We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beachfront stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 115 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best beachfront stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed with friends. We had a very nice suite on the 3rd floor. Luckily, for us, the weather was perfect. The art show proved a nice distraction from the beach. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I am happy to hear that you were able to spend such a nice weekend with us. The annual art show is a fun attraction for the entire family, I am glad that you were able to enjoy it as much as we did! There are many festivals such as this one that will be scheduled throughout the summer and into the fall. Give us a call when you are ready to book another trip!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    130
    51
    22
    12
See reviews for
164
147
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Given the seasonal rate, I was not amazed by this hotel. Paying $280 a night for this room was not a great value, but I think this relates more to the location than the hotel. The room was good, the bar was okay, the pool was closed for part of the trip. The breakfast was not amazing, but certainly adequate. Also, the service for the breakfast was very good. I was very impressed with the staff at the hotel, always very courteous.

Room Tip: Stay in a high number or low number room, they are furthest from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

First, awesome location next to the beach. Second, Tanner the manager offered absolute legendary customer service. Not only did I go to the wrong hotel but she made a reservation for me at her hotel. Awesome service period. The hotel is nice and tidy and the rooms are great. Recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure. Lastly, awesome breakfast and a must see the spread...

Top five hotels I have stayed and the service is wonderful

Room Tip: Good service and great location
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good.. They do recycle and very conscientious of the environment.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for such a fabulous review, and I am so thrilled to hear that you were able to stay with us and had a fantastic time! We take great pride in the cleanliness and comfortability of our hotel. Please come and see us in the future, we would love to show another excellent time.

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altavista, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at Courtyard during Memorial Day. We usually stay at the North location; but decided to try this location (South). Hotel was very clean and management was helpful as always. Check in was a breeze, everyone was very friendly. Would recommend again.

Room Tip: 7th floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are always pleased to hear that one of our guests has had a nice stay. I am glad that you decided to give us a try, though our sister property is a great hotel as well. We would love to see you again, please give us call when you are ready to make another reservation!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've been coming to this hotel at least every other year for more years than I can remember now; and it's perfect! I don't particularly like staying at hotels. The noise, lack of space, people you have to deal with, via renting a home. But as this is a location 2 out of my 4 enjoy and I never have a solid week to rent out a home in this area, hotel it is! I've stayed at plenty, even here at VA Beach, but when I found this one, the searching was finally over. I have two teens, my husband and myself; and we need a nice, clean, non-smoking place to stay. When we go we rent the Presidential Suite, which is quite large in the way of hotel rooms you find at the beach. There's actually just over 800sqft with this suite!
Pros: Large and roomy, two balconies (side by side but are not attached. 1 from living room, 1 from bedroom), open/large bathroom, toaster, sm. freezer/fridge, 2 closets, large exec. desk with exec. chair, and french doors leading from bedroom with King bed into the living with pull out Queen sofa, free internet, and pool & restaurant on bottom level (as well as free computers with internet access/printer), and employees that are almost always happy to serve.
**Though one trip we ran into an irate maid who'd just gotten fired and backed into our car upon tearing out--but I was compensated and the manager took my concerns well.
Cons: It's a bit further down on the beach at 25th. More of the entertainment as well as if you love being on the beach (whether it be frolicking in the surf, sunbathing, or looking for seashells/shark teeth) is better further up. I'd suggest no further than 12th street if this is important to you. Aside from that, can't think of any problems here at the Courtyard by Marriott.
The restaurant is excellent, with no need to leave for well made and served food. No matter what time you call concierge, they're always willing to send up extra things (we always need towels, sheets, pillows and blankets). They also have a small snack shop right there that also has a few breakfast things as well as sodas, gatorade, ice cream, and snacking food. Open at all hours, as it's right next to their desk/lobby.
Of all the hotels I've ever been to, this one is by far the best. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable, and hospitable place to stay; whether it's for a couple or a family, THIS is the place will satisfy your need for a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us such a wonderful review. The presidential suite is fabulous, I'm happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying in that room type! It is also good to hear that you were able to take advantage of our indoor pool and market! The Bistro food is awesome, they have a wonderful variety of healthy choices for ervy meal of the day. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onancock, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We live about an hour away from Virginia Beach and this was the first time we visited and spent the night. Virginia Beach oceanfront is beautifully kept, clean and one of the best beaches we have visited from Cape Cod to Key West. The Courtyard here lives up to all of Marriott standards and its oceanfront rooms were delightful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property! I am happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us. The beach here is kept in immaculate condition, making it a great place to get away for the day and relax! Thus far, it is one of the best beaches I have ever visited as well. We hope that you will join us again in the future, even if it is only for a day!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you're not familiar with Atlantic Avenue, let me tell you... it is very long. Marriott's 2501 location is at the epicenter of all the magic. When researching hotels to stay for our vacation I must have visited at least 10 of the websites for other boardwalk hotels but kept coming back to this one! All rooms are oceanfront, oversized and immaculate. The service was superb and the views right on the water. Who knew I could Dolphin watch from the balcony on my hotel?

Room Tip: I would stay here again. Get a room on a high floor (we stayed at 902 which was at the corner and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha S, Front Desk Choice at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel! I am so thrilled to hear that you loved our location. The view from our rooms is spectacular. And the dolphins are a great perk! I enjoy watching them in the morning as the sun is rising. We hope to see you again, and let us know when you are planning to visit!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South

Address: 2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, you'll love the spectacular views and location of our Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. Our hotel is located along the Virginia Beach boardwalk in the heart of this beachfront resort, minutes from Oceana Naval Air Station and Dam Neck. All of our spacious rooms and suites feature private, furnished balconies with ocean views, comfortable bedding, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel also offers one-bedroom suites and Jacuzzi rooms. Drop by our oceanfront cafe for a wonderful breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy great local events like the Rock n Roll Half Marathon, Boardwalk Art Show, and Neptune Festival. Visit the nearby Virginia Beach Convention Center. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool, or fitness room. If you're planning an event or business retreat, let us know - our largest space hosts up to 60. Few hotels in Virginia Beach, VA can match our great location, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Courtyard
Virginia Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.