We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it very nice Holiday Inn at the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 114 hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love it very nice Holiday Inn at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I just walked in to the hotel with out reservation and the staff are very nice, friendly, very clean hotel. They have a lot of options from movie teather, splash kamp a nice lazy river pool with a hot tub. We had a wonderful time thank you to the Holiday Inn staff members.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Two Queen beds suites is awesome for a group of 6 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    177
    55
    27
    17
See reviews for
392
70
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Earlysville, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Wanted to write this review before we actually left the hotel (first time for that). I stayed for one night with my wife and two kids and we have never had a better experience at Va Beach. The staff has been extremely friendly and helpful from the first minute we arrived. My son and I got to enjoy a movie at the on site theater (for free) by ourselves. He thought it was great to have and entire theater to himself. The indoor pool is really fun too. Clean room, good breakfast (though the buffet was not available since it was the off season) and the kids ate free. All in all the best hotel experience we have had in six stays at Virginia beach. We will be coming back in the spring. The only drawback would be the proximity to the rest of the activities at the beach. The hotel is on the far northern end of the boardwalk so it will be a drive or a long walk to get to the center of town.

Room Tip: Two queen bed suites are large and have one tv in the bed room and a second in the living room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

North Beach is probably twenty blocks from the center of Virginia Beach, so the biggest drawback is the lack of close non-hotel restaurants and shops. Parking is a nightmare in the center of town, so this location is best for people who want to stay put or are not there for a long period of time. We stayed in a ocean front room on the fourth floor. The decorating scheme was off-putting, as the styles were confusing and conflicting. However, the bed was very comfortable and the view was terrific. The room was fairly large and had a sofa bed (uncomfortable to sit on - we did not try to sleep on it) and a desk. There were two chairs but no table on the outside deck. We found the heat to be slow to respond and fairly noisy. The hotel staff was welcoming and the lobby is attractive. There are three pools, a playroom, an exercise room and a small computer center. Internet was free, but very slow. Parking is across the street and free. There are three restaurants. Isle of Capri, on the sixth floor, is excellent for dinner, serving Italian food in a romantic setting overlooking the beach. The Square Whale serves lunch, and was also excellent, although a bit overpriced. The breakfast buffet was very nice, with made-to-order omlets and waffles along with many other items. Service was excellent at all three food service locations.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with wife and young daughter in November, 2012. Wife selected this place because of the indoor pool and on-site movie theater that shows kids movies. Staying in VA Beach during the offseason is ideal. Parking wasnt a problem (right across the street) and not throngs of people to manuever around.

Our stay didnt start out all that well. Our room wasn't ready at 4pm (standard check-in time) and when the front desk staff radioed to housekeeping in inquire, the housekeeping director shouted back "FOR THE 15th TIME, ITS NOT READY!!!" Not what you want to hear screaming over the radio about your room, though the woman at the front desk stayed very calm and apologized for the delay. So we waited for another 15min and finally it was ready.

The room was spectacular. We opted for a suite with outer living room on the 4th floor. Both of our private balconies directly faced the beach. The room was clean though we could tell someone had just vacated it and the housekeeping staff missed a couple cleaning details (wet towel left on the back of the bathroom door, wet spots on the carpet in the bedroom). Overall though, the room was nicely decorated and furnished.

We immediately sought to take advantage of the kid-centered amenities. The hotel has a room (Splash Kamp) dedicated to doing kids' crafts and has other games. They also have what I think was the best part of the whole trip.....2 resident tortoises! Tonka is an 18yo African Leopard Tortoise and Tink is a 5yo Spur Sulcata Tortoise. We observed both in their pens in the Splash Kamp room though the attendant (a younger female) was devoid of personality and had nothing to say.

We then visited the indoor pool which has a lazy river and lagoons with waterfalls. There were lots of young children and our little girl instantly made friends. We spent almost 2hrs here and had a great time. After drying off, we decided to eat dinner on-site at the Square Whale restaurant. Being the off-season, it was almost empty. Our server, a young male who also appeared to be the bartender, was very friendly and attentative. The food was only average (bacon was left off my wifes burger and the popsicle my daughter got as a dessert looked like it was 3yrs old) but since our daughter's meal was free I shouldnt complain too much.

My wife and daughter utilized the on-site movie theater to watch How the Grinch Stole Christmas, which they both enjoyed.

