We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Founders Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Founders Inn and Spa to your Saves list
The Founders Inn and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at Founders Inn based on friend's recommendation. We were not disappointed. We had a queen room. Room was clean and nicely decorated, very cozy. Loved the soft towels in the bathroom. We enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs outside overlooking the lake and fountain. Air conditioning was slightly noisy, room didn't get as cool as we would have liked. We ate at the Swan Terrace. Food was delicious and service was excellent. Definitely would return when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Kimmely,

We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at the Founders Inn & Spa! I will pass on your comments regarding your wonderful food and beverage experience to the Executive Chef. Please join us again soon for another stay and another visit to the Swan Terrace.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    162
    77
    34
    39
See reviews for
177
185
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a queen room June 16, 2013. It was tastefully decorated and clean. The queen bed was comfortable. The grounds at the Inn are beautiful. Although we had no children with us the pool had families and a separate small pool area seemed to entertain the children with its slide. A small outdoor bar is located at the pool with a limited menu. No outside food or beverage is allowed in the pool area. A small outdoor bar is located at the pool with a limited menu. The pool area is nice, but nothing great. In addition to the pool there is a nice play area with a swing set and slides on site for small children.

Parking was included on site.

Breakfast was not included in our room rate but there is a restaurant on site. Because it was Father's Day the Brunch with Live Music was $34.95 per adult, children 5-12 $17.95.

A shuttle runs a couple times a day to the beach. This hotel seems to be more in the Chesapeake area than the beach area. I would estimate a shuttle would take about 20-30 minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear TempeGrandma,

Thank you for your review of the Founders Inn & Spa! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the colonial décor of the hotel, as well as our relaxing pool area. We seek to provide a unique and quaint experience for all of our guests! Come back soon!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Great pool and slide for the kids, convenient location near highway. Small rooms, average service. Breakfast has fresh fruits and usual staple of foods. Exercise room has adequate equipment, closed captioning did not work on TVs above treadmill.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Tartebroeck,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful hotel amenities. Our outdoor pool and waterslide is a great way to cool down during the hot summer months in Virginia Beach! Please join us again soon for a relaxing stay, as well as to enjoy a special dining event like Tuesdays on the Terrace or our Independence Eve Cookout!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My daughter was dreaming of a wedding with colonial venu(miltary notalgia) close to an airport and one that would provide everything in one package. She found the venue and never dreamed that the rooms(bridal room-presidential suite-exquisite), food, staff, and beautiful location would fit so perfectly with her dream.

The event planner, Molly Ann McGowen, was literally there at "our beckon call" to follow through with all of Andrea's wishes. All of our guest felt like they were all a cruise. The staff was so polite, friendly, and helpful.

The Preidential Suite is a perfect room for the bridal party to get ready and then then perfect room for parties after the rehearsal and the wedding. The room was exquisitely decorated and laid out. The balcony area was beautiful for socializing and pictures.

The food for the wedding was wonderful and everything offered in the packages was there. The bride and groom had a wonderful time with the chef picking out the menu for the wedding.
The groom(although a Naval fighter pilot professionally) has cooking as his favorite hobby and loved the professionalism of the chef and was able to identify with his specialty.

The grounds and gardens are beautiful. Although the wedding was moved inside because of the weather(beautiful Atrium though), we were able to take many pictures during rehearsal and before the wedding in the garden.

My daughter is a Navy LTJG(Navy Nurse Corp) and her husband now also a LTJG(as state before Navy pilot) and The Founders Inn was such a perfect location as a hotel built around the founding father of our nation.

As parents of the bride, it was so nice to have hardly any worries and to be able to enjoy the wedding.

The only recommendations for the hotel would be to increase the size of the room for the reception. The tables and dance floor was someone pushed together. Also, to be aware of the parties beside each other. The music in the next room overshadowed some of the speakers in our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that we could host your family and friends as you celebrated your daughter’s nuptials! The hotel and guest rooms are certainly well-appointed to serve as a beautiful wedding venue. We will pass on your kind comments to the staff! Please join us again soon for another wonderful stay!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I only stayed at this hotel for the one night on a business trip, but the AARP rate was the lowest rate in the area. The hotel was very clean and comfortable; the room was large and had a nice view of their pond.

