We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Activities Center and Staff EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Key Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Activities Center and Staff EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am a local of Virginia Beach who bought a timeshare with Ocean Key Resorts. Best decision ever made. All of the staff are GREAT! The activities center allows me to hold meetings there for free. Betsy Doxey and Ben Amarillo are so helpful and make our experiences delightful. I cannot say enough great things about them. Mara at the front desk is phenominal as well. The General Manager Bill Mitchell is one of the greatest guys I have ever had the privledge of meeting. I highly recommend Ocean Key Resort. They are like family!
Professor Don V. Haley

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
I truly appreciate your vacation ownership with VSA Resorts and your wonderful review of the Ocean Key Resort. I look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your kind words regarding Betsy, Ben, Maura and myself - you make us feel like family too!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    60
    23
    3
    8
See reviews for
120
70
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent a week in Early March at the resort. We loved the staff, the pool, the speed of the elevator and the quality of the bed. We signed up for the bus trips and that was a treat. The location near the beach was excellent. We loved watching the coming and going at Watermans across the street. The hotel has free laundry facilities and for families on the beach that is a plus. The adult hours at the pool were appreciated, the kids can be wild. Hot tub is very nice, and the pool has the right temperature, but is only 4 feet deep.

Room Tip: we had ocean view one bedroom, much nicer then on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and mentioned our wonderful staff, great accommodations and amenities. I thank you for choosing VSA Resorts and we look forward to your family’s return in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived during a snow storm (on the beach)! The staff was well prepared and very helpful and the facility was very neat & clean. Overall, we were quite impressed and the place was so quiet. The beds were very, very comfortable and we enjoyed a really good winter break!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to include our staff and wonderful bedding in your feedback. VSA Resorts looks forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswoldville, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel and experience was absolutely wonderful. The hotel was very clean. The staff helped us every chance they could. The pool was well maintained and quiet. It may not be on the ocean front, but it is a quick walk to the boardwalk. Nice overlook of the local fisher's docks. The beds were comfy and the rooms were very quiet.

We stayed during the plunge event, the staff kicked out the noisy guest right away. Great job all the way around! I recommend you giving this place a try!

Room Tip: If you have a balcony, please remember the Air Force base is right by the hotel. VERY LOUD! Really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at Ocean Key Resort. We recognize the fact that you have a choice in where you vacation and we appreciate you making VSA Resorts your choice. Thank you for taking the time to give us this great review and we look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

the staff and overall experience was in best words perfect. awesome stay. they equipt your room with silverwear, plates and glasses in the kitchen and loofa sponges in the shower. thought that was kinda cool.

Room Tip: ask for the harbor view with a balconey. very beautiful. nice calm relaxing side but theres no bad r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your really great review of the Ocean Key Resort, I appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I live in Virginia Beach. Decided to stay down the beach bc I was participating in the polar plunge. They had a special rate for plunge participants. My room was clean and nicer than expected. Everyone was really nice. Whenever we came in or out we were always greeted. I will definately stay again and I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Ocean Key Resort and for taking advantage of our polar plunge special. I look forward to your vacation with us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

we were staying through rci. and apon ariving to out room realized our door didnt stay shut. they moved us to a room right away, with no proplems. even brough the new key and a cart to us. great staff. it was the polar plunge weekend and they had to deal with alot of crazy people and they did so with a smile on their face. :) thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I am happy to hear you had a great experience at the Ocean Key Resort, and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Hotel
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach
Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.