as much as we wanted due to other guest standing and sitting in the walkway to smoke or watch the parade. We found this very disruptive. We were told upon our departure that if we had call the front desk they would have taken care of this problem. We would most differently stay here again. The room was clean and comfortable

Room Tip: corner rooms are sunny with two balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: 1705 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Comfort Right on the Beach! This Virginia Beach, boutique hotel offers you and your family uncomplicated and uncompromised comfort and warm hospitality at a truly great value. Located at the very heart of the 3-mile long boardwalk, this all suite, all oceanfront property provides space and amenities at an unbeatable location. The Dolphin Inn is the perfect place to experience your special Virginia Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Virginia Beach
Dolphin Virginia Beach
Dolphin Inn Virginia Beach Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.