We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 115 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel staff were outstanding and bent over backwards to ensure my stay was pleasant. Specifically Shacara who stitched up my luggage when it had ripped from the flight!!! I had asked for help threading a needle and not only did she thread the needle but then offered to sew it up herself... Free of charge!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for writing a review! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely share your review with Shacara and our staff! Shacara is truly an asset to our team and takes pride in servicing guest with care. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    119
    47
    21
    12
See reviews for
149
129
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went to the beach for a long weekend and found it relaxing. The location is great, and there is the bus The Wave, which you pay $1 per trip, or $2 for the day! It was a great way to get around without having to worry about parking.
The AC in our room was VERY noisy, but the view was fabulous. The beach is right there, along with an indoor, outdoor pools - great options! We could hear our neighbors playing their music pretty loudly, but all-in-all it was a great relaxing time.
We will plan to go there again probably same time next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am glad you were able to relax and enjoy the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. We will be looking forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family and I stayed 5 nights at the Courtyard South and had a wonderful stay. It's an older property that has been recently renovated/updated and overall appears very well maintained. The location was ideal - oceanfront and centrally located to many attractions - and the lobby and room were very clean and modern.

We stayed in a corner King suite and found it spacious, bright and comfortable - perfectly adequate for our needs. Like others have mentioned, it is a Courtyard property - so don't expect luxury, but do expect a clean comfortable and reasonably updated room and friendly accommodating staff members.

We only noted a few issues with our stay that knocked a star off of my rating. First is the parking situation. We thought parking wouldn't be an issue, as it was after labor day, but due to some events/groups staying in the hotel - parking in front of the hotel was very sparse (we were only able to park there twice during our stay). Valet parking was not available, as it was the off-season, which was fine. We ended up having to self-park at the garage across the street, about a half-block away which wasn't much of a hassle at all.

However, we did encounter a homeless gentleman who appears to sleep in the garage multiple times on our stay. He often appeared under the influence and seemed to lurk around the vehicles and appear out of nowhere while we walked out of the garage at night, stumbling after us. The lack of security/cameras within the garage made us a bit leary to leave our car there overnight. When we this to the attention of the front desk, they were quick to send someone out to chase him out, but they did not seem surprised - which makes me believe this may be an ongoing problem.

Another issue was with housekeeping. Although the housekeeping staff did and excellent job at keeping our room clean and comfortable, it takes them all day to turn the rooms over. In a normal property, this would be okay - but as an oceanfront property, it became an issue. There were multiple times we came back from a day at the beach and had to re-use dirty towels off the floor so we could shower and head out to dinner since the housekeeping staff hadn't gotten to our room yet. Also, there were a few days that the housekeeping staff provided only two bath towels for three guests, which lead to having to share towels. Although this is minor, the nightly rate should allow for a few additional towels to be left in each room. There was also some inconsistencies in the toiletries replenished each day - one day we got two conditioners (no shampoo) and another we got two face soaps instead of a bath soap.

All-in-all, our stay at the Courtyard Oceanfront South was a pleasant/relaxing one. And although there were a few issues during our stay, the positives greatly outweighed the negatives and we would certainly consider staying there again the next time my family visits Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: Corner suites are spacious and flooded with ample natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We value our guest comments and feedback on how to provide exceptional service. To hear you had a pleasant and relaxing stay is what we like to hear! I will address the issues you mentioned with the management team. Thank you again and we hope to see you the next time you're in the Virginia Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesburg, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Other than a sink that was slow to drain, the stay was very comfortable. Where else can you crack open the sliding door to the balcony and listen to the ocean waves lull you to sleep? Breakfast on the patio steps from the ocean made it even nicer.

Room Tip: Other than a sink that was slow to drain, it was hard to find fault for this hotel. Where else can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for writing a review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful location. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

we were only staying overnight in virginia beach and this hotel turned out to be ideally located. We were right on the beach and boardwalk and in the heart of the area's restaurants that made a stroll in the evening very pleasant. Luckily we didn't need to get our car since parking was limited and we had to valet it. The lobby is sparse and small, but does the trick. The room was basic, but modern, comfortable and clean. The view and outdoor terrace facing the ocean was terrific. Free coffee in the morning was available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much for writing a review! We appreciate our customer’s feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our central location on the oceanfront. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We paid $250.00 for one night, oceanfront and it was not that great at all. The view was awesome and the location was good, but I definitely agree it was dated, no frills at all. The lobby was modern and cool, but everything else seemed so worn. The rooms were small and not that great, very basic. Breakfast was $10 a plate, and it was food that is typically served at hotels that offer continental breakfast.
I will say however, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful and flexible. I am not sure I would stay here again, it wasn't horrible, just absolutely not worth the money though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed our oceanfront room and central location on the boardwalk. Our staff is key to the hotel and pleased to hear they were helpful during your stay. I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations regarding the decor, however; our entire hotel was renovated in March of this year including all the guest rooms. Hopefully, you will consider us the next time you are in the Virginia Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a great location with all rooms having ocean views. Parking is very limited, we were lucky to get the last spot in front of the hotel. I understand there is an off site lot, but we did not need it, thankfully. The lobby is nice. Our room seemed very dated, and not overly clean. Also, we could hear the people in the other room. We stay at a lot of Marriott properties and I always expect them to be very clean. This fell a bit short. I think the problem is that it seems to be used by a lot of families and that can take a toll on a hotel. I would say if I had my kids with me I would stay here, but just me and my husband, I will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for writing a review. Hopefully you will visit us again when our slow season begins and it is less families traveling to the beach. We appreciate your comments and will take them into review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South

Address: 2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, you'll love the spectacular views and location of our Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. Our hotel is located along the Virginia Beach boardwalk in the heart of this beachfront resort, minutes from Oceana Naval Air Station and Dam Neck. All of our spacious rooms and suites feature private, furnished balconies with ocean views, comfortable bedding, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel also offers one-bedroom suites and Jacuzzi rooms. Drop by our oceanfront cafe for a wonderful breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy great local events like the Rock n Roll Half Marathon, Boardwalk Art Show, and Neptune Festival. Visit the nearby Virginia Beach Convention Center. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool, or fitness room. If you're planning an event or business retreat, let us know - our largest space hosts up to 60. Few hotels in Virginia Beach, VA can match our great location, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Courtyard
Virginia Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;