We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star look with a 2 star feel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Founders Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Founders Inn and Spa to your Saves list
The Founders Inn and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“4 star look with a 2 star feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Bad: Stayed with friends and family for the New Year package that included dinner and music. I think I was surprised to find the rooms unclean because the grounds and interior of the hotel look beautiful... very charming. But, while taking a shower I noticed used bath products and pubes on the restroom floor. Seemed like they only bothered to make the beds and wipe the windows.
Good: The 5 course dinner at the restaurant was delicious. The service could have been better.
Overall, great hotel for a group of friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsolutions, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear Webster117:
Thank you for the compliment on the grounds and interior of the hotel. I am extremely embarrassed that the bathroom in your room was not cleaned properly. This is completely unacceptable and something we take very seriously. I apologize that you had this terrible experience and would be very interested in speaking with you for additional information.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Melanie Bowman
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    166
    78
    34
    40
See reviews for
181
187
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Made a reservation for the spa package. After leaving several messages, never was contacted by spa for our appointment. Our son left for deployment early so we had to cancel our hotel reservation. Ended up booking another reservation just to get away. Called again for spa appointment...no response. The room was nice, except the toilet gurgled all night. Went swimming in the pool which was in another bldg. Yikes. Thought the pool liner was suppose to be a mottled color...was not!Moldy filthy pool. The hot tub was worse.My husband took a shower after swimming and was told the lockers were for Spa clients only. He had his personal things in the shower stall marked for non spa guests. No door, just a shower curtain. Someone stole money from his wallet, removed his drivers license but did replace the license. If you do decide to stay here...watch your valuables even when no other guests are around. Be aware when employees clean the spa/ stock the towels. Also, security doors were not shutting properly, leaving the door often unlocked.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsolutions, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Dear Apattytude:
I do apologize that you did not receive a return call from our Spa. I have addressed this matter with our Spa Manager in an effort to improve our performance. Our indoor pool does have some color variations and pitting as we need to resurface this pool, but we will not close the indoor pool until we open the outdoor pools at the very end of May. Lastly, I was saddened to learn that money was taken from your husband’s wallet while in the spa locker room. We do offer lockers to our spa and fitness member guests. I am sorry that we did not offer this to your husband. Please contact me directly, so that we can discuss your disappointment and try and resolve.
Melanie Bowman
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed here and yes the place is very nice. There were several complaints from my large group of 10+ rooms. The ice machine on the first night had al kinds of mold from the side of the machine going into the ice. The next day it was broken so we had to goto the 2nd floor for ice. Again the ice was so dirty we then hoped that the 3rd floor would be better but it wasn't. They have nothing for free including the coffee which you have to pay for. We did hiold an event there and that was done perfectly. I like the Thurday pasta night too. For the money I just thought a coofee and a roll in the morning would be included and the ice would be clean. At the time of the reservation they also don't tell you about the $11.00 a day resort charge, they said it was for all the ammenties but we came in the dead of winter so we did not take part in the ammenties.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsolutions, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear cnjwalton: Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your recent stay. I am glad that you found the property to be nice and that your event went very smoothly. I do apologize that you were not made aware of the resort fee at the time of booking or during the check-in process. While coffee and a roll are not complimentary, we do have a fully stocked Executive Club available to guests who pay the Resort Fee. This private area has chips, sodas and other snack foods available daily plus complimentary hors d'oeuvres, beer and wine each evening, Sunday through Thursday. In addition we provide valet parking, USA Today delivered to your room, WiFi, local calls - all included the Resort Fee. Our wonderful Fitness Center and indoor pool are also great amenities many of our guests enjoy this time of year. I am sorry that you were not able to utilize any of these benefits during your stay and do hope that you will take advantage of them during your next visit.
I am most disturbed over the ice machine issue you experienced. I have checked all seven ice machines in our guest areas. I have also pulled the logs for each machine to ensure that filters were changed on schedule and that the machines' auto-cleaning cycle was properly operating. We take cleanliness very seriously so we have also manually cleaned each unit to ensure the quality of the ice produced. Again, I do apologize and can assure you that we will continue to pay particular attention to the ice machines.
Melanie Bowman
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

