We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Key Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Our family has never been to Virginia beach. We planned our trip a week before our vacation. We looked at several places and read a lot of reviews. We decided to stay at ocean keys and we were very pleased. We spoke with Patricia from the rental agencie and she was very professional and answered all of my questions. I requested a room with a view of the ocean and balcony and that's exactly what we got. When we arrived at the resort, parking was very convenient and several spots are available. Check in is at 3:00 and we arrived an hour earlier which was fine since our room was ready. The front desk staff were very friendly, always saying hello and smiling. Finding luggage carts was easy and they have several of them. Our room was on the 7th floor and was clean and spacious enough for the three of us. We never used the pool, hungout on the beach instead nor did we eat at the pizza place located in the resort. I would go back to this resort.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your vacation with us and mentioned our beautiful Resort, wonderful staff, especially our Vacation Consultant, Patricia. I thank you again for choosing VSA Resorts and we look forward to your family’s return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    64
    24
    5
    9
See reviews for
129
78
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Pros:
Unit was clean
Bathroom was a good size
Some Friendly and Helpful Staff
Across the street from the boardwalk and Seafood Rest.

Cons:
No room between the pull-out bed and the table
The bathroom is practically located in the kitchen -- not sure who thought of that genius idea
Not very spacious room due to the layout
Hotel seems outdated
Parking garage has super narrow spots
Instead of being able to ask for new linens, you have to give back your old ones first
No housekeeping
Pool and jacuzzi in the lobby
Walls between room to thin
You have to take your own trash out



Not sure that I'd come back here.
I suspect that the resort gets the #2 rating because the time share owners go on the trip advisor and post great reviews. I would stay at the Hilton Hotel the next time I go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I apologize that our accommodations and sustainability measures did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for a 3 night stay and we were placed by the vending machines with a view out the back of the hotel. I asked at the front desk if we could have a room on the ocean side and we were given a room on the ocean side that was available probably because it was next to the trash room. It was better then our original room so we stuck with it.

Upon entering the room I went to the restroom and immediately noticed the toilet had not been cleaned. There was dried urine all over it. I called down to the front desk and after about an hour someone came and cleaned it.

The pool is very small. For us that's fine because we go to the beach to go to the beach.

Overall, this is a good place to stay with your family because it has a cooktop, microwave and refrigerator. This way you don't have to eat out for all of your meals. A pull out bed for the kids and a king size bed for mom and dad.

I really had hoped our return trip would have been as good as our first. I was just left grossed out by the fact that something so obvious as the toilet hadn't been cleaned. It made me wonder what else wasn't clean.

On a side note, I would have thought management would have contacted us to apologize for the unclean bathroom. We may stay at ocean key next year, but I'll be exploring other options...something I didn't even consider for this years trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I apologize that the Resort did not meet your expectations and appreciate your feedback, as it helps us constantly improve our guest’s experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was very pleased with Luis, the van driver. He was courteous, helpful, friendly, considerate and a cautious driver. I went on several trips within the area and was always happy to see his smiling face and knew I would be safe.

Accommodations were good, with problems such as no water for an extended period of time on Thursday and also on Friday for a shorter period. Cleaning of the pool should be done at night and not during the day. Internet service was sporadic. I was surprised that cleaning of the unit was not done once in midweek as promised by RCI. Towels and sheets were available for exchange though.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us and for allowing us to address it during your visit. I am pleased that you enjoyed the our van excursions and appreciate your mentioning Luis’ courteous service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went the weeks of July 6, and July 27. We love this resort, is very clean, we love the pool, hot tub,and the activities they have for every day. Also the staff is very helpful. The Manager is very concerned and he does make sure we feel like at home. We recommend this resort 100%. We are looking forward to go back.

The Canabal Family from Midlothian, Virginia

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We take pride in our customer experiences at the Ocean Key Resort and we look forward to your next vacation in Virginia Beach with VSA Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

If this is the top rated resort in Va Beach on Trip Advisor then I wonder who is rating these places. The room was adequate but shabby. The lobby and pool area are small. The staff is less than courteous and don't seem to know what is going on. Not located that well in the resort area. Find another place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I apologize that the Resort did not meet your expectations and appreciate your feedback, as it helps to improve our guest’s experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretton Woods, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have stayed here each summer for 9 years and have always found the staff and the resort to be wonderful, responsive, etc.... We had a bike stolen about 5 years ago when the bike rack was on the bottom floor of the garage; chalked it up to bad luck and was pleased when the bike rack was moved to the second floor, near the smoking section, where it used to be (we ride at 6 AM, so using the rack in the Activity Center is not an option since it doesn't open until 9 AM). No issues for a few years now, but yesterday two of our bikes were stolen between 8 AM and 5 PM. They were locked, the lock was gone, too. The front desk supervisor was very sympathetic, said it had not happend the whole 8 months she worked there, helped us call the police, etc... Police told us it was an "epidemic" and that a special task force has been established for this. My husband was told this AM by another worker that "at least 6 bikes have been stolen this past week". We were surprised that there was not at least a sign at the bike rack by staff alerting guests to this, that a camera was not in place (or a sign threatening a hidden camera), or that the Activity Center bike rack access hours were not expanded. This is the first lapse of customer service I have ever experienced with the resort. I have no intention of "trashing" OCR by this post, but know of no other way to warn other guests of this issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I am very sorry you experienced this and thank you for your feedback. We did change the hours of access to the Activity Center bike rack to 7am-9pm earlier this year and I apologize that you were not aware of this change. I hope that you’ll still decide to stay with us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.