We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff around!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Key Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had what appeared to be a one bedroom "lock-off" unit. The walls between the units were paper thin as I could hear every word from the neighbors. The wifi which was supposed to be resort-wide was haphazard at best. The only place there was a consistent connection was in the lobby. Those are the only negatives I had. The staff, from the front desk to the maids to the pool attendant were the friendliest and most hospitable I've met in 16 years of time-sharing. This resort is on the southern end of VA Beach and seemed a little quiet altho the whole area was quiet the week we were there (Nov 10-16 2012). Indoor pool and hot tub, activity area, fitness room and adjoining restaurant were pluses. Overall, I would recommend this resort. Just try to ignore the people in the next room!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for choosing Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our team. Thank you for taking the time to include our staff in your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    71
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
140
88
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here during October and everything about the place was first rate. The staff were magnificent and all fell in love with our English accents, they can't do enough for you and that even includes the manager Bill Mitchell who looked after a package for me that had been sent by a friend over a week before our arrival.....Bill you are a star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your fabulous review about our resort and our staff. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and it was my pleasure and duty to secure your package for you. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future at the Ocean Key Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro Area
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Ocean Key is a nice clean hotel comparable to many others in Va Beach. The kitchenette was especially well stocked with all sorts of utensils and cooking devices. However, there's nothing to really distinguish this hotel from many others, and certainly nothing that justifies the $100 price differential during the peak season. Also consider that, unlike other hotels, there's no complimentary breakfast, and the hotel is not on the beach (although only a short block away). The indoor pool is over chlorinated, with the chlorine smell permeating the lobby and the elevator. The gym was small, and they charge a minimum of $3 if you want to use the printer. The hotel is on the south end of town, we prefer the north end.

I could see staying there again, but don't expect something special in keeping with its #1 rating on TripAdvisor. It's an okay place, but the #1 rating is not justified.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I do apologize that we didn’t meet your expectations and hope will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shellsburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here Oct.13-20, 2012. Our 1-bedroom condo was very small with a limited kitchen. The walls were paper thin and the carpet was in need of replacement. The water pressure was minimal in the shower. My wife had an allergic reaction to something in the first room but we were provided another immediately. This location is excellent and so is the staff--very helpful and courteous. The resort provides free shuttles to some area points of interest. Nonetheless, we were very disappointed after such previous good ratings on this site.

Room Tip: Try to get one witha balcony. None of the other rooms have windows that open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am apologize that we fell short in meeting some of your expectations and hope will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at the Ocean Key Resort the week of October 13th 2012. I booked this hotel through RCI and was unsure of the room situation as RCI tells you they have no control over which room you get. When i called the hotel they said they assign rooms at time of check in. I had asked for an oceanview room before i got there and was told that it would be a 30 dollar a day upgrade for that. I declined that when i got there because it would be another 180 dollars which i felt was a lot for an oceanview that is across the street. I was booked into a "marina view" room on the backside of the building. The rooms are great in this resort, very clean, up to date and great comfortable beds but unfortunately the marina views rooms also overlook a very busy highway directly below your balcony and you can't hardly hear yourself think when on the balcony. So i would highly suggest if you stay there ask for a room on the beach side oceanview or a south facing room. All other aspects of our stay get very high marks. Great friendly people, very clean resort and very good food right on site. awesome pizza. Also directly across the street is Watermans, problably the best restaurant in VB. superb services. The beach access is very easy also and dtirectly in front. I want to give special thanks to Christina Collins who made the whole stay the best. She was one of the most polite and caring resort employees i have ever met. Sometimes the people you deal with on your travels cn make all the difference. She's awesome.

Room Tip: front facing beach or south view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at Ocean Key Resort. We recognize the fact that you have a choice in where you vacation and we appreciate you making VSA Resorts your choice. Thank you for taking the time to include our amenities, restaurant and staff especially Cristina. We look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I recently stayed at Ocean Key Resort I had a wonderful visit. The staff was great; very, respectful and courteous. The rooms were nice and clean. Plenty of towels, pillows and bed linen. The bed was HUGE; I also liked the kissing Swans that were made out of towels on my bed. I took advantaged of all the amenities that were made available to me swimming pool, game room, workout room, balcony and so much more. They even have a restaurant on site that will deliver to your room. I order a pizza and sub; honesty by the time I went downstairs to get a soda the delivery guy was bringing my food. I loved this stay and I plan on returning soon.

Room Tip: "you want to stay at the best hotel on the Ocean Front stay at Ocean Key Resort"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our amenities and our restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to include our staff in your feedback. VSA Resorts looks forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location was perfect. One block away from the beach. Just far enough away from the hustle and bustle. The resort was very nicely decorated and well equiped for our week's stay. The units were very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable. Everyone greeted you with a smile on their face. The parking was free. The only time we used the car was to go grocery shopping. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. Virginia Beach has changed alot since we were last there over 15 years ago. Not the "old boardwalk". It is now cement with easy access for bicycles and roller blades. The old buildings and stores have now been replaced with nice hotels and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I know you have many vacation options to choose from in Virginia Beach and I thank you for choosing the Ocean Key Resort!. I am pleased that you enjoyed our amenities and nicely designed resort and thank you for taking the time to include our staff in your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.