This is our second stay at the Founders Inn (stayed in September 2010) and we found our second stay even more enjoyable than the first. In September 2010 we were able to enjoy outdoor swimming and a outdoor movie by the pool in addition to magnificant spa facilities. This time we stayed in an elegantly decorated two room suite with flatscreens in each room. My electronic reader was able to acess WIFI from our room which made my internet acess a breeze. We loved the Thursday night "ALL YOU CAN EAT" individually prepared pasta dinner that included sea food and beef pasta choices, as well as a stocked salad station and a delicious desert buffet. We also ordered two reasonably priced bottles of wine that complemented the dinner. The staff is friendly and accommodating and our stay has been a joy with indoor swimming in the midst of harsh wintery weather throughout the country. I would recommend the Founders Inn with out reservation. Having vacationed in Virginia Beach for the last 25 years, I would rate this hotel at the top of the heap.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsolutions, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Dear Vetash5:
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Founders Inn and Spa. I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay as well as your September visit. We have completed our guest room renovation and now have flat screen TVs and WiFi in all 240 of our guest rooms, as well as new carpet, draperies, bedding, and much, much more. Our Spa continues to be very popular, with the indoor and outdoor pools first on everyone's list.
In addition to the fabulous Pasta Night on Thursdays, we have just kicked off Stir Fry Night on Tuesdays. The concept is very similar to Pasta Night, with your all you can eat entrees personally prepared right before your eyes.
Thank you again for being our guest, and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Melanie Bowman
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed here for our son's wedding and it was delightful. The inn has a colonial feel and the staff was really friendly. We had a little difficulty with appointments and getting information in the planning stages, but the wedding was fabulous and everything was really well done. Everyone who stayed here had great things to say about the inn. They have both an indoor and outdoor pool, as well as a spa and very nice work out area. The setting is lovely and the food was delicious and the restaurants were reasonable and family friendly with free buffet breakfast for the kids.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsolutions, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear Traveler32904:
Thank you for being our guest, and for having such a monumental event here with us. I'm thrilled that you and your guests had a wonderful visit, and that the wedding was delightful. The ceremony was beautiful in the Atrium next to the Christmas tree! I do hope you will be able to visit us again and take full advantage of our resort-style Spa as well as the other amenities we provide. Congratulations to you and your son, and have a very happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We booked a room for us and a room for our son and his family (includes a 3 year old). We had a large two room suite (king bedroom, living room, two bathrooms) and our son had a large king room with a fireplace). The rooms were spotless and very charming. Also had hanging large screen tvs, our room had two of them. The Thanksgiving dinner was beyond superb. It was gourmet. Although there was a large crowd waiting to get in and plenty of tables, they never let too many in at once so no one would have to wait in the buffet line. As hotel guests we did not have to wait at all. Later that evening they put out cookies, milk and cider in lounge areas. It was decorated for Christmas already and quite beautiful. The also had an executive lounge available, which had drinks and snacks for free. The grounds were also very beautiful and well maintained. The staff - very accomodating and responded very swiftly to our requests. Breakfast was not included in our rate but was reasonably priced and delicious. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsolutions, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear halouise:
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Our entire staff is thrilled that you, your son and family all enjoyed your visit over Thanksgiving. We are so pleased with our newly renovated guest rooms; and receiving feedback such as yours assures us that we made the right upgrade decisions. Our Colonial charm and warm hospitality are two things we value greatly and I am so glad everyone enjoyed the atmosphere, the milk and cookies, our executive lounge - and most importantly our fabulous staff. Thank you again for choosing to stay at The Founders Inn and spa, and we look forward to your next visit as well!
Melanie Bowman
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owego, New York, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here, on our way to the OBX, because we have a friend in the area. We had a great stay. Got the best nights sleep there of our whole vacation.
We got a good deal from their website when we booked back in August. The room was very clean. It was decorated in a very homey fashion.

No complaints. We stayed one night and didn't have any trouble.

Ordered Champagne and Strawberries as an extra for our room. They were both very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsolutions, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Dear whoward:
Thank you for being our guest and for your review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your next stay with us. We do offer great internet specials and some incredible packages including spa treatments, dinner and/or breakfast. Hopefully you can take advantage of some additional services the next time you are in Virginia Beach.
Melanie Bowman
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Founders Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Founders Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.