We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and I finally get to mention a staff member by name!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice place and I finally get to mention a staff member by name!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in a presidential suite, which is basically a standard hotel room with another room tacked on to hold the bed. It had a fold out couch with the thinnest mattress possible and two balconies. Microwave, frig, etc. Valet parking is nice, since the lot fills up fast. The bistro in the lobby is nice because you don't have to wait for room service when you just want something fast. I din't hear much noise from adjacent rooms, so that was cool. The staff was helpful, too. When I left my camera battery charger plugged into the wall, Gregory sent it to my house free of charge. So good job Gregory.

Room Tip: Higher floors are farther from the boardwalk crowd and the nearby street performances and therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am however sorry to hear that our Presidential Suite did not meet your expectations. The double balconies, additional living space and open layout are great features of this room type. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the perks of our valet service, the Bistro, and our friendly staff members. Gregory is one of our best associates, and I am glad that he was able to assist you with your phone charger! Thank you again for your feedback, I have forwarded it on to my General Manager.

-Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    117
    47
    21
    12
See reviews for
147
125
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I decided to surprise my girlfriend with a trip to VA Beach and this was the perfect place to help me make our stay very special. Upon arrival the valet, Chris, was super nice and helped us get our bags in the door. The next day, after making check-in super easy, Rachel directed us to an awesome local spot for lunch and made our overall stay an amazing one. Finally, if you're lucky enough to be helped by Shakeela down at the bistro, it'll make a world of difference. She's super bubbly despite not getting any sleep the night before! We can't recommend this hotel enough! Thanks to all the staff!

Room Tip: Request a room at the end of the hall to help avoid the busy elevator.
See more room tips
Green Features: Their practices aren't very noticeable which i guess is a good thing. :)
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff members! We enjoy helping our guests and engaging in friendly conversation whenever we can. I hope that you will consider staying with us on your next visit to the oceanfront. You may contact us any day of the week at (757) 491-6222.

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there on the last week of July. Really clean hotel, with amazing friendly staff. All rooms are oceanfront, like most of the hotels in the area. Only downside of the hotel was the guest rooms with two double beds. Two double beds for 4 people is way too small when most hotels offer two queen beds instead of double beds.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am thrilled to learn that you and your family had a nice vacation with us. Our associates in every department work around the clock to ensure that you are having a great stay away from home. Our hotel was completely renovated just over a year ago, and we work hard to make sure that every room is updated and clean for our guests. I am sorry to hear that your family of four was a bit restricted in our double room, we also offer complimentary rollaway beds, as well as double suites which are equipped with the two full sized beds and a sofa pull out. Please let us know if you plan to return to Virginia Beach in the future so that we may assist you in booking a room that might be more fit for your family's needs.

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were looking for a weekend at the beach and booked late in the season. The Marriott Courtyard had rooms available at comparable prices to other Virginia Beach Hotels. The hotel was very clean and fresh. They asked us which floor we preferred as we checked in early and put us on the top floor in a room with a fantastic beach view and balcony. The Bistro downstairs had a healthy selection - we grabbed breakfast of yogurt, fruit and Starbucks to bring back to our room each morning. Staff was very friendly and we were able to quickly get our car when needed - parking was only $5/day with free valet versus $25 at fancier hotels. Beach was right out the door with an outdoor shower. Wide restaurant selection within walking distance (we loved Cactus Jack).

We would go back in a heartbeat for a last minute beach escape. Don't go for a five star hotel vacation (e.g. no room service, limited amenities) but for a great beach vacation.

Green Features: They change sheets every three days unless you request more. Change towels every day unless you ask for less.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed a quick beach getaway. Our Bistro offers many healthy choices, with a fresh variety of fruit, sandwiches and so much more. It is nice to hear that you were able to take advantage of our amentities, both in and outside of the hotel. Our location has proved to be convenient for all of our guests; we are within walking distance to seafood, pizza, American dining, and countless other restaurants! Thank you again for the great review, and please let us know when you will be visiting again.

-Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We reserved one of the Presidential Suites over July 4th weekend. The room is HUGE!! This suite has a balcony for each room. This was very nice for the fireworks. The suite includes a pull out sofa, so our kids and grandson were able to stay in the "living room" and have their own space. The house keeper was great. We asked him for more towels and he was more than helpful.
The issue with the staff came at the front desk. I felt that any time we asked a question, we were bothering them. I am a Marriott Rewards Gold Member and honestly I expect better. I stay at Marriott Hotels very often and expect a level of service if I am in a city, at a beach or in a rural area. This was not the case here. The front desk staff acted as though they were doing their guests a favor letting them stay there on a holiday weekend.
Again the room and the house keeper was great, the only thing I would recommend is an upgrade to the furniture in the Presidentail Suites. This is the only time I have stayed at this hotel, so I can not talk to the other rooms.
The location is absolutely the best!

Room Tip: If you are looking to book a suite, book it then call the hotel to see what floor you are on. The h...
See more room tips
Green Features: Other than the standard bathroom towel sign, I did not see any environmental-friendly practices.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherThiele, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your room and received some great service from our housekeeping team.

I’d also like to apologize for the service you received from our front desk. Typically we receive excellent comments on our front desk team, as noted in many of our other TripAdvisor reviews. I’m disappointed that we did not live up to these expectations during your stay with us. I’ll be addressing your comments with our front office team, and hope that you would consider us for a future stay so we can show you the best of what Courtyard South has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Warmest reception we have ever experienced when staying at a hotel. Dedicated personal service provided by the front desk staff and throughout the hotel. Clean rooms, great beach location and friendly staff makes you feel like you are at home. Highly recommended to VA Beach goers. Will definitely return in the near future.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are large and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review of your stay with us this past month! I am very happy to hear that our associates were able to make you feel so welcome and comfortable. Our hotel was recently renovated last year, and we take great pride in maintaining the cleanliness and functionality of our guest rooms and main lobby area. Please give us a call when you are ready to book your next stay with us!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff here were truly wonderful! I was very surprised and had a wonderful experience; my children even commented that these were the nicest people anywhere we have ever stayed. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the lobby was updated and refreshed. Great choice in Va beach!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I am so thrilled to hear that our associates were able to make your stay with us more memorable and fun! We enjoy receiving positive feedback from our guests about our hospitality! I am happy that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. Please let us know when you are planning to return. Thank you for your review of your stay!

-Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South

Address: 2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, you'll love the spectacular views and location of our Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. Our hotel is located along the Virginia Beach boardwalk in the heart of this beachfront resort, minutes from Oceana Naval Air Station and Dam Neck. All of our spacious rooms and suites feature private, furnished balconies with ocean views, comfortable bedding, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel also offers one-bedroom suites and Jacuzzi rooms. Drop by our oceanfront cafe for a wonderful breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy great local events like the Rock n Roll Half Marathon, Boardwalk Art Show, and Neptune Festival. Visit the nearby Virginia Beach Convention Center. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool, or fitness room. If you're planning an event or business retreat, let us know - our largest space hosts up to 60. Few hotels in Virginia Beach, VA can match our great location, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Courtyard
Virginia Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.