We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Founders Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Founders Inn and Spa to your Saves list
The Founders Inn and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Gracious staff. Clean, comfortable rooms with a mini-fridge. Not the newest but well-kept. Wifi available. Lovely property with nice gardens, walking paths, and public spaces. Tasty breakfast buffet. They allowed us to bring our (well-behaved) dog, which is so great and what originally brought us here many years ago! Nice for couples or a get-away with your BFFs, also family-friendly. Easy drive to the beach, or you can use their shuttle. Outdoor pool area also has fountains and a wading pool for the littles, and has a water-slide (embrace your inner child...you know you want to)! Haven't tried the spa services yet, but the facility is very attractive. We've been guests several times and will continue to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear S T,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your continued patronage! It is good to hear that you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel, including the pool, restaurant, and complimentary wifi. The spa is lovely and we encourage you to try spa services on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    171
    79
    35
    41
See reviews for
183
194
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel that offers everything a you need for a great family vacation.
This hotel offers a very convenient shuttle to and from the beach that we used almost daily!
Excellent indoor and outdoor pool when your not at the beach and the rooms are comfortable and clean.
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Wizard-of-Oz-2012,

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and amenities during your stay! As summer winds down, we are excited for our Fall events, such as the Grand Illumination. We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I loved the architectural detail and traditional feel of the hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I was there for a training seminar so I didn't get to take advantage of all the hotel had to offer but I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Wall4562,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We pride ourselves in offering a unique product for our guests. We hope that you will get the chance to join us again soon so that you can enjoy all of the amenities that we have to offer.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The New York Chapter was stressed out to the max. Planning for our event started a year before and still little things were popping up. The major task entailed making sure that there was something for everyone to enjoy.
The Banquet Manager at the Founders Inn had the professionalism and expertise to not only soothe our tattered nerves but make our event a overwhelming success. The Grounds, food, staff, were all excellent and everyone wants to return.

Room Tip: I've machines are on every other floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Art J,

We are happy to hear that your event was successful. Our team works hard to ensure that every event goes as seamless as possible so that you can enjoy your time with us. We appreciate your business with us. Please join us again soon, we'd love to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hill, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We chose this hotel to celebrate our 4th Anniversary. Oceanfront hotels were just too expensive and this one seemed to have great reviews and was a close drive to the beach and our concert venue. We didn't really know what to expect but went in with an open mind. The Founders Inn totally exceeded our expectations! Upon our arrival we were warmly welcomed by having doors opened for us, professional & friendly service at every turn and coordination of a cab. Our dinner at The Swan Terrace was divine and our server was the best we have ever had! + amazing wine! They even sent chocolate covered strawberries to our room! The spa was excellent! The atmosphere was just what we wanted and the pool area and pool side service was a plus! The grounds were gorgeous and we loved the classic & calm environment! We are already making plans to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Beth F,

Thank you for your review! Congratulations on your anniversary; we are happy that you decided to celebrate with us. We are glad that each aspect of your stay was conducive to a relaxing celebration . Please join us again soon, perhaps even for our lovely holiday events!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Overall, we really enjoyed our experience at the Founder's Inn. The room, although not decorated to our taste, was clean and spacious. The water came out hot and strong in the shower. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room service was yummy, and we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the Swan Terrace that was connected to the hotel. The grounds are very well kept, and we also enjoyed a walk around Regent University which is connected to the grounds. The pool was nice, although I wish it were deeper. I think it only goes to 3 feet. But it was great for playing around with our young children. Also, we found a terrific deal with Jetsetter. Check it out! Also, the bed was very comfortable. Pillow top was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear BenjaminSpal,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide exemplary service so that each guest enjoys their time with us. The restaurant and pool are great amenities of the hotel that add to the guest's experience. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Founders Inn and Spa last weekend. We had obtained an on-line deal which reduced the cost of the hotel significantly. While this hotel is located on the grounds of a Christian University and is owned by the Christian Broadcasting Network (CBN) it is a decidedly secular environment with excellent restaurants and bars. There is no evidence of any religious affiliation; even the television menu lacks the CBN channel.

The rooms are clean and attractive with nice flat screen TVs and nicely sized bathrooms. The furniture is colonial.

The Founders Inn and Spa has two pools: one inside and one outside (with a slide). The outside pool is large and well appointed. Children will have a great time at this pool.

A strong point of the Inn is its large work out facility. My daughter is a cross-trainer and we spent over an hour in the facility lifting weights and doing specific exercises. The facility has TVs, water, towels, various cardio workout machines, and both free weights and weight lifting equipment.

My daughter and I ate at the informal restaurant on the grounds. We both had half a game hen which was presented on a bed of sweet potato fries. The meal was excellent. My daughter (who is 26) had a margarita which was made from all fresh ingredients. No mixes. It was also very good. I also had a glass of sparkling wine from Spain that was nice and dry.

I highly recommend this Inn and Spa. The grounds are quiet and relaxing. Also, the management definitely cares about the property. The Inn runs a shuttle to the beach at convenient times.

Room Tip: My only complaint is that the Inn restaurants open up at 11 am on Sunday which is the checkout time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Trinka4788,

Thank you for your recent review! It is good to hear that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Our pool, fitness center, and restaurants all lend to a relaxing stay. Guests are able to enjoy the colonial style with modern amenities. On Sundays, the Swan Terrace opens from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. for their full breakfast buffet. They then open again at 11:30 a.m. until 2 p.m. for Sunday Brunch.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Founders Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Founders Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.