We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time staying here and it gets better every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Third time staying here and it gets better every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This was our 4th time in VA Beach and 3rd time staying at this hotel. Every time we return it gets better and better. We have a family of 5 so finding a hotel that accomodates us is a little difficult at times. Since our last visit, the Holiday Inn has added beutiful family-sized suites and I think we got the best room in the entire hotel. It was AMAZING with 2 king sized beds and sofa bed as well as table and wet bar with microwave/fridge. Both rooms were very spacious and the bathroom that had three sections--two toilets, three sinks and a shower. Perfect for a family and definitely spoiled us since it will be unlikely that we find a suite this size again anytime soon.

The best judge of a good room though is the comfort of the beds and they were wonderful. I felt like I was sleeping at home.

Only downside is that we went in July which means we probably paid top dollar to stay here--other times of the year it may not be as expensive

As far as activities. The hotel has nice pools outside and a lazy river pool inside. We spent most of our time at the new kids pool which had a couple of slides that our 6 yr old loved. We were on the 1st floor of the hotel and could walk right out to the boardwalk and beach which was also really convenient.

Suggested fun activities we did beyond the hotel/beach:
- Jet skiiing on the ocean--cool! - Go to Rudee Inlet Rentals
- Victory Cruise in Norfolk past the naval shipyard--it's awe inspiring to see battle ships and aircraft carriers that close up
- Tour NAS Oceana and watch the fighter jets take off and land
- Eat dinner at Captain George's all-you-can-eat seafood buffet (includes crab)--YUMMY!!

If we make it back to VA Beach for a 5th visit, we definitely will stay here again. Just wondering what they'll add next time to make it even better.

Room Tip: Room 101 is likely one of the best rooms in the entire hotel. If you have a family of 5+, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    239
    67
    30
    18
See reviews for
488
104
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My daughter and I had one night to spend in Virginia Beach. We wanted to find a nice place on the beach that was affordable. We found the Holiday Inn and Suites North Beach and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was for the price. The hotel is right on the beach. The boardwalk and the beaches were beautiful and clean. There is a pool that overlooks the beach which was lovely, with a full service bar. It was very crowded the day we were there, but it was a Friday in July!! The room was a nice, standard hotel room with a balcony overlooking the beach. Free parking was provided across the street. We would definitely recommend this hotel to families wishing to stay on the beach in Va Beach!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Beautiful property right on the boardwalk and beach. Two pools, outdoor seating overlooking the beach and ocean. At the end of the boardwalk, nice and quiet but still close to everything. We will return and we highly recommend the Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - North Beach!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is our 5th time there!! The kids insist on staying there!!! The awesome entertaining Kids clubhouse with Chris, Rebecca and Will and Tonka.. to the front desk manager Denis.. to Rebecca the main manager we love them all! My kids know the staff all by name and the service is great!!! Chris at the Whale! Clean rooms and very helpful staff. A laid back family place! the cannonball contest definitely added life to the pool!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We spent 4 nights with our kids in July 2011.

Positives:
Kids loved the pools and lazy river.
Hotel staff was very friendly.
Square Whale restaurant was very convenient and affordable.
Hotel is located in less crowded part of the beach.
Free theater with a good movie collection.

Negatives:
Bad climate engineering causes hall ways to turn into sauna when sun heats the glass facade.
Indoor lazy pool had high level of chlorine and bad airducts created overheated areas around it.
No one was watching to ensure that only hotel guests were using the pools so outsiders were crashing in.
Naval air station related aircraft's fight path was directly above the hotel; aircraft noise every 20 minutes or so during day/evening; not night.
Only two elevators (one to seventh floor) causing long delays.

Room Tip: Get oceanfron room on 3 floor or above. Higher the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Choose Holiday Inn in order to use priority points for free nights. We got upgraded to an ocean front suite on the 4th floor, which was perfect!
-Check in was smooth. We arrived a little early & had to wait, by the pool for maybe 1/2 hr till room was ready. Enough time for 1st round of drinks from pool bar. 1 line for Priority Club members & several others working the front desk made waiting minimal. Off street unloading/load area made this chore easier & safer.
- Room was very nice. Entering to a living room type area with couch, 2 chairs, 32" flat screen, mini kitchen with small fridge, microwave, counter space & cabinets. Only closet was here. Through door to vanity. Opposite vanity through door was shower(no tub) & toilet. Shower/toilet had exhaust fan. From vanity through another door to bed room. 2 queen beds, dresser, desk with chair, another 32" flat screen. Sliding glass door to the balcony with 2 plastic chairs. Beds very comfortable. Having 3 doors between hall & beds was great. No noise from hall was heard all week. Front TV room was nice at night for those who want to stay up & "play".
-Location was great. This was the last hotel on the board walk north. Beach was just a little crowded with mostly families. Parking was across the street in a 2 story deck, spaces were always available. Beside deck was a 7/11, nice for coffee, beers, snacks....
-Breakfast buffet was awesome with made to order omelets, waffles, eggs, bacon, potatoes....lots of fruit, muffins...Children 12 & under ate free as do Priority Club members but my wife couldn't eat free. Didn't like that!! We didn't eat at Capri Italian rest on top floor but it appeared to be real nice.
-Pools were also awesome. Main pool was large with many lounges & chairs. Never had a problem finding a seat. Pool bar was here with music, drinks, food. A little pricey I guess but it was an ocean front hotel. I never had a problem sliding my Yuenglings to the pool area. There was also a pool on the front that was quieter, with a water fall. more suited for kids. Lazy river was inside where parking used to be.
Hotel had a nice fitness room overlooking pool area. Movie theater showed 3 different movies throughout the day. Kids play room with 3 attendants and a very old turtle for kids to watch & feed.
The only negative thing was the room keys. Never did the key work like it should. Had to get them reprogrammed numerous times. Usually we could get 1 of the 2 to work after trying it a lot but had to spend some time going back & forth to front desk. Which reminds me the elevators were very slow.
We will surely stay here again as we have tried a lot of ocean fronts at VB & this hotel is hands down the best for the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Room was misrepresented on the website. I paid top dollar for the Queen Deluxe Suite and did not get what was shown. There was no bathtub, only a shower stall. Very hard to bath a toddler in a shower. Bathroom was tiny. Sink was in the hallway. Supposed to be a table and chairs, there was none. Contacted hotel personel and their reponse was - Oh well... Inside pool was like a sauna and the chlorine was so strong, it burned your eyes and chest -- You couldn't swim for more than 10 min. Outside pools were nice but no area for young children. Breakfast restaurant food was not good. Room service was ok but they forgot some of the food and never refunded or returned with it. Elevators were SLOW. Hotel location was great. Most of the employees were friendly. Room was clean except for the partially full beer can setting on my balcony when I got there. Will never stay there again. Definitely not worth the money.

Room Tip: BEWARE - The pictures and description shown on the website are NOT the rooms you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISUNAGM, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
While we are extremely disappointed in this particular review of our hotel, it is our daily task to deliver the best family experience on the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Please note, the hotel does offer three types of suites; each with a unique description detailing the great amenities of the room and hotel.
~Respectfully- The Holiday Inn North Beach Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.