We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Key Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best staff ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a one bedroom with a mini kitchen, which was fine for two. It was well stocked with toiletries, dish soap,salt and pepper, and good coffee--very unusual for a time share. The location was good--one block from the ocean and the Boardwalk. An Italian restaurant is on the main floor with excellent pizza. The pool was nice, small but adequate for short laps; but the hot tub was excellent--big and actually hot. They don't clean while you're there; but clean linens are available for exchange whenever you want. The bed was great but I didn't like the 'fat' pillows as they hurt my neck; but some of you probably would love that. Our unit had been renovated, and the grout was still stuck on the floor. It made the place seem dirty but it wasn't. The only other thing I didn't like was the one tiny window in the place. Made it seem dark. There are some great restaurants in walking distance that have daily specials. We especially liked Rockefeller's in Rudee Inlet, and Maui Maus, just 2 blocks away. I have never been in a place that had such friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your Virginia Beach vacation experience with the Ocean Key Resort. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future and appreciate your choosing VSA Resorts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    70
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
138
87
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The unit is large with sofa, armchairs and footstools. The kitchen area is small but has all the necessary equipment for cooking up breakfast and lunch. The king size bed is very comfortable and the bedroom has lots of closet and drawer space. The beach is across the street and, if you get a unit on an upper floor, you can watch the dolphins frolicking in the ocean from your balcony.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your vacation with us and mentioned our beautiful Resort amenities and friendly staff. I thank you again for choosing VSA Resorts and we look forward to your family’s return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This resort is in a great location, just across the street from the beach and only minutes to the interstate. The 2 bedroom suite was very large with a great layout. The staff was very helpful and there is a restaurant on site. Great indoor pool. I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our amenities, location, restaurant, and our staff. We would personally like to thank you and we look forward to your return visit at the Ocean Key Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a great resort! for short or long vacations! The suites are excellent, very clean and well equipped. You have everything you need. The beach is just across the street and you can walk everywhere!
The pool/Jacuzzi area is nice and they even have inflatable toys for the kids. They offer a lot of activities you can join as well!
This will be our yearly vacation! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of the Ocean Key Resort in Virginia Beach! I appreciate your mentioning our on-site activities and our well-equipped vacation suites. We look forward to your yearly vacation with VSA Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here as a RCI member for the first time. The unit was very clean with a partial kitchen which served the purpose if you wanted to fix a quick meal. One sleep sofa and four chairs plus a small dining table to use. Small indoor pool but the beach is right across the street. It was adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on the higher floors, where you can have the view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The resort offers an exceptional location along the oceanfront. The staff's service was phenomenal. I plan to visit again in the early spring or late fall.
It is one block from the ocean. It is along the public transportation route if one would like to venture out for inexpensive site seeing option. The suite's furnishing were comfortable. The activities were interesting. I enjoyed my stay immensely.

Room Tip: You can ask for a pure room if you suffer with allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our phenomenal team and location! We truly have the best team in Virginia Beach at the Ocean Key Resort and glad you enjoyed the activities and our comfortable suites. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was our fourth time staying at Ocean Key - originally chosen because it is close to family we have in Virginia Beach, but have gone back because of the service, cleanliness and amenities they have to offer. Location is prime. The activities/fitness area is great for all ages, clean and welcoming. The daily activities are perfect and Ms. Betsy and the crew that work there are excellent. The pool and jacuzzi area is spotless - always fresh towels available. Thoroughly enjoyed the manager's wine and cheese tasting - with no timeshare pressure that I've seen in other resorts. We have only stayed in the one bedrooms which - although are very nice - are small for more than two or three. This was the first time that we did not have a balcony room - will request one next time.

We did have trouble with our shower the first night we checked in - I walked down to the front desk to let them know and within minutes someone was there to fix the problem.

My only complaint would have been that it was too hot in the building. Highly recommend Ocean Key and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our amenities, cleanliness, activities, and maintenance team. Betsy and team would personally like to thank you and we look forward to your return visit at the Ocean Key Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.