We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trendy for young crowd, overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HK on the Bay

HK on the Bay
4600 Lookout Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-1429 (Northwest Virginia Beach)
757-605-3024
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 1,272 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“trendy for young crowd, overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

really a bar scene, service spotty, food ok, too overpriced. parking is terrible, pretty nice atmosphere

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
joyunlimited14
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not much to brag about.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Maybe it was because I was seated with a group of 14 and they weren't prepared for a party of that size (yes, we had reservations), but I'd have to say this place didn't get my "gonna come back" vote. We had three servers waiting on us, so the service was okay. Most of the table had to wait 45 minutes for their meal except for about 5 people who got their meals within 15 minutes, which was odd. I had the Monday night special which was unlimited wings, and the best thing on the plate was the celery. The wings tasted like they came from an anorexic chicken and the sauces weren't very tasty. My husband got the fish tacos and he said they are "okay". My husband loves fish tacos, and just "okay" means they were edible. I had a bite and there was basically no flavor unless you added the sauce they put in a side container. It think this place is best for people who want to drink and socialize, but not if you want a great meal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicks Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

"Sam I AM" the bartender ROCKS, Nick is the nicest guy. And Gina has a smile to light up any room! The food is awesome and they always book the best entertainment!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, Reasonably Priced, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is the place to go, especially if you love seafood. Definitely try the Seafood Mac and Cheese! It's amazing! The food is great and very reasonably priced, especially for it being of such high quality, and you're only a block from the beach. They have bands on the weekends, and sometimes during the week. Overall a great place to go. I recommend reservations, they're always busy!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“This Is A Great Locals Place, Funky, Beachy, and Fantastic Crab Cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Small dining room and great dishes especially the crab cakes, a bit small but excellent. Eclectic clientele. Blocks from the Bay and within it's own seaside community. What do you expect from a restaurant just off pleasure house road.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HK on the Bay also viewed

Virginia Beach, VA
 
Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to HK on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HK on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.