We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Courtyard.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #14 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here three nights while in town for my nieces wedding. One of my best hotel experiences ever. Rooms were spacious and clean. The location is great and the staff is amazing. They were super friendly and went out of their way to make it visit great. Would stay here again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review of your stay with us! I am glad to hear that you and your husband were able to enjoy the countless amentities that our hotel has to offer, as well as the kindness of our staff members. We enjoy taking the extra steps to make your stay even more special. Please let us know when you are planning a return visit!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    114
    46
    21
    12
See reviews for
128
118
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It's a beautiful beach and beautiful hotel. But best are the beautiful people who work there. Special shout out to Raquel who accommodated us for a day-early arrival, then upgraded us to a Presidential Suite (I'd asked if we could be upgraded to a corner room). WOW! I'll never stay anywhere else at Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: If you're an elite member, ask for a room upgrade. They're happy to make you happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for leaving us review on your nice stay with us! I am happy to hear that Raquel was able to extend your stay and find you one of our most beautiful rooms. At Courtyard South we love giving upgrades to our guests when available, and I am glad that you were able to enjoy it. The beach is gorgeous, stretching for miles along our boardwalk, with countless monuments and artwork around to catch your attention. Let us know when you are planning a return trip!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here over labor day weekend for the rock n roll half as well as a girls weekend birthday getaway. The hotel was in the perfect location for everything and exceptionally clean. We were greeted by Randy and he went above and beyond for us! I have nothing but amazing things to say about the staff at the hotel, Randy and Raquel at guest services were exceptional. They went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. The restaurant staff, Liz, Shekela and Marshall were also amazing. The restaurant staff was so exceptional that during our 3 day stay we only went to a different restaurant once! This staff is truly incredible and made our race/birthday weekend better than we could have ever imagined. Whenever i'm headed to VA Beach this is my hotel!!!!!!! Save our booth for us on the patio :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback on your stay! I am thrilled to learn that Rande, Raquel, Liz, Shakeela, and Marshall were able to make your vacation a little sweeter. We can't wait to host you all again, please let us know when you're ready to make a return trip! Thank you for choosing us for your marathon weekend! We will hold your booth for you!

Thanks again,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for the half marathon over Labor Day weekend. The trip started off awesome, we got there early, Randy and Raquel at the front desk hooked us up with anything we needed. Any time we walked by the front desk and those two were working we left laughing. Our room was clean and had a great view. The bistro staff is AMAZING, yall rock! Liz (we have more bottle caps for you), Marshall (your wings are to die for) and Shekecla (thanks for saving our corner booth for us)!!! We had a great time down there, the staff made us feel at home. Cant wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank for letting us know how fantastic your stay with us was! I am glad that Rande and Raquel were able to assist you with your needs, and that our Bistro staff helped to brighten your day! Our staff at Courtyard South is what makes this hotel such a fun and relaxing place for a getaway. We appreciate your kind words and we hope that you will be back again next year!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We love this hotel the location is great, right on the beach/ boardwalk, and all the staff members are SO friendly and attentive. We had a beautiful view from our room of the ocean /beach, it was so nice sitting out on our private balcony looking at the ocean. There are so many restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the room attendants /housekeepers did a great job everyday keeping the rooms /hotel clean!
The best part of this hotel are the great staff members! They are all very friendly and helpful. Any where we went in the hotel the staff would always say hello & tell us to have a good day.
Our favorite staff members are Rande, Amanda, and Shakeela, they're awesome!!!! I loved getting a Starbucks coffee every morning (skinny vanilla latte w/ an extra shot of expresso!) at the Bistro from Amanda & Shakeela! They are SO friendly and sweet! They made my morning /day start off right!
Our room attendant /housekeeper was wonderful, and patient on the mornings we slept in and relaxed! When we went to the beach late in the morning or to lunch in the afternoon, we always came back to our room clean & perfect, no matter what time of the day.
All the staff members at this hotel are so friendly & personable, which made our vacation /stay at the Marriott the best! That's very important to us.
We had an awesome & relaxing stay. Can't wait to come back to VA beach & stay at the Marriott Courtyard oceanfront south!! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback on your stay with us this summer! I am thrilled to hear that you had such a nice time. Our staff members enjoy making our guest's stay as fun and engaging as possible. The location is within walking distance to many restaurants and stores, as well as other attractions in the area. We hope that if you plan to make a return trip, you will book it with us! Thank you again for taking the time out of your day to leave us such a positive review.

-Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the first time and had a great experience. The hotel is right on the beach and has excellent views, along with a café that has outdoor oceanfront seating-- the perfect way to enjoy the hotel's breakfast buffet. Our room was much bigger than we expected and was clean and comfortable. There is only an indoor pool at this hotel, but with the beach right there it really was not an issue for us. We are kind of gym rats and the gym is pretty small, so we used it for the weights and then just walked the boardwalk. I have to say the staff was some of the friendliest I've encountered (outside of Disneyworld lol). We especially liked Diane, one of the waitresses at the café. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us. I am happy to learn that you and your boyfriend had such a nice visit. The location, convenience of our amentities within the hotel and friendly staff members help to make each guest's experience unique and fun. We would love to host you both again, please let us know when you are planning a return trip to Virginia Beach.

Thanks again,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Every time my family visit VA Beach, we stay at the Courtyard Marriott Oceanfront/South. I love this hotel, the staff is very friendly and very attentive. While riding the elevator down to the lobby, there was a little girl on the elevator with me, she had a pop tart package that she wanted to give to Randy for being so nice to her, I thought that was the most adorable gesture ever. Now the whole time we were there it rain, Thank GOD for the indoor pool, we had several children under the age of 12 with us. I also would like to thank the Marriott for comping my breakfast. Even though I will miss the omelets, the waffles tasted very good. My suite was very nice and very clean as always.

Room Tip: If you have more than 5 people with you request a suite. It will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us! I am thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed the spaciousness of our suites, and the convenience of our indoor pool. I am sorry to hear that it rained throughout your stay, but glad to hear that you made the best of it. Please let us know if and when you are planning to come back and visit again!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Courtyard
Virginia Beach Marriott
Address: 2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, you'll love the spectacular views and location of our Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. Our hotel is located along the Virginia Beach boardwalk in the heart of this beachfront resort, minutes from Oceana Naval Air Station and Dam Neck. All of our spacious rooms and suites feature private, furnished balconies with ocean views, comfortable bedding, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel also offers one-bedroom suites and Jacuzzi rooms. Drop by our oceanfront cafe for a wonderful breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy great local events like the Rock n Roll Half Marathon, Boardwalk Art Show, and Neptune Festival. Visit the nearby Virginia Beach Convention Center. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool, or fitness room. If you're planning an event or business retreat, let us know - our largest space hosts up to 60. Few hotels in Virginia Beach, VA can match our great location, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South to your Saves list