We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Key Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

A big thanks to everyone at Ocean Key for a great vacation. We had a wonderful relaxing vacation. Everyone there made sure we had everything we needed no matter how great or small the request. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of the Ocean Key Resort in Virginia Beach! We are glad you had a wonderful time and look forward to your next vacation with VSA Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    67
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
134
82
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Browns Mills, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I just wanted to take a few minutes to express my gratitude for such a nice, relaxing vacation. We generally take our vacation somewhere warm to escape the cold temperatures of New Jersey during the winter months. After trying feverish to reserve Florida Keys for over six months, and much confusion with telephones calls and misguided information, we were given Virginia Beach as our only choice for our holiday. It was just as cold as it was in New Jersey...
However we decided to make the most of our vacation with scheduling tourist attractions regardless of the below 30 degree temperatures. We were very pleased that there was so much to do in such a close proximity of our hotel. After a day in cold weather it was amazing to come back to our suite, cook a nice dinner (with all kitchen supplies available to us) and then head down to the heated pool and hot tub. Extremely relaxing!
We were so happy with all of the conveniences of our room, from dinnerware to appliances in the kitchen to the tvs/ dvr, blow dryers, and some, it was without a doubt, 'like home'.
Each day we had opportunities to have fun WITHIN the hotel. We took advantage of the caricatures (LOVED!) and had fun in the game room playing air hockey. Also, the wine and cheese party was simply wonderful. Ms Betsy was not only friendly, but charismatic! She made us feel welcomed and answered all the questions that we had about the hotel and the area. When she found out about our troubles with reserving our original desired destination she went and retrieve the manager Mr. Bill Mitchell. He sat and spoke to us and was very informative. Very personable as well. Bob was another helpful guide to us, helping us obtain tickets to the aquarium and IMAX theater. Rounding up the pleasantness of the staff at Ocean Key, I would just like to add that not once did we enter the building or pass by the front desk that we did not receive a warm and welcoming greeting.
Would I go there on another vacation? Absolutely! And I look forward to it as well =)
Thank you for a surprisingly wondrous vacation!

Room Tip: Our suite was located right next to the laundry room, ice machine and vending machines. GREAT conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with VSA Resorts. I look forward to seeing you and your family again soon; the entire team at the Ocean Key Resort appreciates your mentioning Betsy, Bob and myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Do not waste your time or money on Ocean Key. The rooms are dark and depressing, with only one tiny window for three rooms. The small balcony overlooked the highway, making it too noisy to open the only source of light or fresh air. We actually took one look at the room and left-- it was not a place we wanted to spend 20 minutes in, let alone an entire long-weekend. I wouldn't want anyone else to make the same mistake we did.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
I apologize that we didn’t meet your expectations; I wish we would have received an opportunity to provide you with other options. Please know that we value your business and hope you reconsider staying next time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a one bedroom with a mini kitchen, which was fine for two. It was well stocked with toiletries, dish soap,salt and pepper, and good coffee--very unusual for a time share. The location was good--one block from the ocean and the Boardwalk. An Italian restaurant is on the main floor with excellent pizza. The pool was nice, small but adequate for short laps; but the hot tub was excellent--big and actually hot. They don't clean while you're there; but clean linens are available for exchange whenever you want. The bed was great but I didn't like the 'fat' pillows as they hurt my neck; but some of you probably would love that. Our unit had been renovated, and the grout was still stuck on the floor. It made the place seem dirty but it wasn't. The only other thing I didn't like was the one tiny window in the place. Made it seem dark. There are some great restaurants in walking distance that have daily specials. We especially liked Rockefeller's in Rudee Inlet, and Maui Maus, just 2 blocks away. I have never been in a place that had such friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your Virginia Beach vacation experience with the Ocean Key Resort. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future and appreciate your choosing VSA Resorts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The unit is large with sofa, armchairs and footstools. The kitchen area is small but has all the necessary equipment for cooking up breakfast and lunch. The king size bed is very comfortable and the bedroom has lots of closet and drawer space. The beach is across the street and, if you get a unit on an upper floor, you can watch the dolphins frolicking in the ocean from your balcony.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your vacation with us and mentioned our beautiful Resort amenities and friendly staff. I thank you again for choosing VSA Resorts and we look forward to your family’s return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This resort is in a great location, just across the street from the beach and only minutes to the interstate. The 2 bedroom suite was very large with a great layout. The staff was very helpful and there is a restaurant on site. Great indoor pool. I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our amenities, location, restaurant, and our staff. We would personally like to thank you and we look forward to your return visit at the Ocean Key Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a great resort! for short or long vacations! The suites are excellent, very clean and well equipped. You have everything you need. The beach is just across the street and you can walk everywhere!
The pool/Jacuzzi area is nice and they even have inflatable toys for the kids. They offer a lot of activities you can join as well!
This will be our yearly vacation! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of the Ocean Key Resort in Virginia Beach! I appreciate your mentioning our on-site activities and our well-equipped vacation suites. We look forward to your yearly vacation with VSA Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.