We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and pretty much only place on Sandbridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baja Restaurant

Baja Restaurant
3701 Sandpiper Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23456-4325
757-426-7748
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #561 of 1,272 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Farmington, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience and pretty much only place on Sandbridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We met there to have some drinks and some light fare. Fish tacos were awesome. Margaritas were right on and hit the spot. Let's face it, this place is for the people on the beach and probably some other locals. Was every bit we expected and maybe more because everything came out very fast. We booked 2015 already and we will be back for our "adults" night out. Really nice little place. Very comfortable!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    16
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood in a Very Casual Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Having a meal or a drink at The Baja is a longstanding Sandbridge tradition in our family, and while it offers casual classics such as burgers and pizza (both very good), we tend to try their non-menu seafood specials and are never disappointed. I had a Caribbean influenced jerk-flavored tuna dish with lime cilantro rice and black bean and corn and pepper salsa and it was wonderful (fish was perfectly cooked medium rare per request). My wife had the salmon special and was equally delighted. Our nephew had the flat iron steak and he ate it all. Their is always a bit of a hectic, fun vibe to the place particularly when they have music out back at the "bay bar." Great place for families.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Local haunt, very casual”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Located at the end of Sandbridge beach, this place can get wild. Food is just ok, go here for the drink specials and summer party atmosphere. Beach volleyball and corn hole predominate with a mixed crowd later when the band's start playing. Recently refurbished and bar is bigger with better sound system.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“terrible service and food just ok cause nothing else is around”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

food came before drinks. never offered dessert. automatic tip was added new it would be bad. never go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Calamari is awesome! She crab soup is tasty, pizza is terrific, fish tacos yummy. The seafood combo with linguini was so-so, but rest of food was really good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baja Restaurant also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Baja Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baja Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.