We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from balcony” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Key Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great view from balcony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at this resort during the second week of April, thanks to a timeshare exchange through RCI. We were very fortunate to have a 9th floor balcony corner suite overlooking Waterman's restaurant and the Beach. The view was just wonderful and was probably the ting we liked best about our unit. The king size bed was very comfortable. The Kitchen was small but had all the dishes,pots, pands etc that one could need to make a meal. The unit was very clean and we had the chance to exhange our towels during the day for clean ones. The living room was small and windowless, but with our great balcony view ( from the bedroom) this didn't matter to us. My only complaint was the noise level from the street which was loud, and also from the F-18 Hornets which come in to land. . It quietens down at about 11 pm during the week, a little later on weekends. Bring some earplugs. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms overlooking the beach have good views. HIgher floors might help to lessen the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to exchange to the Ocean Key Resort. I appreciate your positive comments about our suites, Resort amenities. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    73
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
143
90
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We just recently returned from our 6th stay at Ocean Key. We love the customer service here- everyone one who works here is so friendly! We also like having more room than a regular hotel room. The kitchen is handy for breakfasts in the room and also for evening snacks. The beds and linens are very comfortable and my kids liked having a separate living space/ tv of their own.

The parking area always had plenty of open spaces and we really liked that the entrance/exit was on the side steeet which made it easier to get in or out of the lot.

We also really like this southern location on Atlantic Ave because we find that it's quieter for families and it has everything that we need ( great shops and restaurants).

The indoor pool was also often enjoyed by our family and although others here have not liked the fact that the pool is in the lobby, we didn't mind and didn't find it odd at all and there is a glass wall separating the pool from the lobby.

Another great stay! Thanks to Bill and Maura and the rest of the team at Ocean Key!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your 6th vacation experience with VSA Resorts! I appreciate your kind words about Maura and mentioning our wonderful staff, great location and guest amenities at the Ocean Key Resort. We look forward to your 7th visit to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our stay clocked in over $300 for 3 nights, not quite into tourist season and with the cheapest room selected (one queen size bed). When you walk in the suite, it is a very small living area with the kitchen table right under the mounted wall flat t.v. The issue with that is, when you go to pull out the sofa, there is literally no walking room between the bottom of bed & kitchen table. The kitchen area is the type that is built in the middle on the hallway connecting th living area to the bedroom. Many cheaper suites have a more open kitchen design that allows more than one person to use the stove or sink at the same time. The bathroom, not much to comment on, it is directly to the left of the kitchen area, kind of a turn off if you're cooking & someone is doing #2!! The back area, where the 1 bed bedroom is at, we did not like this mainly b/c there was no window or balcony. This was the only window in the entire suite and it didn't even open! Most people enjoy opening there windows or stepping out a balcony and breathing in the salty, beach air. It ended up being very stuffy in there with little space to move around. The pool area was decent, but since you didn't need your room card to get access in, I wondered how many people swimming were really paying guests at the hotel.

Room Tip: I'd ask for the prices of their balconies, otherwise find a cheaper place with windows that open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I apologize that the Resort did not meet your expectations and appreciate your feedback, as it helps us constantly improve our guest’s experience. I hope that you’ll give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this resort multiple times, and strongly recommend it--clean, well kept, spacious rooms, very nice activity center, pool--clean, outdoor sunning area, across the street from the beach, eating establishments in every direction, plentiful parking, friendly and helpful staff. A top resort. The resort hosted us on April 21st, 2013 for a day use birthday party in the restaurant and pool for our friends and triplets 7th birthday. It was an enjoyable four hours for all. I thank my friend Bill Mitchell the general manager, and his staff for an enjoyable day.
Robert Summerford
Virginia Beach

Room Tip: If you are on the west side you can see all of the boats in the marina, which I like most, on the ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your exciting day with VSA Resorts; we enjoyed watching the triplets at their birthday party. I appreciate your kind words and wonderful review of the Ocean Key Resort’s amenities and friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend a week at this great resort in March. It was our first visit to Virginia Beach area and this was a great resort to pick. The location was really great, a block from the beach and boardwalk, a children's play area close by on the beach, numerous restaurants and easy access to roadways.
The one bedroom unit was very well stocked and had everything we needed to make our stay very pleasant. The pool was great and the hot tub was very relaxing. The resort offered day trips to many local attraction.
The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. The front desk staff was great with answering any question we had about the area and things to do. We were lucky enough to have Taylor help us with the check in process and loved the room she found for us with the great beach view. This is the first resort that we have stayed in that sent us a " Thank You" card for staying with them signed by the Manager.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and mentioned our wonderful staff, great accommodations and amenities. I look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your kind words regarding Taylor and myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and 3 days April 1-3..This hotel went through a great reno...I have been visiting since high school, and it was nice to bring my own children. The indoor pool was heated, but a little tight...it was spring break and cold outside,so all the kids were in at once. There are activities such as movie night, morning aerobics in the pool, So there were a lot of things to do inside of the resort. The staff was great and friendly. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you would need..including dish detergent and pods for the dishwasher!..The pull out bed worked for the kids, but a 2 bedroom will be necessary for the next stay as it was a tight.We had the king luxury..and the bedroom was spacious, but the living space was tight..Still, it was a great getway and a good option for a family or a couple..Just because you are on vacation, doesn mean you can't have some conviences from home..like a FULL FRIDGE..A COOKTOP..COMPLIMENTARY LAUNDRY. Shopping and malls not far away.or take the free shuttle...What a deal...will definately book again

Room Tip: Higher floors give better views of the ocean. A corner room may also be better and isolate you..ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I appreciate your sharing your vacation experience with the Ocean Key Resort. Thank you for continuing to choose VSA Resorts, I sincerely appreciate your returning with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Spent Spring Break with my family last week at this hotel. The one bedroom was smaller than I expected but it was clean. The bed was very comfortable and my children slept well on the sofa bed. The kitchen came fully stocked with utensils, pots& pans, etc. I just wish that the sink had a garbage disposal. My children loved the indoor pool and could spend hours in it. The staff were friendly and helpful. There were a lot of free amenities: free washer and dryer, parking, children activities, free shuttle to Norfolk and shopping, free wifi, etc. I wouldn't hesitate to book this place again.

Room Tip: Just stay away from the elevators, ice machine, laundry room, and refuse bins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your spring break vacation with the Ocean Key Resort. I appreciate your positive comments about our suites, Resort amenities, and helpful and friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.