We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Family Beach Vacation! Best kept Secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Realty at False Cape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanctuary Realty at False Cape
Save
You added Sanctuary Realty at False Cape to your Saves list
3700 Sandpiper Road S, Virginia Beach, VA 23456 (Formerly Sanctuary Resort at False Cape)   |  
Hotel amenities
Nokesville, Virginia
1 review
“5 Star Family Beach Vacation! Best kept Secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Southern Living listed Sandbridge as one of the best Southern secluded beach destinations, and based on this recommendation we booked B-115, with ocean and bay views.
The condo had a "Casablanca" type feel to the decor. It was so comfortable and inviting, no tacky sea shells or anchors here!
We really enjoyed the outdoor dining area off the master bedroom. We ate dinner with the ocean as our backdrop every night! The unit had everything we look for in a rental. Comfy beds, an outfitted kitchen and on the beach!
If you're looking for a crazy beach destination, go to Ocean City, MD If you're looking for a relaxing beach vacation, go to Sandbridge.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
71
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Sanctuary says it has it all, nice pools, gas grills, beautiful spacious condo apartments. And much of that is true. Especially the units. They truly are beautiful and spacious (No complaints at all about the rooms!). However, the biggest pitfall is customer service and managment of the grounds. We have been there 2 separate years and both years we had a bad experience.

First year the hot tub was out of service the entire week we stayed. They boasted restaurants on site, but apparently they were talking about the future since they were still under construction when we got there! Management was very snippy with us. We arrived a few hours early. We were not expecting to be shown to our rooms right away, but we did want to let them know we were there. Instead, we were barked at for being early (customer service is severely lacking) and reminded of the check in time (which we politely told them we know we're early when we got there). The swim up bar and pool was also closed the entire lenght of our stay with no expected date of when it would be open. - But aside from all the negatives, we did manage to have a good time and enjoyed our stay and decided we'll try again.

Second year a month prior to our reservation, we noticed that pricing on several units were being reduced by over 500.00. We had already booked our reservation, but thought it would be worth while to check if we can also get a reduction in our rate. The customer service rep was very rude and said that our rate was what it was and they would not make any reductions . I can understand that we already purchased our reservation and it was a unlucky break for us, but I cannot understand the rudeness or lack of understanding from their part. I asked if they even cared about customer loyalty and the fact this is our second year staying there and how this attitude could affect our future plans with them (leaving a bad taste in our mouth) but the customer rep did not seem to be bothered. So we were stuck with our price (unlucky break, but really could of been handled more respectfully by the management instead of being rude). This time around the big pool was closed for at least 3 days. Finding a grill that actually worked was a feat in itself and if you dared asked the facility workers when the pool would be fixed or grills in service again, they barked at you. They are rather snippy if you ask me. Oh and check out is at 10 am, but we had the maid service banging at our door at 8 am. Not gently knocking, but banging as if we werre overstaying. Completely rude!

This year we are foregoing the Sanctuary Resort. The facility is poorly run. We just had bad experience 2 years in a row and cannot even justify paying what they expect for the attitude and crap that comes with it. The grounds seem to be falling apart with a nonchalant attitude about repairs (we'll get to it when we get to it is the attitude). And you''ll be pretty lucky to find any kind of management or help when you need it. If your looking for a friendly face or good customer service look elsewere! Its a shame cause they really could have it all! Its wonderfully laid out, has a lot of the necessities (when they are working!!),. I wonder if the owners of these units know how badly the management is. I would make it my business to know! I

