We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the WORSE STAY EVER!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd. to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd.
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4548 Bonney Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23462   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #95 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This was the WORSE STAY EVER!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I never ever write negative reviews about a Hotel. But I feel like the public must know what they are buying when booking this hotel. My sister booked the accommodations for a family get away to VA Beach this weekend. We had 4 rooms and ended up checking out early because we were so displeased with the stay. To begin, our room was upstairs, the stairwell had trash over run out of the can; the smell of urine, air conditioners that were running water on the already cracked dirty sidewalks, a cat was walking around with no owner and a dog greeted me at the car. The only person at the Front Desk to check us in was dressed in street clothing. Another guest walked up to request towels during my check in and was told that they would have to wait for him to wash them and return the same towels to him. The doubles are twin beds. Need I say more. That means that your double rooms can only sleep 2 people not 4. There is no pool. The Hotel is 15 minutes away from the beach - at least and not the 10 minutes advertised. Guests had hung their laundry (not bathing suits/towels) on the banister for drying. There were people in chairs sitting outside of their room, smoking cigarettes, neighbors talking and even a women rocking a newborn baby until at least 11pm. I can not believe that this hotel is in operation at its current condition. The owners of this property must put some money into it, give the workers the tools that they need to succeed and take pride/ownership into their investment. I would NEVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR EVERRRRRRR recommend this hotel to anyone. More over, our entire vacation was ruined. We left early the next morning for other accomodations; a little more money but it was well worth it. There were two family members that paid cash and were told that their refund would have to be mailed.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at the property - we had four on different sides of the building and they we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd., responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd.. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    12
    8
    25
See reviews for
15
13
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed at this 'hotel' for 4 days, any stay less than 7 days and you do not get any type of room service. If you would like them to stop by you can pay an extra fee, or you can just go exchange towels at the front desk. Trash receptacles are located on the property for you to discard your trash from the room. The room had more than enough towels for one person for my stay.

Staying here reminded me of living in the BEQ when I was in the military. There were tons of people there that seemed to live there, or were just staying there while in training at one of the numerous bases in the area. Either way, it seemed more like an apartment complex than a hotel which didn't really bother me much but for those visiting the area for the first time or not really accustomed to that type of atmosphere, yes this place will definitely seem like the 'ghettos'.

The room was ok, nothing spectactular, had a set of dishes, forks, spoons, and cups. anything else you'll have to bring if you actually plan on using the kitchen. The internet was sketchy most of the time. It is right off the highway and there were a bunch of places to eat in the area which was a plus. The bed wasn't very comfortable at all, the pillows were pretty crappy but it worked for the weekend I guess. Still debating whether I would stay here again, the location is the only thing that would bring me back, and like I said, the type of 'atmosphere' the hotel gives off isn't everyones cup of tea.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Extended Stay America - Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd., responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd.. Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about our staff. I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling.

Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications as appropriate.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 6 months and during that 6 months I was not treated with respect and the customer service was horrible. They will charge your card but never call to let you know but state they did. They charged my card 4 times without my permission. This is something I had to deal with until I found a home. I spent 3 days listening to a industrial size fan due to a water leak in the room next door which water came into my room as well. I was not offered any type of compensation for this. I feel if a person is going to stay for 6 months, there should be some type of rate that is discounted instead of full price. I know everyone is trying to make a living but they started out with a discount program but it quickly came to an end when the summer came. I do not think this is right. Also the janitorial service is horrible, the cleaning people never cleaned my area in a proper way. There were inches of dirt on the dresser and no one every wiped it down. They did however make the bed and that was it!! The television I had to use cut off when it got warmed up and no one ever offered to replace it. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd., responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Quinton,

I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd.. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We know that our guests have multiple hotel choices, which is why our mission is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price that guests want to come back to. The room condition you describe is totally unacceptable to me and not at all representative of our quality standards. In response to your post, I have met with our hotel staff and used your review to help coach them on room cleaning and inspection policy.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling.

Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I had driven all night and even though the check in time was 3pm and it was 7am the staff was incredible and got me in my room. The room has a kitchenette with full size refridgerator, stove top, microwave, and toaster. My stay, though brief was one of the most pleasant that I have had in many stays with many different hotel chains. Again, the hospitality of the staff was exceptional and it does go to show how important customer service is!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd., responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay America Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, WV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Giving this hotel a 1 star rating is being way too generous! While I was a guest at this hotel my engagement ring was stolen out of my room while I was at work by one of the housekeepers. I had other valuable possessions in my room including a laptop, a kindle, an ipod, and a nintendo ds. None of these were stolen since they're not easy to conceal like my engagement ring was. The door was shut and latched securely when I left the room the night before, which means someone who had a key was in my room. When my husband informed the manager she was not helpful at all, and copped an attitude with him. During that conversation one of the housekeepers was acting very nervous and fidgeting. When the police arrived she tried to leave the premises, supposedly on her " lunch break", but it was an hour after she clocked in. She was left alone while the police officer took our statement, which gave her plenty of time to stash the ring. When the police officer searched her, of course it was nowhere to be found. The way we were treated by the management of this hotel was absolutely unacceptable. The manager treated us like we were making it up, and did nothing at all to address the issue. We were the victims in this situation, yet we were treated like the guilty party. We are college educated, and professional people, what would we have to gain by lying about this? We did not ask for anything, just my ring back. So please do yourself a favor, if you value the safety of your life and your belongings DO NOT stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Owner at Extended Stay America - Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd., responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Jessy,

I recently received a copy of your review, and wanted to personally apologize for your experience at our hotel. The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority, and I offer my most sincere apologies that we did not deliver on that goal.

There are no words to express how sorry I am for the situation with your ring. While the investigation is left to the police, we certainly should have handled the situation with more sympathy and professionalism. I have discussed this with our staff and we will use your feedback to improve upon our service.

If you would like to discuss this further, please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would consider giving us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

This is an average hotel. We were not told ahead of time that there was major renovations taking place. So, we were awakened to the sound of a jack hammer on a Sunday morning. However, we were awarded a free night's stay at any Extended Stay America within the next year. So, maybe it was worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms are approximately the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

This hotel has it all. Location, price, quality customer service, and most of all GOOD CLEAN ROOMS. The staff was very helpful with everything from checking in to getting directions to local attractions. I felt right at home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd.

Address: 4548 Bonney Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd. 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Virginia Beach - Independence Boulevard Hotel
Extended Stay Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Virginia Beach - Independence Blvd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.