We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but Neglected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Founders Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Founders Inn and Spa to your Saves list
The Founders Inn and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Marietta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful but Neglected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

This once must have been very exquisite but it now is neglected. We were there for my daughters wedding and had many out of town guests stay from 1-3 nights. From afar it is very beautiful but the rooms were not clean, the common areas were not kept clean, no detailed cleaning had been done in quite some time. The housekeeping and dining staff were friendly but the front desk staff were unconcerned. The facility just doesn't look like it is maintained very well. The formal garden for the wedding was great and the reception was wonderful, food is very good, but honestly, the guest rooms had a lot be be desired. They ran out of regular coffee (for three days), we had a problem in the first room we were in and they did move us but to a smaller room, and they "masked" the repair only to put our parents in the same room. Until they can do a better job at maintaining this facility we would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    161
    77
    34
    39
See reviews for
177
184
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

I live in Virginia Beach and for the past two year have purchased the Terrace Club Dining Card wich offers discounts for dining and accommodations. I have stayed there several times and this past time I was not too happy about my room. There was a weird smell to it, the carpet was dirty and the tiles in the bathtub had mildew spots. In addition to that there was a wet floor sign in the carpeted hallway and a big wet spot(don't know where it came from, but I thought it was weird). The staff is always friendly, the pool is great, nice workout room, beautiful grounds and good restaurants(although a bit pricey without a dining membership.)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Great Hotel. This a great Hotel for those that want to travel to Virginia Beach. You get the best of both worlds, Beach and Hotel. Hotel has a great pool for the kids and a Spa for the spouse. They have a tennis court and the indoor pool if it rains. Rooms were very comfortable, clean and have plenty of space. Beach is only a 10 minute drive.

I can't wait to go back in August. This is truly our favorite spot and don't mind sharing with others.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca, new york
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

My granddaughter and I stayed two nights in the James building - room was clean, beds were great. We each had a massage at the spa, enjoyed the best breakfast buffet each morning, relaxed playing billards in the pub. Tried the pool and she even tried the water slide. Was disappointed that the hot tub wasn't working. The staff from the front desk to the waitors and cleaning staff were all polite, friendly and eager to make our visit enjoyable. The buildings and grounds were beautiful and very well kept.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

My wife and I visited friends in the area that recommended the Founders to us for our visit. I would have to say it was a pleasant suprise when we arrived. From the start, we were greeted warmly at the door and by the front desk staff. Our room was comfortable and had a wondeful view of the gardens located off the back of the building. My wife and I could not decide between the shade of the porch in the rocking chairs or the sun pool side. Our friends brought their children who enjoyed the pool slide to the point of exhaustion. If you are in the area and need a comfortable family friendly place to stay this is my choice!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

PLEASE AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS.

Stayed here for my friend's wedding at the end of May and woke up the morning I was leaving to find a bed bug attached to my...behind. Ugggh. The Spa Manager came to take a report with someone from her Security team - it was a sham, the Security team member was taking notes on a scratch piece of paper. They said they would be in touch in the next 2 days - it has now been over 2 weeks. I had to have all of my clothes professionally cleaned and visit the doctor. I have now left 3 voicemails for management with no response - when will they get back to me???

Also - I booked the hotel via Priceline and when I checked in they tried to sneak in a 'Resort Fee'. The manager then agreed to remove the fee, as if he was doing me a favor.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staples401, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2009
At the Founders Inn we take the comfort of our guests very seriously and appreciate being made aware of a potential bed bug incident. The insect in question was not a bed bug. It is not known how the insect arrived in the room and we have been reassured by an exterminator that it was an isolated incident. Although the Resort Fee is disclosed on Priceline, we felt it appropriate to waive the fee in this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

I stayed in the Queen Suite for my son's graduation from Law School. I had made my revservations 9 months before, but still was out in one of the lodges where I paid $210 plus tax a night. There was my daughter, son-in-law, their baby, me and my other son. I let my daughter stay in the main room. My other son and I had the queen pullout room. Both rooms are very dark and need the lamps on during the day, The carpet was buckeled. The pull out bed was so uncomfortable, it was a joke. My son ended up sleeping on the sofa cusions on the floor. There were four plug-ins in the room -- all taken by lamps, tv, phone. We only had one plug for charging our phones- in the bathroom. There was no remote for the TV, the furniture was damanged -- side of coffee table missing, knobs missing. There was almost always dirty room service dishes sitting on a table outside of my room. The staff was cold and sometimes plain rude. I could have overlooked all of this if it weren't for the bathroom! The bathroom was so tiny, there was nowhere to put makeup bags. Between the bed and bathroom, I was just so uncomfortabe I even contemplated leaving. I would not stay there again. I can't believe they are 4 stars-- they are more like a Mom & Pop place along the highway. (although the outside is pretty.) There are a lot better places nearby, that charge less, plus give you a nice free breakfast. Also, I came with an expensive pair of diamond earrings, and went home without them. I did file a lost report with the hotel and a police report, though -- nothing came of it. When I was checking out, no one asked if I had a nice stay -- they seem to know better than to ask that question.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Founders Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Founders Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.