We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Key Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Small but cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here as a RCI member for the first time. The unit was very clean with a partial kitchen which served the purpose if you wanted to fix a quick meal. One sleep sofa and four chairs plus a small dining table to use. Small indoor pool but the beach is right across the street. It was adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on the higher floors, where you can have the view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    64
    24
    4
    8
See reviews for
126
76
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baker, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The resort offers an exceptional location along the oceanfront. The staff's service was phenomenal. I plan to visit again in the early spring or late fall.
It is one block from the ocean. It is along the public transportation route if one would like to venture out for inexpensive site seeing option. The suite's furnishing were comfortable. The activities were interesting. I enjoyed my stay immensely.

Room Tip: You can ask for a pure room if you suffer with allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our phenomenal team and location! We truly have the best team in Virginia Beach at the Ocean Key Resort and glad you enjoyed the activities and our comfortable suites. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was our fourth time staying at Ocean Key - originally chosen because it is close to family we have in Virginia Beach, but have gone back because of the service, cleanliness and amenities they have to offer. Location is prime. The activities/fitness area is great for all ages, clean and welcoming. The daily activities are perfect and Ms. Betsy and the crew that work there are excellent. The pool and jacuzzi area is spotless - always fresh towels available. Thoroughly enjoyed the manager's wine and cheese tasting - with no timeshare pressure that I've seen in other resorts. We have only stayed in the one bedrooms which - although are very nice - are small for more than two or three. This was the first time that we did not have a balcony room - will request one next time.

We did have trouble with our shower the first night we checked in - I walked down to the front desk to let them know and within minutes someone was there to fix the problem.

My only complaint would have been that it was too hot in the building. Highly recommend Ocean Key and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our amenities, cleanliness, activities, and maintenance team. Betsy and team would personally like to thank you and we look forward to your return visit at the Ocean Key Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We are in town to visit family and stayed here as a timeshare. Place is clean. Nice size two bedrooms with 1 queen and 2 doubles. Partial kitchen. Living area is small for a family. One couch and two chairs plus dining table to use. Great activity area for kids and adults. Smaller indoor pool. A block from the beach. My only critique is while everything is spotless, the room furniture and carpets are very dated.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your family’s next vacation in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have been an owner at Ocean Key for 15 years and there seems to be a problem every year; This year would be no different. What I did appreciate this year was the staff taking ownership of the error and correcting the problem in reasonable time frame. More impressive was the managers concern of the issues I addressed with the staple Ms. Betsy (a warm and comforting individual who makes you feel like you are at home and welcomed every time you visit the activities center). Ms. Betsy conveyed the issues I discussed with her earlier to Bill Mitchell and the rest was history.

The activities center was absolutely awesome this year. More activities for my children and more warm and friendly faces. Marianna a new addition to Ocean Key was very nice and patient with my four year old girls. Another young lady taught us how to make bracelets and key chains...fantastic!

So where it may lack with some attention to detail in the cleanliness department, it makes up in the people such as Ms. Betsy who is absolutely one of Ocean Keys biggest assets. A young energetic individual who is very good with children named Marianna, and a manager, Bill Mitchell, who wants to ensure your experience is an enjoyable one. If not, he will rectify the problem in a timely fashion.

Thank you Bill Mitchell, Ms. Betsy and Marianna for making that week our best week ever at the Ocean Key!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I appreciate your positive feedback and for giving me an opportunity to correct your concern. Thank you for your ownership with VSA for 15 years and mentioning our new activities and wonderful staff; especially Betsy and Marianna. Your family at the Ocean Key Resort looks forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winston salem, nc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Really enjoyed the manager's wine tasting. They served cheese too and we mingled with other people and played a game of pool and enjoyed the hospitality. Every one was very cordial. This is a really nice facility located at the end of the boardwalk of Virginia Beach. Looks like a place I would stay at and it is not far from the boardwalk or ocean either. I especially enjoyed speaking with the lady serving the cheese.

Room Tip: I didn't see any rooms at that time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed our manager’s reception, and wonderful staff especially Betsy. I appreciate your choosing VSA Resorts and look forward to your family’s next vacation in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have been an owner since '98 and this past week in Virginia Beach was our best trip yet! We had a beautiful view of the ocean and took full advantage of our proximity to the beach. The resort was clean and the staff was receptive. Thank you, Bill Mitchell and the rest of the staff at Ocean Key!

Room Tip: Since this was a working vacation having a balcony made our trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and mentioned our beautiful Resort amenities, and wonderful staff including myself. I appreciate you choosing VSA Resorts and look forward to your family’s next vacation in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.