We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanfront at the end of the Boardwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oceanfront at the end of the Boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel twice. The first trip I have taken here was a mini vacation with my wife. I searched all the boardwalk hotels at this beach and found this to be the nicest. I also stayed here with my wife and son for a soccer tournament. The rooms are nothing spectacular but are clean and it seems to be quiet for a hotel at the beach. The staff is friendly and buffet at breakfast is average. There is a movie theatre for the kids and several pools. I would say that it is a little expensive for what it is but have nothing bad to say about either trip. There is a restaurant that we have eaten at twice and I was surprised how good the food was. They have an Italian restaurant that we have not yet tried. Located on Boardwalk within walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you stay at the beach make sure you stay oceanfront the price is a little more but worth the pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    224
    63
    28
    17
See reviews for
465
97
8
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent two nights at this hotel and while we were there we received excellent service from the staff. Notably was the service we received from Vauhnisha in the restaurant. She is pleasant and friendly. She even remembered our dining preferences and made our visit enjoyable. Ms. Riddle at the lobby reception is very professional and welcoming. Lastly, Joe was quick to bring a smile to our faces. Thank you all for a great visit.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

our family recently stayed here during a lacrosse tournament. The staff were exceptionally nice and professional and we had a smooth and quick check in and check out. The breakfast Buffett was very good and perfect for kids. Our only problem was our suite, which was wonderful and plenty of space for a family of four, was located under the banquet room, where there was a holiday party when we were trying to get to sleep for an early early lacrosse game. So if you stay, ask to be far away from the party rooms!! We had an amazing view of the each and loved our stay!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review about our hotel. I am glad to see that your stay was good but I want to apologize for your room placement. If we have a function going on they our guest who are not part of the function we keep away from what is going on. I apologize for us not doing that with your room and will address this immediately. Please come back and see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We hosted an event that had to be organized long distance. We had a LARGE complicated reservation with many last minute changes Each change was cheerfully done when possible. I can not say enough about the staff, they were ALL professional,helpful and concerned about our every need.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us and writing such a nice review of our hotel. We are glad to see that your stay was incredible and hope that you will come visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

The staff was very friendly here and they did help during two issues we had. On arrival we found that the ottoman in the room was old and peeling. The bed was comfortable but the rest of the furniture was uncomfortable. The room was clean for sure which was great. We also found that upon opening the pull out sofa that my kids were going to sleep on, it was paper thin and bowed and extremely uncomfortable. The staff did find another to place on top of it but it ended up being smaller than the original and made for cramped sleeping for my two children. My biggest disappointment was the door to the king suite bedroom that is glass offering no privacy whatsoever. Knowing we were coming for our wedding and bringing my children, I wish the staff had clued me in on that ahead of time. Our keys to our room deactivated three times during our stay which was annoying. We ate breakfast here one morning and for $50 for four people I expected more. The omelettes were great, however. Overall, this stay was average I would say. Probably won't go back. Disappointed considering we had seven rooms booked there for our wedding.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear jan s,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you found our staff friendly and the rooms clean. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay, particularly with the furniture and key cards. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our product and service continually.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights during our sightseeing tour of Maryland and Virginia and was more than pleased with both the hotel itself and the location. We had a 3rd floor room overlooking the Boardwalk and Ocean and experienced two amazing sunrises. The hotel has several unusual features including its own cinema where you can choose a film, sit back and relax in quiet comfort. We were blessed with the weather and the resort was pretty quiet given that it was October but with really helpful staff and a beach on your doorstep not sure what else you could need.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the boardwalk and beach especially on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Thank you for writing such a nice review about our hotel. I am glad to see that your room was pleasurable and hope that you will come back and visit us again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, without your reviews other guests might not realize that we are the property to stay at in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

Although I'm a local, I always feel like I'm on a mini vacation when staying during the off season. Love everything about this hotel! Isle of Capri is a great place to eat as well. It's really nice in December too with the holiday lights.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. It has been a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.