We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit to Virginia Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Key Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
Mahwah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First time visit to Virginia Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Ocean Key Resort turned out to be an excellent choice. Bill Mitchell and his staff were very friendly and helpful, and gave us many good suggestions for local activities. The restaurants were good, and we really enjoyed walking on the beach. We plan to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Ocean Key Resort and for sharing your first vacation experience in Virginia Beach. I know that you have many choices in where your family vacations and I appreciate you making VSA Resorts your choice. We look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    64
    24
    4
    8
See reviews for
126
77
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We will definitely return to this resort. The staff was very nice and went above and beyond my expectations from check-in to check-out. Excellent location just across the street from the beach, very good restaurant on site, clean and comfortable rooms. This was our first trip away from home during the holidays and was very relaxing. Staff made us feel welcome to be there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at Ocean Key Resort. We are glad we exceeded your family’s expectation and we appreciate you making VSA Resorts your choice. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was our first time at this resort, but it wont be the last time. the staff was very helpful and friendly. the rooms are very clean, the small kitchen was the right size for us. the location is just one block away from the beach. Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent vacation at the Ocean Key Resort and I appreciate you recognizing our team for their superior customer service. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICHMOND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. The property was VERY clean, and well stocked. The staff could not have been nicer. As mentioned in an earlier review, there are enough on and off site activities to keep you busy. I will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Ocean Key Resort. We value your review about out staff and accommodations and we look forward to your family’s return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Upon checking into this resort my fiance' and I were welcomed with smiles and warm greetings from the Resort Manager Bill Mitchell, Maura Pratt, Abbey Sink, and Michelle! We were only planning to have a small weekend vacation but it was amazing. Upon walking into our unit it smelled and looked very clean, open, and comforting. We LOVED the view that we had over the marina. Every night getting to see the wonderful sunset over the inlet was beautiful! I ended up purchasing so much food for the weekend that I made breakfast every morning and there was more than enough utensils to be able to cook with. We definitely were well rested by the time of checkout. We will definitely come back. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review about our resort and our staff. We are glad you and your fiancé enjoyed your stay; we look forward to seeing both of you in the near future at the Ocean Key Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom unit & a 1 bedroom unit. We had to change to another 2 bedroom unit due to ants. The staff was very accomodating when told of the situation. Two front-office staff members arrived within minutes, as did a maintenance employee. The staff brought a rolling hotel cart with them and assisted in re-locating our belongings and were very apologetic.

The units themselves were clean and comfortable. The staff were all smiles. We stayed from Friday, 11/30/12 until Sunday, 12/02/12, for a family event occuring at Virginia Wesleyan College, 20 minutes away.

We thoroughly enjoyed the Christmas lights on the boardwalk; you drove down the boardwalk in your car and experienced blocks and blocks of lights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review about our resort and our staff. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and our Christmas lights van trip. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future at the Ocean Key Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This resort met our expectations, clean, safe, courteous service and adequate amenities. On the plus side, the location was good for a non-oceanfront facility. However, don't count on a scenic view of the ocean from the lower floors. The staff was very helpful, friendly and courteous. Whenever we presented a question, their response was prompt and useful. The one bedroom unit included a good sized kitchen, a full comfortable sofa bed and a wonderfully comfortable queen sized bed. On the down side, the walls are paper thin and you can hear the neighbors conversations, TV programs day and night, a real negative if you are trying to sleep. There are no operating instructions for the microwave/convection oven. When we asked for assistance, the maintenance staff didn't have a clue. The activities schedule options for staying busy, even in the dead of winter. We took the Christmas lights on the beach excursion and enjoyed the company of other tenants. The location of the indoor pool is right in the lobby and as others have noted, the chlorine smell permeates throughout the lobby and open areas - bummer. If we need a place to hang out in Virginia Beach again, we would consider this resort again. it's a nice basic place to stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at Ocean Key Resort. We recognize the fact that you have a choice in where you vacation and we appreciate you making VSA Resorts your choice. Thank you for taking the time to include our amenities, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.