The only issue was the very loud a/c unit that kept cycling on and off all night. Woke me up several times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Slevinelaw,

Thank you for your review of the Founders Inn & Spa. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you stayed in one of our lovely lake view rooms. Thank you for bringing areas of opportunity to our attention so that we can better the guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricmond
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It is 02:32am and i am up waiting on the gym to open at 04:00 where i live so i decided to pen my review after having such a great weekend at the Founders Inn. I booked the weekend getaway around the 18-05-2013 for 08-06-2013 so i was looking forward for the 8th May to get started. Work was so so stressfull and hectic for the past week fews that i almost forgot that i was going to the Founders Inn but when Thursday 06-06-2013 arrived i started mellowing out because i knew i would get ride of my stress over the weekend. I asked for early check in,if at all possible, we got there two hours before check in (my watch was 2 hours fast instead of 1 hour like i like it) but when we got there we couldnt get in early due to two weddings being done. I wasn't disappointment for two basically reasons, i wasnt paying additional monies for the early check in and i had an opportunitity to watch the wedding(being nosy of course). At 16:03pm the room was ready and we were checked in. First i have to say that Craig(i am horrible with names but it is that well well mannered consertative bloke at work at the front desk) was very professional as usual. He said "welcome back" which is a very nice way to show your loyal returning guest that we were appreciated(i've been going now for the past 1.5 years approximately and since 2013 this is our 3rd trip) Anyway, i've taken up enough of your time so i will make this easier -i had such a great time being in the 1 bed/palour. The bed which i always seems to overlook was so comfortable(suffer from chronic backpain so couldnt sleep on the bed all the time but for a weekend it was great to have the softness on my body). When i woke up at 06:00 i was disappointment because that was one of the best sleep i've had for the past two weeks(due to the stress at work). Free breakfast came with the package and normally we wouldn't go get the breakfast but we took up the offer this time. The staff at the Swan Terrance were awesome as usual and the eggs and pancake with lowfat milk was awesome as well. I cannot say enough away the Founders Inn that will let you experience what we feel when we go there. Give it a try for yourself and feel the warm and the comfort that you will have. Note it is not for everyone; if you like noise, loud people if you like modern cheaper furnitures it isnt for you. If you like peace, tranqulitiy friendly staff, great customer service(which is the most important) period or Victorian design (think Founders) then this is the place for you. It is now 14:54am (looking at ABC whilst i was penning this) so i am going to sign off and i hope you enjoy your holiday when you decide to go. Cheers M Allen-Farnan

Room Tip: bed/fire or 1 bed palour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Ms. Allen-Farnan,

Thank you for your loyalty and patronage to the Founders Inn & Spa! I am glad to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us. It is our goal to ensure that each and every guest has a relaxing stay. It is good to hear that your visit to the Swan Terrace was satisfactory. Please join us again soon for another stay and another dining trip to the Swan Terrace!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked this because of a Groupon deal and ended up being pleasantly surprised! The rooms were just "okay"- a bit dated with extremely noisy air conditions; nothing but basic cable and no movie rentals on the TV; you could fee the springs in our beds, which also sloped to the center (pretty uncomfortable- both of them); and nothing in terms of room service. But honestly, for what the rooms cost, it was fine. We weren't really expecting much more than what it was. Plus, they let me bring my little dog for no extra charge. What's awesome about this place are the grounds, which are absolutely beautiful. There is an extremely huge pool with a slide (that was closed because we were there during the fall) but it looked really nice. I will say that I heard/read alot of complaints because they allow people from the city to have a paid membership to the pool, so apparently it gets really crowded, the way a community pool would. If you're there during the fall, like we were, they have an indoor pool as an option, which is always nice. They also have an extremely small hot tub right by the indoor pool, but I would never get in that tub with more than one other person, unless it were people I knew and were comfortable with. I'd say it "holds four" but that'd be cozy and kinda gross if it were strangers. The Spa is really nice and extremely well priced for the experience. My husband and I both left feeling like it was one of the best massages we'd ever had. We would have booked two more if we had stayed longer! Finally, it's worth noting that this place doesn't have much to offer in the surrounding area. If memory serves there's a Waffle House across the street and maybe a couple of chain restaurants within a 10 minute drive. The beach was also a bit of a hike, but VB is good for having plenty of parking and public access. I guess all-in-all I would recommend this place, but probably more for a weekend spa visit, during the off season.

Room Tip: Try for the rooms with the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear TiffanyNoel,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the various amenities we have to offer at the Founders Inn & Spa. Please join us again, perhaps even during the summer months so that you may take advantage of the outdoor pool and special dining event, Tuesdays on the Terrace, at the Swan Terrace. We also offer a complimentary beach shuttle for all hotel guests, which make traveling to the oceanfront quite simple and easy. See you soon!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Founders Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Founders Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.