We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our family of five stayed in the Holiday Inn North Beach in the queen bedded suite. We stayed with two teens and a ten yr. old. My husband and I enjoyed the oceanfront location and my teens enjoyed being close to the excitement of the strip. You are far enough, but not too far, from all the exciting night life and free outdoor activities. My ten year old loved the pools. The staff was very attentive and the pools were never over crowded. We always found a lounge chair and always tons of towels. We even enjoyed taking in a movie.

The room was nice, but it would be nice to have two sinks in the bathroom. We did have a few problems with the TV in the master bedroom, but maintenance was always quick to address it. We had a balcony off the bedroom and living area and that was really pleasant. Our view was magnificent. The only complaint that I have is the ocean side pool was quite dirty at times. While swimming we found much hair and sand. We have been to many hotels that clean their pools on a rotating basis and this hotel should follow that rule.

All in all a very pleasant stay. The onsite restaurant also offers good casual dining.

Room Tip: suite was pricey but was nice. It fit our family nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel and giving us some great feedback to address with our staff. Our pool attendants do clean the pool throughout the day to make sure the pools look as clean as when they opened. I will look into the days during your stay to find out what might of happened. Your feedback will help us address concerns that need to be corrected moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    224
    63
    28
    17
See reviews for
465
97
8
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stuarts Draft VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel is at the end of the boardwalk. Pools are nice. Beach was kept clean. Room and all of the staff were very friendly. I do think $14.95 for a breakfast buffet is too high, if you are staying at the hotel. We got the bus pass ($1.00 per day for seniors) and never drove when we were there. The bus stop is accross the street from hotel. You can get on and off as many times as you want. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and hope you will visit again soon. I understand the price of the buffet seems high but we do price it with the market. We also have more items along with fresh waffles and omelets which keep the price going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We went to Va Beach for a last minute vacation, and found the Holiday Inn & suites. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly & courteous. The amenities were above average and the kids had a great time at the indoor and outdoor pools. The location was great. It was away from all the crowds, but a short drive to get into all the action if you want.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill our a review of our hotel. It appears that everything was great but we failed to reach a 5 rating on here. Please let me know what we could of done better to ear that extra rating so we can fix in the future. Thank you and look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Family with 3 kids (age 6,10,13) stayed in Oceanfront suite room in July for 5 nights. Very friendly staff at this hotel, they were very helpful suggesting activities in area and local restaurants. Location ideal for family since was out of the busy main strip area but close enough to walk (15-20min stroll with 3 kids) or drive (5min drive) to the main strip area. Went to main area every evening for street entertainment, ice cream. The views from balcony were amazing, saw dolphins jumping in early am (bring binoculars). Rooms were nice, modern and spacious and relatively clean. The desk chair in our room looked kind of shabby with tips in fabric but rest of room was great. Best part of vacation was hotel amenities, worth the extra cost of this hotel. The hotel Restaurant Square Whale is great, you can eat poolside or tables overlooking ocean, food was actually good! We ate there several times. Amenities at hotel were amazing, we switched from ocean to pool to pool (they have 3 pools) to keep kids entertained. Great kids club too, really nice staff, good activities and free too!! You can drop off kids (4+) or stay with them, always good activities planned. You can also borrow/sign out pool noodles and floaties from kids club room. Was also a movie theatre that showed variety movies daily but we did not use, good if it rains maybe. Only few slightly negative parts 1) balconies are small and noisy from AC units (if you smoke, there is no smoking allowed on balconies or anywhere in hotel common areas) 2) the elevators are really really slow and 3) rooms were clean but not really as clean as would expect from this hotel (ie still felt sand on carpets and in bathrooms daily). Overall this is a great family hotel and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to see that you had a good time at our property. Thank you for all your feedback good and not so good please come back and see us again next year or sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We came with kids and grandkids and thoroughly enjoyed everything. . . nice rooms, good breakfast, great pools, wonderful beach. Loved the view. The boardwalk is pleasant and clean. What more do you need???

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having your family stay here. We have all the amenities a family would need included in the rate and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family and I had a blast on a quick last-minute long weekend to Virginia Beach. I'd say this hotel is uniquely designed for families. The weather was iffy, cloudy and cool, throughout most of our trip, but there were plenty of options for the kids to take part in.

The property was right on the beach with direct beach access... very convenient when lugging your kids toys, etc... They have SplashCamp in the hotel, which plans different activities for kids every hour or so during the day. Perfect for those rainy days. My kids were playing charades and nintendo wii and my little one was reading books. There's an in-house movie theater which plays kids movies from about 10 a.m. til about 6 p.m. Plus, of course, the indoor pool. That, plus beach access plus two outdoor pools makes for a great spot for families.

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We also ate often at the restaurants on property. They were never packed, convenient, had decent (not great) food and kids ate free.

We will definitely be back... no question.

Room Tip: Our room was poolside, which is convenient but noisy. Although everything closes at 11, and my kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and filling out a review of our hotel. I am excited to see that your stay was perfect and we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I loved every minute of being at this hotel. All the employees were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and cozy. The pools are awesome. This was a family trip for us and we just had so much fun. They have a pool with water slides and a little lazy river type thing. They have cornhole boards. It is RIGHT on the beach. They have an activity room for kids and a movie theater. They also had daily activities for the kids...cannonball contests and stuff of that nature. Just something fun for the kids. We loved it!! I can not say enough good things about this place...there was nothing bad or wrong with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for visiting the Holiday Inn North Beach. Our hotel offers more then any hotel on the Oceanfront and I am glad you got to experience it. We thank you for chosen our hotel and hope you will stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.