We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family hotel if visiting Virgina Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Founders Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Founders Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Founders Inn and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect family hotel if visiting Virgina Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Really nice hotel that offers everything a you need for a great family vacation.
This hotel offers a very convenient shuttle to and from the beach that we used almost daily!
Excellent indoor and outdoor pool when your not at the beach and the rooms are comfortable and clean.
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Wizard-of-Oz-2012,

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and amenities during your stay! As summer winds down, we are excited for our Fall events, such as the Grand Illumination. We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    141
    66
    28
    39
See reviews for
143
160
18
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I loved the architectural detail and traditional feel of the hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I was there for a training seminar so I didn't get to take advantage of all the hotel had to offer but I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Wall4562,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We pride ourselves in offering a unique product for our guests. We hope that you will get the chance to join us again soon so that you can enjoy all of the amenities that we have to offer.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The New York Chapter was stressed out to the max. Planning for our event started a year before and still little things were popping up. The major task entailed making sure that there was something for everyone to enjoy.
The Banquet Manager at the Founders Inn had the professionalism and expertise to not only soothe our tattered nerves but make our event a overwhelming success. The Grounds, food, staff, were all excellent and everyone wants to return.

Room Tip: I've machines are on every other floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Art J,

We are happy to hear that your event was successful. Our team works hard to ensure that every event goes as seamless as possible so that you can enjoy your time with us. We appreciate your business with us. Please join us again soon, we'd love to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hill, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We chose this hotel to celebrate our 4th Anniversary. Oceanfront hotels were just too expensive and this one seemed to have great reviews and was a close drive to the beach and our concert venue. We didn't really know what to expect but went in with an open mind. The Founders Inn totally exceeded our expectations! Upon our arrival we were warmly welcomed by having doors opened for us, professional & friendly service at every turn and coordination of a cab. Our dinner at The Swan Terrace was divine and our server was the best we have ever had! + amazing wine! They even sent chocolate covered strawberries to our room! The spa was excellent! The atmosphere was just what we wanted and the pool area and pool side service was a plus! The grounds were gorgeous and we loved the classic & calm environment! We are already making plans to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Beth F,

Thank you for your review! Congratulations on your anniversary; we are happy that you decided to celebrate with us. We are glad that each aspect of your stay was conducive to a relaxing celebration . Please join us again soon, perhaps even for our lovely holiday events!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Overall, we really enjoyed our experience at the Founder's Inn. The room, although not decorated to our taste, was clean and spacious. The water came out hot and strong in the shower. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room service was yummy, and we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the Swan Terrace that was connected to the hotel. The grounds are very well kept, and we also enjoyed a walk around Regent University which is connected to the grounds. The pool was nice, although I wish it were deeper. I think it only goes to 3 feet. But it was great for playing around with our young children. Also, we found a terrific deal with Jetsetter. Check it out! Also, the bed was very comfortable. Pillow top was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear BenjaminSpal,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide exemplary service so that each guest enjoys their time with us. The restaurant and pool are great amenities of the hotel that add to the guest's experience. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myersville, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Founders Inn and Spa last weekend. We had obtained an on-line deal which reduced the cost of the hotel significantly. While this hotel is located on the grounds of a Christian University and is owned by the Christian Broadcasting Network (CBN) it is a decidedly secular environment with excellent restaurants and bars. There is no evidence of any religious affiliation; even the television menu lacks the CBN channel.

The rooms are clean and attractive with nice flat screen TVs and nicely sized bathrooms. The furniture is colonial.

The Founders Inn and Spa has two pools: one inside and one outside (with a slide). The outside pool is large and well appointed. Children will have a great time at this pool.

A strong point of the Inn is its large work out facility. My daughter is a cross-trainer and we spent over an hour in the facility lifting weights and doing specific exercises. The facility has TVs, water, towels, various cardio workout machines, and both free weights and weight lifting equipment.

My daughter and I ate at the informal restaurant on the grounds. We both had half a game hen which was presented on a bed of sweet potato fries. The meal was excellent. My daughter (who is 26) had a margarita which was made from all fresh ingredients. No mixes. It was also very good. I also had a glass of sparkling wine from Spain that was nice and dry.

I highly recommend this Inn and Spa. The grounds are quiet and relaxing. Also, the management definitely cares about the property. The Inn runs a shuttle to the beach at convenient times.

Room Tip: My only complaint is that the Inn restaurants open up at 11 am on Sunday which is the checkout time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Trinka4788,

Thank you for your recent review! It is good to hear that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Our pool, fitness center, and restaurants all lend to a relaxing stay. Guests are able to enjoy the colonial style with modern amenities. On Sundays, the Swan Terrace opens from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. for their full breakfast buffet. They then open again at 11:30 a.m. until 2 p.m. for Sunday Brunch.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel feels very old and worn out . Only the main lobby and grounds are impressive. It did not have HD TV or enough secular movie channels. The first night we complained about a very noisy air conditioner and were told all the air conditioner units were loud because it is an old establishment. Our mini fridge was broken and the replacement we were given did not work either. I developed a headache in the night from the noise and complained once again. We were moved to a room with much less noise and a working fridge. I think the think the hotel needs to check noise levels and appliances of all the rooms before checking patrons in. Our first night there was definitely not worth even the Groupon price we paid for it. The staff was relatively polite though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Asyougo,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate guest feedback as it helps us to continually improve our service and product for all guests. I apologize that your stay was not satisfactory and I am disappointed to hear of the issues that you encountered. We do offer HD televisions, as well as premium cable channels. We are in the process of updating areas of the hotel, including power washing the exterior of the hotel, shampooing and changing carpets, and making repairs throughout the hotel.

Again, thank you for letting us know of our areas of opportunity. We hope to see you soon to experience the improvements we have made.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Founders Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Founders Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.