The next morning, we walked downstairs to find the tortoises were outside of their pens for feeding time. This time around, the attendant was a very pleasant woman named Rebecca and she took almost an hour to talk to us about the tortoises, their habits, their backgrounds, and helped us pet and play with them. This made the whole trip worthwhile! We love those tortoises and will definitely be making another trip back in the coming years to see how they're doing.

Pros: indoor pool, kid activities, great views of the beach, good rates during offseason, TORTOISES!

Cons: Some staff less than stellar, cleanliness was inconsistent

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond,va
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked a oceanfront suite and could see dolphins from the balcony(end of Sep 2012).There is not much crowd in front of the hotel which makes it ideal.Shopping and hotels are a walking distance.Holiday inn is always reliable in terms of cleanliness and good quality beds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach for one night on our way back to NYC after having been evacuated from the Outer Banks because of Hurricane Sandy.
Although the Hotel itself is lovely with well appointed rooms, a non-staffed and poorly-lit parking lot that is across the street from the hotel is the main problem with this place. Equally troubling was the hotel's response after being told our car was discovered vandalized in their parking lot the day we checked out.
When checking out, we found that our car had been "keyed" by someone the entire length of the right hand side of the car. There was absolutely no question that it had occurred there, as the car was fine when we left it the night before. Because we were in a hurry to return to NYC to help family prepare for the hurricane, we decided to write the hotel afterwards to explain what happened. We recieved a "form letter" response from the hotel manager, thanking us for our feedback and letting us know that our experience helps them identify problems they can improve upon. Nothing more, thus turning what was supposed to be a $175 dollar night into a $2000 one.

Again, nice hotel, but don't ever bring a vehicle there because if you have any kind of problem, I suspect you will be ignored as we were.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear TomNYC1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept my deep apologies for the inconvenience our parking lot may have caused during your stay. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel was absolutely perfect! I booked a week-long stay in October; I’m told the summer months are crazy and October is far calmer. I contacted the hotel directly to make some special requests for my stay; the staff was more than happy to help. The hotel is beachfront with spectacular views. I booked an Oceanfront King Suite. It had two private balconies overlooking the pool and ocean! The weather was wonderful so most days we left the balcony doors open to let the ocean breeze and music from the poolside bar in. You could tell the suite had recently been renovated. New TVs, new telephones, new fridge and micro. The suite had a great wet bar area with counter-height chairs to eat at the counter if you wished. Suite had lots of space, more than enough to spread out for the week. It was decorated in a very chic, colorful beachfront color scheme which instantly made you feel like you were at the beach.

Hotel had great facilities. Several restaurants on-site which were great. Reasonable prices, great view, and good food. The food service staff was always both prompt and friendly. The hotel has a pool and splash park. They also have, something that I have never seen at a hotel before, a great indoor lazy river! Even as adults it’s impossible not to have fun in a lazy river! They also had a movie theater in the hotel, but they were only showing children’s movies at the time of our visit. The entire resort is beautiful and just a few steps will get you right on the beach and boardwalk! They also have room service which was surprisingly fast, about 20 minutes from order to delivery.

By far the best part of this hotel was the staff. Amazing! They were so friendly and nice. They offered to help with just about anything. Great knowledge of the local area and proved a great resource for us. They knew our names by the second day and greeted us, by name, each time we saw them. No matter how busy it appeared, the staff always made you feel like you were the most important guest they had. They also made sure to acknowledge my Platinum Elite Priority Club status; this has been lacking at some hotels lately, and I hadn’t been getting the recognition as I did in previous years. This hotel, however, made a point to thank me for my loyalty; it seems small but it makes me feel like they value me as a guest, and want me to come back. This is not your typical hotel; the rooms and design and colors aren’t those of a typical Holiday Inn you could find near any major airport or city. It’s a fun, chic, relaxed beachfront resort and it was a great choice for our vacation!

I cannot praise this hotel, and the staff, enough for what a great job they did! The hotel was perfect, the location was perfect, the staff was perfect! What an amazing Holiday Inn hotel – It’s too bad more hotels aren’t like this one. I cannot wait to return! In fact, I didn’t want to leave! If you want an awesome beach vacation, this is the place! I didn’t find any negatives during my entire stay and had a great vacation! This is definitely my new favorite beach resort!

Room Tip: Book a suite! Well worth it... lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISUNAGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear 'FlyAway',
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your great compliments to our team members. We're pleased to know we help create family memories. Please know your comments will certainly be shared in our next all associate luncheon. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn
Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.