We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Key Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 115 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Yet another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

From the moment Noelle checked us in everything was great. Do not worry there are no high pressure sales folks at the check in desk to hold you hostage until you promise a meeting. We were called later in the week and in the past I had not set with them. This time I did and it was very pleasant. Bill Mitchell the property manager runs a great place. I would be staying there again next year but there just simply nothing available which tells me this is a great place.
Some of the nice little things you may exchange sheets or linens everyday with no charge they also have free laundry machines for your use. Across the street there is an excellent seafood restaurant Watermans and you have the ocean. Behind the resort you have Big Sam's which has great food for all meals. As the terminator says "I will be back". Thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I truly appreciate your kind words and for sharing your family vacation experience with VSA Resorts. The team at the Ocean Key Resort look forward to seeing the Chapman family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    66
    24
    7
    10
See reviews for
131
82
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The resort is conveniently located right across the street from the beach entrance and a wonderful restaurant. We couldn't be happier with the staff and accommodations. We traveled with our 22 month old son and it was nice to have the living room area to place the pack and play. The kitchenette was stocked with all the items we needed for the week, coffee maker, toaster, griddle, dish soap, dish washer tabs. The indoor pool is great to have. It rained one day and it was nice to have something inside to do. There are activities at the resort for the kids every day. There is free WiFi. It is also at the quieter end of the strip which was nice. We would definitely return to stay at the Ocean Key Resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to the Ocean Key Resort, I know you have many vacation choices in Virginia Beach. I appreciate your positive review and comments about VSA Resorts’ vacation suites, amenities, and friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This resort is a great place for family to stay. They maintain a very clean presence and attention to detail. Our room came equipped with all the kitchen amenities one could need. Complete with dish detergent and pans. Also was pleased that they had a laundry center where you could do clothes instead of dragging dirty wet clothes home. I went with a handful of quarters but didn't need them as they were free..overall very nice stay, pleasant staff.only downfall was the resturant did not offer breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at the Ocean Key Resort. I am glad to hear you took advantage of our great amenities and notice the fact that we do pay attention to details. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit with Ocean Key Resot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Back at the ocean key for another great vacation. This is our 4th trip to the ocean key, another great vacation.

Located on 4th street near Rudee inlet. The building is accross the street (Atlantic) from the beach. Easy walk.

My daughter surfs so this is the perfect location as there are designated surfing areas at this end of the beach.

Easy walk to many restaurants..Watermans across the street and several in Rudee Inlet. There is a pizza place in the building, decent pizza, ice cream and food. Very convenient for whatever you need.

Staff is super friendly and helpful. There is always someone at the desk if needed.

Pool is clean and in the first floor lobby.

Daily linen exchange is also nice.

Rooms are all very small with a galley kitchen. No oven, stove, microwave. Fridge, sink. Master is decent size and a pullout in the front room. There are only a handful of ocean facing rooms with a balcony, they cost an extra $50 a night. We did not get one. There is free WiFi in the hotel. Laundry on the floor not in the rooms. No more than 4 could stay comfortably, we had 3 and that was tight.

Parking garage on site, is a bit of a nightmare parking as there are concrete pillars everywhere..be careful.

Use the bus trolley..$1 anywhere on the boardwalk..Great deal.

We will be back in August. Recommend the ocean key highly. Clean, small yet functional,
Great staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We have an excellent staff that goes the extra mile to ensure your stay at the Ocean Key Resort is very enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

From check-in to check-out this resort is great. The staff is fantastic and the management is exceptional. We have stayed at RCI resorts around the country for years and this is by far the best place we have been to. We had occasion to call for help twice (both minor problems) and the staff responded within five minutes and solved our issues immediately. Our check-in was quick. We pulled into the garage and two staff members greeted us. We did not even have to get out of the car before we were checked in. When we had a question about the resort or the town it didn't matter who you asked because every staff member was friendly and either had the answer or found the information quickly. Although the units are small they are very comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable and quite large. The location is perfect across the street from the boardwalk and close to many excellent restaurants. If we ever get to Virginia Beach again we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter. This place is great top to bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our phenomenal team! We truly have the best team in Virginia Beach at the Ocean Key Resort and glad you enjoyed your curbside check in. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Manager Bill Mitchell was exceptionally accommodating to my special needs, and went above and beyond normal to make my stay here especially good. Beach is a short half block away, and all the staff here are excellent! Nice activities and activity staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing the Ocean Key Resort in Virginia Beach. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your vacation with VSA Resorts and I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is out first stay at Ocean Key but not RCI. We're actually here right now (6/6-6-14).Have to say we're having a good time except for the awful weather. I'd definitely stay here again but not in June! Bill Mitchell is an awesome manager & went out of his way to accommodate us with an early stay & 89 yr old MIL. Thanks Bill for u & your staff's wonderful hospitality ;)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your first experience at the Ocean Key Resort; we look forward to delivering Value, Service & Atmosphere to you and the Rosado family again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.