We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned from a weeks business trip to this hotel. My room overlooked the beach on the 4th floor and can only be described as excellent. The room was spacious with a massive bed and plenty of pillows. It was spotlessly cleaned everyday. The view from the balcony was great and I took some great pictures of sunset and sunrise. There were 2 pools which again were fantastic with crystal clear water. The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice and cannot be faulted. All the staff were extremely helpful. The only very minor observation I had is that there was no in room safe but there was a safe available in reception. Would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: There is no in room safe but a safe was available in reception with your own key
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear BobbyVegasEngland,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you were so comfortable in your room and enjoyed the view from your room. We are glad you had breakfast in the Greenery and loved all the options on the buffett. We hope to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    206
    58
    28
    17
See reviews for
444
80
7
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great hotel for families. We stayed two nights during spring break. The weather was not great, but the hotel offers a lot for the kids so it was perfect even on cold rainy days. The indoor pool and lazy river was great and the kids spent a lot of time there. The movie theatre is also another great addition for the hotel. The Splash Camp is a fun activity for the kids. Although, we could not leave our kids because they have to be four or older (we have a two-year old and five-year old) it was still great fun for them. The staff was very friendly and we did eat lunch in their casual restaurant on site. The food and service was excellent. It would be lots of fun to try out the outdoor pools and lazy river, but we will have to come back when it is warmer.

I only gave the hotel four stars because the hotel room itself was not up to the level it should have been. We stayed in a King oceanfront room with a sleep sofa. The room was clean, modern and the bed was comfortable. However, there are a few issues that should not occur at a hotel at this level (and for this price). The biggest issue was that the seal on the sliding door window was broken, meaning the entire window was fogged detracting from our view. More importantly though, there was a gap at one corner of the door between the glass and the frame that let a lot of cold air in overnight. On the second day, housekeeping did not clean our room (we mainly needed the trash taken out), and we even asking the staff specifically to clean the room, but they still forgot to do it. Lastly, the room was missing a chair for the desk and a bed skirt (not important to us really, but surprising for the type of hotel). So the room was not perfect, but it served our needs and we would definitely return. Overall, we would like to have given the hotel five stars because it is a great place, but there were a few room issues that we had to take one away for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for writing such a pleasent review about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed everthing about our hotel and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We met family for a weekend of fun in VA Beach. Our children range from 3-10 yrs old. They have something for every age. My children LOVED all the options- lazy river, pools, movie theater, gym, play room, beach and of course, the boardwalk. I love that the kids eat free when adult orders an entree. The breakfast buffet is awesome- omelets to order, cereal, fresh fruit, salmon, bagels and more.
The room was quiet at night, nicely appointed with comfortable beds, refrig, microwave, beach view. Please note there is only a shower, no tub. We would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week just recently for work. The hotel is awesome and right on the beach. Every room has a view of Virginia Beach & the boardwalk(which is actually concrete). There are three pools here; one outside with water slides and falls, one inside with a small lazy river and another outside in the middle with a nearby bar. The also have an attached restaurant, kids club and movie theatre! The rooms have microwaves and small fridges. Highly recommend this hotel. It is in the heart of Virginia Beach with nearby shopping including Ben & Jerry's, Harley-Davidson (three stores, one with bikes), restaurants, t-shirt stores, Starbucks etc. I love this hotel! I was here on business but there were a lot of families here while I was there due to March break so it is a great family hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th floor, room 612...in the middle of the North tower and awesome views. Restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I brought my grandaughters here during Spring Break and we had a fabulous time. We have stayed several times and will continue to come back. Staff is friendly, hotel is very clean and there are many dining options with kids eating free! The girls especially love "Tonka" the turtle who resides at the hotel. Only negative is the indoor Lazy River- way too many unattended loud obnoxious kids. I'd like to see the hotel check in from time to time and ask kids without a parent to leave. Other than that this place is perfection!!

Room Tip: We like room 501 and 502, further down the hall and away from the elevater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Brenda B,

Thank you for taking the time to write us and let us know how we are doing. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for letting us know about the lazy river concern. We will address this at our weekely manager meeting. We hope to be able to serve you again in the near future should your travels bring you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My children and I LOVE this place. We are repeat visitors. They wrote the book on customer service. From the time we walk in, we are treated like family. My children have a fabulous time here; from the lazy river, movie theatre, gym, beach and the boardwalk. We come during the off season and they have a ball. My children are older teens and love the tranquility of the north side of the beach. When they want action they walk over to the south side. There is something for everyone here. I feel as though I have had a resting time when I come here. You know how many say they need a vacation after the vacation - well I don't. The rooms are clean, big and the ammenities are superb. You get alot of bang for your money here!

Room Tip: I have had rooms on both sides, we prefer the north side; the lazy river and theatre are here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear JovanniTC

Thank you so much for such a glowing review. We are thrilled we are able to make your vacation so relaxing and fun. The team here at Holiday Inn North Beach strive to make all guests feel comfortable and it is great to know we have succeeded in during you stay. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Have walked and driven by many times over the years, but seemed a little too family hopping fun in the summer , even for a mom like me. My kids are relaxers and don't prefer non stop action. Even snuck in the pool once years ago on a walk from Sheraton next door [he- he don't tell}, but it was too much action ,crowded fun action of course...That said had a feeling off season it would be perfect time to enjoy some of the ammenities. We stayed 5 days before Easter. It was relaxing, friendliest staff as reported, breakfast buffet lacked nothing , well except one thing, a rip off price. It totallllyyyy lacked that.Finally ! a bargain for breakfast. Breakfast averages $57 for my family of 4 and we don't eat much in the AM. This buffet allows kids free, up to four per family with paying adult. You can enjoy this! and never break the bank. Great food great service, made to order waffles and omelettes w anything you want. The pool is a lazy river, finally a down south fun pool in the off season, where you don't freeze when you get out. Its a warm hazy spa feeling in that room allowing for endless hours of swimming fun. Then there is the theatre which is excellent. I believe they plan the movies and times in summer.But we chose any movie we wanted any time we wanted. GREAT way to relax away cold Spring days! I really can't say a bad word about the place. Water main broke up the street and they made it so easy, as many Poland Spring Gallons or small bottles we asked for, no nonsense,no hassles. The only thing I was a little shocked by which surely they will just improve, not a reason to stay away next time. 1] Desk chair had huge rips in bright green vinyl which looked so cheesy and gave an otherwise immaculate room a run down overlooked kind of place. The sofa bed was the only other thing. The most broken down impossible to sleep on thing. I really needed this for a teen. It had two huge faded blood stains on mattress and springs poked out. Gross and horrible. I had to spend a whopping $71.00 to get a foam thing at kmart to cover the disgusting stain and make it comfortable. This is a fix they could do in every room and should not overlook. Because an ocean front king room which should sleep 2 in the bed and 1 or 2 kids in sofabed was unusable first night and that is not acceptable and should have been avoided by the management.

Room Tip: Ocean front awesome, if not avail and it says pool view, clarify, pool facing ocean has awesome view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear bird5117,

We are so happy you decided to give us a chance this off season to wow your family. We are very fortunate to have such great amenities that are useful in the off season. It is so nice to hear your family was able to take advantage of the quiet off season. We apologize for the sofa bed nad we will be looking into correcting this as soon as possible. Thank you for sharing that concern. We hope we see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.