We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of North End Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
North End Pizza
1340 N Great Neck Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23454 (Northeast Virginia Beach)
(757) 496-0758
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 1,256 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Average at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

First, as of Labor Day 2012, they were cash-only at the ice cream counter, no credit cards. I note other reviewers here sometimes say cash only, some say credit cards accepted, but since the pizza and ice cream counters are separate they may have different options.

On to the food. Priced right to get the family filled on hot, NY pizza, by the slice or whole pies. Menu is broad enough to satisfy everyone, pasta, subs, and burgers. Separate ice cream counter with both regular and soft-serve, big banana splits and sundaes. Service - it's a counter place, so as long as someone takes your order and gives you food, there's not much to say about it.

Worthwhile to feed a big group, but there are plenty of other pizzerias nearby, just as good or better. No idea how it got such a high ranking, it's really nothing special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier Station, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service & Long Wait!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Called on a Wed around 7pm & was immediately put on hold. Once on the phone, staff was rude, seemed annoyed that I did not know hotel ph# & not happy in general to take my order. Hung up before I could get total, had to call back to tell them I wanted to pay by ph with my cd, was put on hold again. Told it would be approx 45 mins, it was over an hr. Pizza was good, would have been better if it was somewhat hot though.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central, ma.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ok for a quick snack but there are better places nearby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

stopped in for a quick snack after being at the beach for hours. Each ordered a plain slice. They came quickly but were very thin and greasy. We had to use our napkins to soak up the grease on top before we could eat them. The pizza had good taste and came hot. But there are better places nearby.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They take most credit cards!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We ate there yesterday (8-25-12) and four days this week (multiple times twice!). We just got home to Rockville, Md. The service was great. Maybe they were all cash two years ago when we first came to VA Bch (I dont' remember; I carry cash). But this place is great. My daughter (9) is picky, but she BEGS for their pepperoni pizza. She begged us to go back one more time after we had the car loaded (we were across the street at the Sheraton). I used my Amex for every bill. It didn't appear that they had just gotten credit card access. Everyone on on staff was good to go.

Bottom line: Great NY Pizza, great strombolis, great ice cream parlor, great service. I haven't tasted everything, but I've liked or loved everything I've tasted. If you go to VA Bch and like NY pizza, go here. The staff are great.

Not sure what happened to those who had bad customer service experiences. Ours (over two trips and probably 11 or more interactions) have been consistently excellent.

We hope to revisit many times.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Delivery to Virginia Beach Hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Holiday Inn North End of Virginia Beach
Arrived late, kids hungry. Called and they accommodated 11:30pm call. Speedy delivery, polite and curtious. Good Value.
Excellent Pizza - thin crusted NYC style.
Excellent fries
VERY GOOD gyro but meat a tad dry
Very good steak and cheese.
I don't rave about pizza but this is really good - probably great right out of oven.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North End Pizza also viewed

 

Been to North End Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North End Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.