We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay at the Ocean Key Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Key Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Terre Haute, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a great stay at the Ocean Key Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice facility, great location - close to the ocean and great restaurants. The room was very comfortable and everything we needed was close by. We really enjoyed the upper floor and partial ocean view.

Room Tip: Suggest an upper floor. We stayed on the 8th and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Ocean Key Resort. I appreciate you mentioning our facility, location, and how you enjoyed the comfort of our property. We look forward to your next vacation with VSA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    68
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
136
82
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Thank you MR.Mitchell and staff for another great stay. We always feel safe here! As in the past rooms are clean bathroom large and a very nice equipped kitchen. This location is close to Rudee Inlet, so if you like to fish or water sports or even just unique dining this is the perfect spot!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I appreciate your positive review of the Ocean Key Resort, and thank you vacationing with VSA every year. We appreciate you mentioning our area activities, amenities and our friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My family of 12 went to Virginia Beach over the 4th July week and had a wonderful vacation at the Ocean Keys on 5th Street. The accommodations were great and the staff there is so helpful and friendly and knowledgeable of the area. I had 4 members of my family that are single males and were told what nite spots to go to and which ones to stay away from. Ocean Keys is located on 5th street and Atlantic Avenue one block from the beach so everything is right there for easy access. The rooms are nice and clean, they have laundry facility on site, restaurant, and plenty of parking space. There is alot of activities for children to do as well as tours to Williamsburg, VA. for everyone. The manager Bill Mitchell is a great manager and the staff that he chooses are just as wonderful. Nothing is to small or large for Bill to handle and if he can't someone on his staff can help. If you want to have a great time and a vacation to remember go to Ocean Keys, VA Beach.

Room Tip: This place is located away from the shuffling crowds around 18th and above streets so the evenings a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with VSA Resorts. We are glad you enjoyed our activities, local night spots and we look forward to seeing you and your family again next year. I appreciate you mentioning our wonderful staff at the Ocean Key Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

As a timeshare owner and not at this resort I could elect to stay in many different places. I have elected to keep trading back to this resort for many reasons. Bill Mitchell has a way to keep hiring the right people to make his resort keep getting better. I have read some of the negative reviews on this site, and I will be the first to say they are not correct. This is a beach resort and yes the rooms are smaller than some that are located at my resort Regal Vistas in Massenutten. Yes I own in a top notch Timeshare. From check-in with Joso to activities with Betsy and to the countless others we had a great vacation and part of that is do to each of you. I hate that they are losing Betsy, but I am sure they will find someone almost as good. Betsy is retiring in October.
During this last visit we had a small part of a hurricane come through, and the days prior they were all super busy prepping the resort for our safety.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade fee for an Ocean Front balcony if they have one open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your great comments about your vacation exchanges at the Ocean Key Resort over the past three years. VSA Resorts looks forward to seeing you and your family next year and thank you for your kind words regarding Joso, Betsy and myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had an 8th floor unit with an awesome view of the bay last week of June. Unit is comfortable, staff very attentive, activities for children and adults were incredible. South end of the beach is much more relaxing but very easy to get to the busier end of the beach with the shuttle - just buy a pass for a couple of days or even the whole week.

Morning water zumba was fun. Invite me for wine and cheese in the activities center and I'll be there! Great opportunity to meet other vacationers. My grandson loved the air hockey, couldn't get enough. Weather was great and really enjoyed dinning on the board walk listening to the live bands. Enjoying adults only swim/hot tub was a great close to our busy days, Hated to have my vacation end but I will be back, if not this summer off season is great in VA Beach also.

Room Tip: Get the balcony. Also a shuttle bus pass and park your car and leave it parked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your vacation at the Ocean Key Resort and that you took advantage of our great activities and amenities. We look forward to you and your family’s return to VSA Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family and I stayed here from 6/13 to 6/20/14 for a vacation from rainy western PA. I had stayed there about five years ago. Wow what a great improvement! The staff were all friendly, cheerful and helpful. The manager was available and friendly. Our two bedroom unit was we equipped, clean and allowed us to cook in comfortably.
I like the less crowded southern end of the beach, which was handy to shops if you needed anything. The weather was beautiful all week and the indoor pool was great for the kids. I liked that they had times set aside for adult use, only.
The activity program offered a nice variety , as well.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with VSA Resorts. I look forward to seeing you and your family again soon; we appreciate your mentioning our friendly, cheerful and helpful team at the Ocean Key Resort. I’m glad you enjoyed our variety of activities and adult swim times selected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I've owned at Ocean Key Time Share since the early 1990's. We bought because it was a great place for our children. They loved the beach, the boardwalk and all the attractions that we could go to in town and in the area. Of course, we traded in RCI for other places, but we loved to come back to Ocean Key. I love my ocean facing balcony and the king sized bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. My children are grown so it's a great place to bring other friends and family to now and we all have a great time. This indoor pool and whirlpool are just right for my aging bones. Come and enjoy your vacation here.

Room Tip: Choose a unit with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation and timeshare ownership experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your vacations with VSA Resorts and RCI for so many years,we appreciate your ownership!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.