We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location but...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn and Suites Chesapeake

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Virginia Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Inn and Suites Chesapeake
Save
You added Country Inn and Suites Chesapeake to your Saves list
5808 Burton Station Rd, Virginia Beach, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Atlanta
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice Location but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is advertised as 3*, rates at 3* hotel are about 99.00 per night on low season, I did get the priceline rate. The front desk staff was nice. Room was clean yet it smelled extremely like lemon clorox it was offensive. All Rooms are ocean front. I got a room on the most lower level ( 2nd floor ) The hotel is very old and worn out, clean yet you could hear everything around the room; the hallway on 2nd floor was very worn out, There is no room service, location is B+ close to main square, but super close to boardwalk. Free Parking, no nice shopping nor restaurants close to hotel. I would say this is more like a 2* or 2 1/2* Will not stay again at a 3* advertising. Try to get a room as high as possible (floor-wise) Beach is OK lots of panhandlers. Nice A/C. Room worn,.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our stay was awesome, we stayed for 4 nights. we reached little early & we were confused whether they agree for early check in or not for that we called Mr. smith he was so polite and humble on phone and he agree for early check in. When we arrived at the beach he himself was present their he attended us and briefed us on everything very nicely and clearly. The most interesting thing about this hotel is they have out sourced restaurant Cafe JAI i.e they have restaurant inside the hotel but it is not governed by the hotel. Hotel have very spacious room at reasonable price. I am very my satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

First time in VA Beach and we wanted to stay oceanfront. Hotel was clean, in the heart of the boardwalk, and for a room in the $200 range it was worth the money. It's not super fancy but it worked for our needs. Breakfast was good each day. Didn't use the pool as the beach was 20 yards away. We were told it is a salt water pool which is why it appears dirty/green to people. Staff were all nice, parking garage was convenient. Rooms were cleaned properly each day and they have complimentary coffee all the time in lobby. The location was the best, you are right in the middle so going left or right out the door gives you shops, restaurants, etc. We took shuttle to the aquarium which was nice. Waterpark was nice but be ready to open your wallet. Spent about $160 on two adults/two kids and a basic lunch. Only hotel complaint was slow elevator but other than that would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on four which gave some nice views from balcony. Lower might be nice due to elevator conge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Hotel is about 20 minutes from the boardwalk. Room and bathroom was clean. Attendant was on her break when we came to check in which is fine - every employee need a break time. Didn't use the pool which looks dirty looking from the window in the hallway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We arrived and no one was at the desk, others had been waiting 15 minutes. Finally someone called the home office. Clerk showed up after 30 minutes. This was a Friday night the weekend before the 4th. Air conditioning was not working well and of course no one to fix it. Very small breakfast area, not close to the beach. We were very disappointed and will probably not stay at Country Inns again. Power failed during the night but came on again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Rooms were okay, but carpet was strained and sheets in pull-out bed were covered in what looked like brownie crumbs. Breakfast was not restocked and selection was limited. Pool was small and hot tub was out of order. Hotel was not worth the price of the stay.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

By far one of the best in customer service oriented hotels on VA Beach! From Tommy (Front Desk) to Orlando (Maintenance) and Jason (Houseman) - all could not have been more accommodating, genuinely friendly and helpful - they are prime examples of staff members the hospitality can be proud of, and we as a family traveling were very appreciative. Went to VA Beach for Patriotic Festival weekend and even with the crowds of people, we were very satisfied with our hotel selection. Clean and comfortable rooms and public areas. Garage a little tight for large vehicles but do-able. Great location and the oceanfront view from our 5th floor room was superior to watch the military airshow directly in front of this property. (Literally front row seats) On-site restaurant was very good with nice selections, not too overpriced for a resort location and staff very accommodating. VA Beach is getting a little "overpriced for their britches", but there are deals that are available through some of the travel sites and Country Inn & Suites seems to welcome you no matter what your deal is. Would definitely stay here again and will recommend. Kudos again to the staff! Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront, however the best views are those 3 & up. Active location for the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn and Suites Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn and Suites Chesapeake

Address: 5808 Burton Station Rd, Virginia Beach, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Number of rooms: 67

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn and Suites Chesapeake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.