We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was fine, but there were some quirky things...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Founders Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Founders Inn and Spa to your Saves list
The Founders Inn and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Everything was fine, but there were some quirky things...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend trip to Norfolk. We arrived relatively late and the front desk agent was able to get us a King room rather than the Queen room that was assigned which was nice. The room was huge and well appointed. Quirky #1: There was a fruit tray already in the room, which I thought was nice, but then we got a call after about 5 minutes asking if it was in there and that they would come retrieve it, so that was a little weird. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast room was decent, but a little unorganized. I think they were short staffed making it somewhat chaotic. The buffet is pretty standard, and about $15 per person after tax. The fruit there is unbelievably delicious. To the staff's credit, there were some strawberries in our room on the second night - these apparently intended for us (and not requested to return).

Overall the stay was pleasant. I would stay again. The billing was incorrect and had to call to adjust. Which I don't mind, but it is somewhat annoying because I reminded the front desk agent at checkout to make sure it was correct and she said she would see to it.

Will stay again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: The property is somewhat large, but manageable. If the size is a concern, tell the staff that so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Telamm,

Thank you for your candid feedback on your recent stay with us! We are glad that you enjoyed the fruit on the buffet. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the billing issue upon your departure. Please note that this is not our standard and we strive to provide each guest with flawless service. We hope to see you in the future and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    162
    77
    34
    39
See reviews for
177
185
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We decided to try this place as it was on Group On. The azaleas and dogwoods were blooming and the gardens were lovely. I would like to come back and be able to eat outside and swim in the pool. Our room was a standard Colonial and nice but not great. We did eat at the Swan Terrace and it was delicious. The staff there was great and we celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Lisa S.,

Congratulations on your 25th Wedding Anniversary! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! It certainly is a great time of year to enjoy the blooming gardens. We hope to see you again soon and even to celebrate your 26th Wedding Anniversary!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

staff was wonderful grounds were beautiful conveniently located a great value can t wait to go back we were visiting our son who is stationed in Norfolk with the Navy. Great visit great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Rich S,
I am happy that we were centrally located for your needs and that you could spend some time with your son that is stationed here with the US Navy. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

The beds are absolutely wonderful to sleep on! Prob one of the best I've slept on i wish i could take it home. The Inn it self was decent stay, the ground and surrounding areas are beautiful. I attended a wedding here in April and it was very nice and the food was excellent. Short drive to anything or anywhere you want to go, the beach was an easy 15-20 min drive.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear DRT244,

I am delighted you enjoyed our beds and had a good nights rest. When you are in the market for a new mattress, we have Kingsdown pillow top mattresses. I hope you will visit us again for leisure and have an opportunity to indulge in our spa. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked this hotel on a whim in April of 2013. From the moment we arrived, staff was courteous and the amenities are great. Wifi worked wonderfully (very important to techies!) and the rooms were extremely clean. We ate at the restaurant inside the inn, and the food was outstanding! Our waitress Cierra was exceptional and clearly cared about our dining experience, not just "pretending to care" because she has to like many upscale waitresses. She even engaged us in conversation and helped us choose the best dishes and local wine which were all outstanding. Founders - if you are reading this - keep that girl because she is an outstanding employee!! We also spoke with another employee, Godfrey, who we spoke with for quite some time because we are from the same part of Africa! It is clear that the employees of The Founders Inn really do care about your experience and are not just putting on airs because they have to. One word to the wise - make sure you get here before rush hour as the traffic was bumper to bumper on the highway, although the location does mean easy access to pretty much anywhere you want to go in the area. We did not have time to check out the spa on our short visit, which will have to wait until next time. All in all an excellent value and highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Caitlin,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Founders Inn. I am very proud of our staff and how each employee goes out of their way to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is my pleasure to pass on your high praises to Cierra and Godfrey.

I hope you have a chance to visit again in the future and permit us to pamper you at the spa. We all look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spent two nights here while visiting the Regent University campus. Check-in and check-out were easy. We were given a room in one of the lodges, not in the main building/conference center. Although it faced the main road, we didn't hear any road noises, which was my initial concern. Our room was right across the hall from the elevator and several feet from the front door so there was some noise (not too bad) associated with traffic from people coming and going. I wondered if this is where they put guests who prepay through opaque booking sites? :-). Anyway, the room was nice. I loved the beautiful quilts on the beds and the matching drapes. The beds were also comfortable. They may be a little soft for people who like firmer mattresses, but they were just perfect for me. The room and bathroom were clean. I did notice the pressure in the commode was not that strong but it worked just fine. The big, flat screen TV had great HD quality. Hotel was close to the interstate and right by a main road so it is easy to find. There were plenty of restaurants and shopping places within a five minute drive of the hotel. We crossed the street to eat breakfast at a Waffle House. There is a dining room/restaurant in the hotel but we did not try it. The lobby of the inn and conference center was beautiful and had plenty of "colonial" character. Would be glad to stay there again next time we visit Regent.

Room Tip: If staying in a lodge, ask for a room away from the elevator and front door for less noise.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Surfnshopntravel,

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate knowing what our guests are thinking. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that The Founders Inn was conveniently located for all your interests while in Virginia Beach.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding your room assignment upon your arrival. Rooms are assigned on a space available basis. We do understand the significance of requests as it relates to the overall comfort of our guests. We attempt to accommodate all requests, additionally this is subject to availability. We are happy to note in your guest history that you prefer a room away from elevators, stairwells and any other noisy areas.

I thank you for your feedback and look forward to your next visit with The Founders Inn.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I used a Living Social deal for 2 nights. Nice hotel, nice room, almost 25-30 minutes away from the Virginia Beach boardwalk. There's a Waffle House across the street which My Boyfriend and I were grateful for. The room is very cozy, but the queen bed was extremely soft, not great if you prefer a firm mattress. Really nice big flat screen TV. All in all we had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Ms. Martin,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Founders Inn! Our staff seeks to provide each guest with quality service to make each visit unique and special. Our colonial style and modern amenities allow us to provide a southern hospitality experience! Please join us again soon and we hope you are able to enjoy our restaurants and spa during your next visit!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Founders Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Founders Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.