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed in 307-B "Adams Escape" and had an AMAZING time!! It was beautifully decorated, and we felt right at home. It was very clean and nicely taken care of. The kitchen has granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. (I wish I could have taken this kitchen home with me!) Great views of the ocean, VERY clean carpets, flat screen TV's (even in the children room). Great place for anyone looking for vacation spot, whether it be with children or just friends. I will be returing to "Adam's Escape" soon!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed at a new condo resort called the Sanctuary at False Cape. It is a beautiful resort located right on the beach, 3 swimming pools, beautiful condo, top of line exercise equipment. Our condo was brand new and beautifully decorated. It was appropriately named Southern Exposure as it had two balconies that looked south towards the ocean and Back Bay National Park. We could hear the ocean from our bedroom, nice for sleeping. The resort was not too busy in May. Very quiet in the condo, could not hear neighbors. Lots of excellent restaurants in the Virginia Beach area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We stayed in B-415 at the Sanctuary and had an amazing week. The Sanctuary is right on the oceanfront, not semi-oceanfront, it's right on the beach. The condo we stayed in, "Fair Dinkum" was decorated beautifully and had brand new beds, a giant (and I do mean giant)Flat Screen TV, smaller flat screens in all the other bedrooms, everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. This was by far the best vacation experience we have had at Virginia Beach. The place was spotless, very roomy and with pools, hot tub, gym, library, snack bar, game room with pool table, foosball table and 2 big arcade-type video games just downstairs the kids didn't get bored in the evening. But the best part was it had lots of other kids around for ours to meet and play with, it was a perfect vacation. With the kids totally entertained, we could actually sit back and relax for once. The beach is huge and life guards are right next door at the Wildlife Nature Preserve. Our condo called "Fair Dinkum", (don't ask, I have no idea what it means), was brand new and one of the very best , definitely great furniture, great beds, lots of extras, even had linens. You can see both the ocean and the bay from the balcony,(great for early morning coffee, eating lunch or a romantic dinner) and you can see who's at the pool, hot tub or adults only bar-pool from the inside balcony. There was even a jet ski and canoe rental place right across the street, for our teenagers. Anyway, our family had a great time, and came home totally relaxed and tan. The kids are already asking when we are going back. We plan on returning as soon as possible. B-415 is truely a luxurious condo, the pictures didn't even do it justice, high-end everything, they really didn't skimp on anything, and we will definitely be returning next year for some more fun in the ocean and to meet some new friends at the resort. Very friendly and helpful staff, much better than dealing with Siebert Realty and getting a single cottage, with not even as much room as the condo, and with only a pool or a foosball table for entertainment. When you are in a cottage, sometimes you have the right aged kids next door for your kids to play with, but more often not. Sanctuary is a much better bet and is right on the oceanfront!!! The best!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmy1021
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We, family of five-one teenager and twins age 4, stayed one week in a three bedroom ocean view. The unit was immaculate with everything we needed. Two rainy days so we took advantage of all the games and videos as well as a trip to local mall, Virginia Beach shops and aquarium. Our beach was great. Not too crowded, lifeguards on nearby public beach-short walk. The courtyard pools are great for tanning. They're kid friendly but get a little crowded about 4p.m. after the little ones get up from nap time. Everything shuts down at about 8 p.m. If you want nightlife there's a bar/honky-tonk place right behind the Sanctuary. Other than that you have to go into Virginia Beach which is about 45 minute drive. Lots of grills at pool side took care of dinner most nights. Pizza delivery available as well as a restaurant and beer/wine/snack store on premises.Two great fitness centers and plenty of books to borrow in the Sanctuary libraries.
We already booked for next summer!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We were looking for a true beach vacation - no honky-tonk, fast food restaurants or boardwalk. We found it at Sandbridge Beach and the Sanctaury Resort. Our condo was clean, had a great view of both beach and bay, and was very nicely furnished. The Sanctuary had great amenities - three pools, great beach. We took our three young grandchildren and it was great. Reminded us of the North Carolina Outer Banks back in the '60's before it became so commercialized. We took the kids to VA Beach one day - about a 30 m. drive - to the boardwalk amusement area. We also visited the VA Aquarium - very nice. It was great to have VA Beach nearby if you wanted it for restaurants, shopping, etc. though that was not our thing. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Realty at False Cape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Realty at False Cape

Address: 3700 Sandpiper Road S, Virginia Beach, VA 23456 (Formerly Sanctuary Resort at False Cape)
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Virginia Beach
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Found... Rising majestically from the pristine sands of the Sandbridge Beach section of Virginia Beach. This is Virginia's Outer Banks, which has unspoiled coastlines and awe-inspiring sunsets. The Sanctuary Realty's luxury oceanfront resort offers vacation condos with designer decor and state-of-the-art amenities. Visit the Sanctuary at False Cape, where you can take a morning run along the coast, bask in the sun's glorious rays by one of three sparkling pools, or stroll on your own oceanfront boardwalk. So much to do... dine on delicious seafood, shop at world class stores, play a round of championship golf, enjoy a night on the town, deep sea or surf fish, or tour Back Bay. Whatever you desire, the Sanctuary Realty condos have it all! We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Resort At False Cape Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Realty at False Cape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.